We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bang for the buck for downtown hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Save Saved
You added Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good bang for the buck for downtown hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Staff was friendly and lobby very inviting. Rooms have been renovated and very nice accomodations. Usually can get a special porice if you ask or book over a weekend. Great location near Union Station. Very clean and I had no complaints p would DEFINITELY stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    357
    105
    35
    49
See reviews for
228
237
58
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed on the top floor (16th) with a direct view of the Capitol. I asked for it when I reserved the room (based on other Trip Advisor reviews), and they accommodated my request. It was beautiful!!! Especially at night, when it's all lit up. Great view! The hotel lobby is pretty with a glass atrium & glass elevator (but not the scary kind). No refrigerator in the room, which is disappointing. The pillows are very small, almost like throw pillows. Overall a nice place, with a helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a view of the Capitol. It's a great view, especially from the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Hi,
We stayed in September last year 2011. Finally (after having moved house etc) to reviewing our holiday.

We booked the Washington Court as the rate was good and a few people on Trip Advisor said it was a good location. They were right.

We arrived from New York via train so all of us had a backpack and large suitcase on wheels. The train was delayed so when we arrived the taxi queue was huge. We decided to walk and it was very easy - 5-10mins on flat pavements.
Lovely hotel, very modern, clean and safe. Seemed to be a lot of business people staying, conference etc. This did not affect anything though - not noisy or too busy in areas - would rather see people staying than not.
The room was clean and modern. We shared beds on this holiday to save costs - for nearly the whole holiday was one adult with one child however that had not been our original plan!!
The hotel is an easy 10 minute stroll to Capitol Hill.
We did not spend a lot of time at the hotel nor using their facilities as we only had a couple of days in Washington and wanted to see as much as we could.
Had dinner at a nice Irish pub just around the corner at night.
Great that it is so close to the main station as after dinner we walked there and got icecreams, yogurt, some fruit etc.
Plenty of people around at 8pm-ish and felt safe walking from the train station back to the hotel.
Would definitely stay again and happy to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

this hotel was spacious , airey, and beautifully appointed. check in staff a little sombre but in general, staff very good. room comfortable but no fridge. proximity of hotel to sightseeing opportunities excellent. a little pricey but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We chose the Washington Court because it is well located withing walking distance of Union Station and The Capitol. It's a large, modern hotel with a huge glass covered lobby, which contains the bar, restaurant and lots of sitting and meeting space. When we arrived in the late afternoon on a Friday, the lobby was packed with businessmen and politicians. The check-in was quick and efficient and we were directed (but not shown) to our room on the 5th floor. Our room overlooked the lobby roof, so there was really no view at all. The room was large and comfortable with a large bathroom, although the facilities in the bathroom were the same as you would expect to find in any modern hotel. Surprisingly (to us) in a hotel of this standard and price, there was no mini-bar or refrigerator and no safe in the room. Otherwise, the room was fine. As you would expect, food & drinks at the hotel were expensive but Union Station is a short walk away with a wide range of restaurants available. One tip - parking at the hotel is VERY expensive ($43 per night) but there is an underground garage less than a block away which charges about half this amount, although there aren't any in and out privileges for this price, so park your car when you arrive and retrieve it when you leave. Washington is a city best seen on foot, anyway. Overall, the hotel was fine and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I was on a business trip to DC and the Washington Court hotel was recommended to me due to it's proximity to my meeting. I was travelling and temporarily without internet at the time, so I called the hotel to make my reservation. It was a nightmare. I was cut off three times, put on hold for 10+ minutes, belittled, etc. I didn't have high expectations going into my stay but I didn't have time or energy to search for another hotel. That said, from the moment I arrived at the hotel the service was spot on. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable and all amenities were provided for. I would choose the hotel again at any time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights. Extremely comfortable and classy hotel. Rooms were very spacious and modern. The bed was super comfortable and plush. The bathroom was very big and featured a double-headed shower, which is always good after a long day sightseeing. From our hotel room, you could see the Capitol Building. It was situated close to Union Station and bus routes. The staff on hand were more than helpful, and helped make our stay just that little bit better. There was a restaurant on site, but we found it a little pricey. Although we had no need for it, there were business amenities on site. Given the close proximity to tourist sites, the street was relatively quiet at night. Although it was on the expensive end of our budget, it was a good hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.