We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay if in Georgetown area.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC 20007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Self Parking Package
Ranked #40 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
New York City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay if in Georgetown area.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great tempur pedic mattress and pillows. Large bright room, free wifi,cable. Trying hard to be a green hotel. Small new bathroom, good towels. Could vacuum more often. On site underground self parking at $20 per night.
Bus on Wisconsin to downtown, plus an am shuttle to the Metro.
But due to low lighting and dark colors, the overall effect of the lobby and hallways is gloomy.
A good decorator would elevate this hotel.
Breakfast prices for the buffet kept changing - $11.95 when we arrived to $14.95 when we left.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Newyorkoldgal,

We appreciate your comments on the Savoy. We are delighted to announce that we do have some renovations on the horizon, and we really hope you get to come back and see us before they are done and particularly after. We are really glad you tried our restaurant Twist and they are working on specials to further enhance your experience here. We are improving all the time!
Please come back to see us and let us know what you think!

Safe Traveling,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    349
    91
    42
    18
See reviews for
331
220
44
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We booked this hotel last-minute because of the price. We were coming to DC to see Ben Harper at the 930 Club and decided to stay over. It was a serendipitous booking! We had a wonderful time the next morning exploring Embassy Row and attending the Flower Mart at the National Cathedral, which happened to be that weekend. The night view from our 7th floor room was great and our room was very quiet. The beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows and we enjoyed the, evidently, newly-redecorated room and bath. We arrived late because of traffic and the staff was very accommodating in quickly finding us a taxi. It was a bit far for our evening activity, but the beautiful area we found in the morning made the longer taxi-ride well worth it!

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel offers good views if you are higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Serendipitous has just become our word of the day!

A heartfelt thanks for the feed back on your stay; it sounds like you had a fantastic time with a performance and a night away; what better way to take advantage of a weekend! We're so glad you made us a part of it. Please be sure to check out some of the nightlife here in Georgetown; we have some more recommendations for you next time you're here, including our new happy hour in our restaurant Twist!

Warm Regards,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, GA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

After spending two nights in the Savoy Suites Hotel, I am pleased to report this is a very good choice for lodging. The hotel is clean, comfortable, and quiet, as well as being in an excellent location near Georgetown University. It is not often that I find this combination in a major metropolitan area, and for a price that represents exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear RobertLaGrange_GA

We enjoy having our guests feel like they have stepped away from the hustle and bustle of the city when they visit us. Our neighborhood being quiet but close to attractions, we always love to hear when we've created a good experience reflecting the duality of the area here in Georgetown; we couldn't be more pleased that we got it right for you. Thanks so much for your comments!

Vince and your friends at the Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I went for a little R&R and found the Savoy to be exactly what I wanted and needed. Lovely hotel, very inexpensive (for D.C.), and the staff could not have been more friendly. Its location on upper Wisconsin in Georgetown was ideal. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I paid an extra $10 for a city view, which was well worth the money. It was a pretty view and was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Greetings SFrazer,

Wow, what a wonderful comment! You are family when you're with us, and we're glad that you felt that way. From your family at your home away from home, thank you for your heartfelt words, and don't be a stranger! We want to see you again and welcome you home over and over!

Warmly,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is a bit of the beaten path, but it is only about $200/night, plus parking. If you don't have a car, they have afree shuttle to the subway every half hour, and there is a bus stop right across the street and the bus takes you directly to the National Mall and White House.

We enjoyed the excellent breakfast buffet for $15 (omelet station included). The area around the hotel is safe and there is a reasonable choice of restuarants nearby -- try "Old Europe", one block away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi There Niemand,

Our team in Twist Georgetown was happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet! Glad it was a great start to your day exploring the mall and national monuments! Your comments are greatly appreciated, and we want to see you again soon!

Best Wishes
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed for business one night, selected this property as others listed on line were just simply too expensive. I travel to D.C. a couple times a month, so I was intrigued to locate another boutique property other than the usual suspects that have little character. This property was clean, friendly service and in a beautiful section of Georgetown. If I had more time I would have loved to walk some of the neighborhoods that include many of the embassy properties in Washington. Yes, this property is a cab ride or shuttle ride to the closest Metro station, but I was able to get to downtown D.C. for meetings with no hassle. Thought the rooms were nicely updated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear TangledwoodNH

Love that you tried us! We sincerely hope that we will be your regular place to stay in DC since you come her frequently. Thanks so much for giving us a chance, and please come back to see us whether you're in town for business or pleasure!

Sincerely
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Got big corner room -nice, good bed, very comfortable and clean. Located close to great restaurants, Whole Foods, Starbucks, fast food, and Bus lines 31, 32, and 36, which go through Geeorgetown and other interesting shopping and eating areas...enroute to Foggy Bottom Metro (via Bus 31), or all the way to (near) the Mall and museums (via Bus 32 and 36). If you take the buses the opposite direction, to Tinley Town, you can jump on the Metro there and get to the mall much faster. Get a Smartcard, load it with an appropriate amount of money and ride buses and Metro with just a swipe. Taking these routes means you can avoid taking the Savoy shuttle bus to a nearer Metro station (too far to walk), and being at the mercy of their somewhat limited hours.

Room Tip: Longer stays seem to merit some kind of upgrade...our upgrade was a corner room (5 day stay), but In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi Martyread!

Sounds like you really did some exploring, and your comments are very helpful! Thanks so much for your kind words, and we hope that we were helpful with your travel plans! Do come back and see us again now that you have the local traveling down to a science!

My Sincere Regards
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Suites Hotel

Address: 2505 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savoy Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming neighborhood of Glover Park, Savoy Suites Hotel offers easy access to Georgetown, Georgetown University, Georgetown University Hospital and the elite American University. Offering 150 spacious DC hotel guest rooms and suites, Savoy Suites Hotel accommodations are newly renovated, many offering breathtaking views of Georgetown, the Washington Monument, Potomac River and US Capital Building. All guests of Savoy Suites Hotel will enjoy premium Tempur-Pedic beds for a perfect nights sleep and have access to affordable on-site garage parking at $20 per day with free in and out privileges, free WiFi internet and daily access to Roam Fitness Gym on site. Free shuttle service is also available to Georgetown University and the nearest DC Metro. Guests of Savoy Suites Hotel will also enjoy beautifully prepared classic American dishes with rich Mediterranean flavors in Twist Georgetown Restaurant and Lounge. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily, Twist Georgetown Restaurant is also available for private events, weddings, catering and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Savoy Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Washington Dc
Savoy Hotel Of Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.