We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Service, Lackluster Accommodations, Not Worth the Price” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC 20007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horrible Service, Lackluster Accommodations, Not Worth the Price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was the worst experience I have ever had with a hotel.

In hindsight the red flags were there from the beginning. I called ahead to order a bottle of champagne and the surly front desk clerk told me to call the restaurant to order it. She didn't even offer to transfer me. I called the restaurant and they told me I needed the room number to place the order. I asked to be transferred back to the front desk and was hung up on. Okay, third call for a seemingly simple request. The front desk clerk informed me that I definitely needed to place the order with the restaurant and they don't assign room numbers until check in. Thankfully, I was successfully transferred back to the restaurant where I was able to order the champagne, ten to fifteen minutes after I had first tried. Unfortunately, when we arrived to the room, the champagne was nowhere in sight.

What was in plain sight were the well worn and incredibly lumpy pillows, stained couch, and crooked lampshades. Granted, individually these may not seem like great concerns, but what exactly are we paying almost $400 a night for? The high quality room? The furnishings were comparable to a Motel 6. The service? The staff could not have been more aloof. No one seemed to care about our issues or trying to make things right.

Altogether, the tired and dated looking room, combined with the lack of attention to detail and the deplorable level of service left us wanting to look for a new hotel. We attempted to get a refund, because we weren't happy at all with the accommodation, and were flatly denied. They had our money and they weren't going to let it go.

Even speaking to the manager did nothing to resolve the issue. In fact, he only made it worse. He was condescending, refused to offer us any concessions, and acted like he could not have cared less about our unhappiness with the situation. He even lied to us about not being able to give a refund. He said that we had to go through hotels.com to get the refund, and that it was out of his hands. After calling hotels.com, we found out that they cannot give a refund, the hotel decides whether or not to issue one. After bringing this up with the manager he admitted that it was the hotel's prerogative to give a refund, but they just weren't going to do so. His lying to our faces about it was the final straw. I will NEVER stay at a Savoy Suites again.

I cannot stress enough how terrible this hotel is for the price. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT stay here. You can do much better for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Harlan W

We are truly sorry that your experience with us was not one that leaves you with a great feeling about what a truly wonderful memory we strive to create for every guest. We were sure that among other options, providing a different room with a complimentary upgrade would be the beginnings of a resolution to your dissatisfaction. It is regretful that we were unable to win you over!

Again, our sincere apologies for the challenges that occurred with your stay. We have reviewed your comments with each department. As we are always looking for ways to improve, your review gave us examples to work with, and I'm sure that we'll get it right next time.

Sincerely
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    376
    98
    48
    20
See reviews for
348
234
64
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Great staff. The bartender went out of his way for us. Very clean. Nicely renovated bathrooms. Comfortable bedding. Felt very safe-elevators wouldn't go from garage past the lobby without using key card. For the price, absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello Smokeycat1,

Great Great Great! We love that you got to check out the bar, and both bartenders Hanin and Francisco would want me to convey their thanks! Georgetown is an amazing place in an equally amazing city, and we're delighted that you felt safe with us after a day of exploration. We want you to always be comfortable and relaxed here, and we'll keep up the security...and the warm welcomes any time you come see us, which will hopefully be soon!

Best Wishes,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

When we arrived at the Savoy Suites hotel, we were shocked to hear that the room we had paid for in full was not available and was given to someone else. The receptionist kept telling us that she couldn't give us that room and that she would give us another without the view we had paid for. Of course, we got flustered and then asked to speak to the manager. he came, very calm and distinguished and gave us a lovely room with the view we wanted. It was an upgrade and I am very happy with the way it was handled. I would comment though on the fact that rooms that are paid for should not go to other people in the first place.

Location is good, close to Georgetown and M street. Room was very clean and offered a lovely view of Capitol Hill. The price is reasonable , for both quality and location.

I thank the manager again for his swift interference, the front staff we spoke to that day wasn't helpful at all, not even with directions.

Room Tip: Make sure you take the room with a view. Make sure to speak with the manager in case of mixup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello Myrza313,

Sometimes we fall down, but we don't stay there. I apologize that your stay was not superb from the first moment, but I appreciate you giving us the chance to make it right! Please know that moving forward we will endeavor to get it right from the curb outside on your arrival to once you leave again, but feel free to let us know at any time if we can do something to make you day (and your stay) better! It's what we are happy to do!

My Sincere Regards,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our children have been going to DC school the past 6 years and we always stay at the Savoy. The beds are incredible and the location is superb for everything. Cannot underestimate the free parking! The staff is always superb. I recently had a question about my room rates and Vicki was the most professional and effecient hotel personnel I have ever dealt with.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Greetings MichaelpcCt,

Wow! We are over the moon with those great comments...and for being a member of our family for six years! You are the reason that we are here and we are glad you have stayed with us for so long! Also, Vickey IS the most professional and efficient staff hotel personnel. On her behalf and from all of our staff, Thank you!

Vince and your extended Savoy Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

this is a nice hotel for the money. most hotels in the area, for the night we stayed, were twice the money. the hotel had a nice, clean room. staff were very nice and willing to help with area information. be careful though. not really in Georgetown but at the top end of Georgetown. Georgetown stores or restaurants are not really within walking distance. Overall a nice stay and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi Thepuckstopshere!

Value is an overworked phrase these days, but we're appreciative of the fact that you shopped around and gave us a chance! We hope to be your regular choice and can't wait to see you again. Let us assist you in recommending some really neat shops and restaurants in the immediate area next time. Ask for me and I'll be sure you don't have to go too far..unless you're feeling adventurous!

My Sincere Regards
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great tempur pedic mattress and pillows. Large bright room, free wifi,cable. Trying hard to be a green hotel. Small new bathroom, good towels. Could vacuum more often. On site underground self parking at $20 per night.
Bus on Wisconsin to downtown, plus an am shuttle to the Metro.
But due to low lighting and dark colors, the overall effect of the lobby and hallways is gloomy.
A good decorator would elevate this hotel.
Breakfast prices for the buffet kept changing - $11.95 when we arrived to $14.95 when we left.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Newyorkoldgal,

We appreciate your comments on the Savoy. We are delighted to announce that we do have some renovations on the horizon, and we really hope you get to come back and see us before they are done and particularly after. We are really glad you tried our restaurant Twist and they are working on specials to further enhance your experience here. We are improving all the time!
Please come back to see us and let us know what you think!

Safe Traveling,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We booked this hotel last-minute because of the price. We were coming to DC to see Ben Harper at the 930 Club and decided to stay over. It was a serendipitous booking! We had a wonderful time the next morning exploring Embassy Row and attending the Flower Mart at the National Cathedral, which happened to be that weekend. The night view from our 7th floor room was great and our room was very quiet. The beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows and we enjoyed the, evidently, newly-redecorated room and bath. We arrived late because of traffic and the staff was very accommodating in quickly finding us a taxi. It was a bit far for our evening activity, but the beautiful area we found in the morning made the longer taxi-ride well worth it!

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel offers good views if you are higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Serendipitous has just become our word of the day!

A heartfelt thanks for the feed back on your stay; it sounds like you had a fantastic time with a performance and a night away; what better way to take advantage of a weekend! We're so glad you made us a part of it. Please be sure to check out some of the nightlife here in Georgetown; we have some more recommendations for you next time you're here, including our new happy hour in our restaurant Twist!

Warm Regards,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Suites Hotel

Address: 2505 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savoy Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming neighborhood of Glover Park, Savoy Suites Hotel offers easy access to Georgetown, Georgetown University, Georgetown University Hospital and the elite American University. Offering 150 spacious DC hotel guest rooms and suites, Savoy Suites Hotel accommodations are newly renovated, many offering breathtaking views of Georgetown, the Washington Monument, Potomac River and US Capital Building. All guests of Savoy Suites Hotel will enjoy premium Tempur-Pedic beds for a perfect nights sleep and have access to affordable on-site garage parking at $20 per day with free in and out privileges, free WiFi internet and daily access to Roam Fitness Gym on site. Free shuttle service is also available to Georgetown University and the nearest DC Metro. Guests of Savoy Suites Hotel will also enjoy beautifully prepared classic American dishes with rich Mediterranean flavors in Twist Georgetown Restaurant and Lounge. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily, Twist Georgetown Restaurant is also available for private events, weddings, catering and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Savoy Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Washington Dc
Savoy Hotel Of Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.