We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC 20007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extended Stay
Ranked #41 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed for one night at the end of October. Room was ready on arrival at 12 noon which was an immediate plus.

The staff I spoke to were all very nice and helpful.

The room was very big with nice comfotable beds. Bathroom well stocked and nice powerful shower.

One thing to note is the distance from downtown. It is approx $15 each way in a taxi. The hotel does not advertise itself as being close to downtown anyway, but just know this before booking. The hotel is short walk from some nice restaurants and bars and shops.

The shuttle to the metro was very handy indeed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review. The free shuttle is for the convenience of our guests, so we are happy you were able to benefit. We hope you enjoyed your visit to DC and hope to welcome you as a guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    398
    101
    50
    21
See reviews for
365
243
66
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Payette, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at Savoy Suites during the government shutdown and we were so happy to have a beautiful room to stay in. We had a large king room at the back of the hotel with a view of the Capital building. We had a corner room and we could hear the main heating unit fan near the bathroom, but it wasn't too loud and we got used to it. The bed was extremely comfortable and the entire hotel was clean and well kept. Free WiFi was included and they also let you borrow a laptop if you needed it. The front desk staff, Asaivon, Anastasia, Ryan, and Hafiza were exceptional and went out of their way to help us find things to do and print restaurant menus or whatever we needed off of the internet. Ditmar and Carlos assisted us with our bags and we were able to keep our luggage there after check-out since we had a 5pm flight. This allowed us to go out for awhile without lugging our bags around. Kareem the shuttle driver was also great...he dropped us off at the Whole Foods market down the street so we didn't have to walk in the rain. Shuttle is early in the am and then afternoon/evening, just a phone call and he would come to pick us up at the Metro station at night. If you miss the shuttle to the metro you can get a cab or walk a couple of blocks to the bus stop, then get off at the Metro station. I would highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for being a recent guest of ours. We appreciate your kind review of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that our staff could make you feel so welcome and we hope you enjoyed your time in DC (government shutdown and all!). We thank you for your compliments to our staff and hope you have a chance to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Book 2 nights in Savoy Suites in Grand view room. View over looking DC.
Room was very large with very large comfy bed. Quite room on 7th floor at back of Hotel.
Staff were very helpfull and booked us great tour around DC with pick up at Hotel.
Breakfast was the best I have had in US.
The Hotel is only 10 minites walk from the National Catherdral, open every day at 10.
Quite a few restaurants and cafes close by, a walk down to the water front takes about 20mins
or bus stops outside hotel.
I felt safe to walk around the tree-lines residential area around hotel.
Hotel offer shuttle bus free of charge to Metro station.
I will return to the Savoy on my next visit to DC.

Room Tip: We had corner room back of hotel large and sunny A/C was silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hello, thank you for taking a moment to leave us your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could be helpful in guiding you around DC. We definitely welcome you back as a guest next time you are in the area, and we truly appreciate your thoughtful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at SS twice and found the second visit even better than the first. Our room at the back of the hotel was large, comfortable and quiet. The room was equipped with a flat screen tv, refrigerator, coffee and good lighting. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful, especially Antoineta who remembered us from our visit in the spring and was the primary reason we sought to return as guests. Rates are extremely competitive and we really like this area of Georgetown as it offers numerous restaurants as well as a grocery store. As we have family in the area we hope to be able to return to Savoy Suites for future visits.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for being a return guest of our hotel. We appreciate your compliments to our staff, and we are glad that it could be a deciding factor in your second stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your DC trip, and we look forward to you being a guest again next time you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was my second stay at the Savoy Suites. For my first visit, I had a room facing the street. But after reading other reviews, I now know to ask for something at the back of the hotel. These rooms are quieter, and they have a better view. When I asked for a particular room, I was told that it was not available, but that the room next door was. I thought it was nice of the desk clerk to accommodate my request. The room was spacious, clean, quiet, comfortable, etc. Staff is polite and friendly. I like that you can operate the elevator only with a room key -- it keeps out intruders. The hotel is near the National Cathedral and the Naval Observatory in a tree-lined neighborhood in Georgetown. The hotel itself is on a busy thoroughfare, but the surrounding streets are residential and quite pretty. Several cafes and small restaurants are in walking distance, and so is a neighborhood park, a FedEx, Whole Foods, and other conveniences. There's even a historic cemetery nearby, if you're into that kind of thing. The DC Circulator shuttle bus operates close by, and they charge only a dollar to get into the central district. I was happy! The only negative is that there are no towel bars.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor (6-8) at the back of the hotel. You'll get a neighborhood view, or a dista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Tamara, thank you for sharing your hotel experience with us. We love hearing from return guests. We are more than happy to have accommodated your room request and we appreciate your thoughtful review. We hope to have you as a guest again next time you are in DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

As a frequent business traveler to places large and small throughout the country, service and hospitality are very important to me when staying at a hotel. The staff at the Savoy are top notch! The location of the Savoy is not ideal if you have business downtown, but the staff at the Savoy will make you forget about that little inconvenience. The new memory foam mattresses are wonderful and the hotel is clean and well maintained. JoAnn the General Manager takes pride in the way customers are treated at the Savoy. Her hospitality staff is equally proud of making each guest feel welcome and comfortable during their stay. As a repeat customer I am greeted by name when I arrive, especially if Jordan or Sabe is on duty. Many thanks to both of your for your kind, courteous and professional services. The doormen, the wait staff, the bar staff, the maintenance staff, they are all awesome. Good service and hard work should not be overlooked. Thanks to all of you at the Savoy Suites, Washington, DC.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East provide a nice early morning view of DC, Rooms on the Wisconsin side provide a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking a moment to leave us your kind review. Guest service is of utmost importance to us and it is our goal to make each guest's stay ideal. We definitely will pass your compliments on to our whole team and we welcome you back to our hotel should your travels bring you back to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel may not be the most centrally located or the most modern or glamorous, however it's customer service outshines many higher starred hotels we've stayed at.
We have a 5 month old baby and the staff from start to finish were more than accommodating. On check in we were told about anything that might apply to us and our stay, including where to find a 24 hour pharmacy. There was no time wasting or telling us about things that really wouldn't apply to us. It was fast, efficient and wholly personable.
I had phoned the day previously to ask if they had a microwave in the room, I was told they could put one in for us free of charge. Once we got to our room, we found a whole kitchen which was so helpful for us. It meant preparing food for our baby was more than easy.
On check out day I phoned to ask if it was possible to have an extra half an hour as my baby was fast asleep, without hesitation I was told I could have an hour. It's actions like these that are so rare these days but are so appreciated.
Amongst many of the lovely, friendly and helpful staff were Saba, Hafiza and Asianaron (apologies if I have spelt any names wrongly!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi Annie, thank you for taking a moment to let us know about your stay. We are pleased that our staff could accommodate your needs upon your recent visit. We do put the comfort and satisfaction of our guests at the top of our priorities, so we appreciate your kind review acknowledging such. We hope you had a fantastic time and we hope to have you as a guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
The Churchill Hotel
#22 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#26 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#24 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Suites Hotel

Address: 2505 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savoy Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming neighborhood of Glover Park, Savoy Suites Hotel offers easy access to Georgetown, Georgetown University, Georgetown University Hospital and the elite American University. Offering 150 spacious DC hotel guest rooms and suites, Savoy Suites Hotel accommodations are newly renovated, many offering breathtaking views of Georgetown, the Washington Monument, Potomac River and US Capital Building. All guests of Savoy Suites Hotel will enjoy premium Tempur-Pedic beds for a perfect nights sleep and have access to affordable on-site garage parking at $20 per day with free in and out privileges, free WiFi internet and daily access to Roam Fitness Gym on site. Free shuttle service is also available to Georgetown University and the nearest DC Metro. Guests of Savoy Suites Hotel will also enjoy beautifully prepared classic American dishes with rich Mediterranean flavors in Twist Georgetown Restaurant and Lounge. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily, Twist Georgetown Restaurant is also available for private events, weddings, catering and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Savoy Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Washington Dc
Savoy Hotel Of Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.