We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Savoy Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoy Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking package
Ranked #36 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

In DC, it's hard to find a mid-priced hotel that's decent, but Savoy Suites is that and more. The location is between Georgetown and the campus of American University, which we were visiting on a college tour. Savoy Suites is a bit odd-looking -- more like a small apartment building with a circle drive and underground parking. But the daily parking rate is half what you'd pay in downtown DC ($20/day) and it's a snap to go on the elevator from garage to your floor. The beds have foam Tempurpedic mattresses, which we found very comfortable, and lots of pillows. The bathroom was newly renovated and "green" with tubeless toilet paper and soap with a hole in the middle. Loved the shower and soap/shampoo choices. The staff were friendly and breakfast looked good, though pricy at $12 per person (though this included made-to-order omelets). By car, it's five minutes into the heart of Georgetown, a wonderful area to walk and browse shops and restaurants. There is no lobby to hang out in here, but there is a small bar for cocktails. All in all, we felt that Savoy Suites was a good value and a very comfortable place to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello Islandgirl571

We are proud of our green program, and are especially happy that you appreciated the toiletry selections! Thank you for your comments, and we sure we'll see you again. All the best to your family during your college experiences; we want to continue to be a part of them as well!

Warm Regards,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    321
    85
    40
    16
See reviews for
317
201
38
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Savoy Suites is nestled in a beautiful area of Washington just north of Georgetown. An enjoyable & interesting walk is down Wisconsion to M street the center of Georgetown
the area immediately surrounding the hotel also has many numerous unquie places to eat including the famous MAx's Best home made ice cream store . This ice cream is served by the legendary Max himself. A spectacular treat for all ages not to be missed.

the hotel itself is well appointed has outstanding temupeditc beds ensuring a great night sleep.

The front desk staff are excellent professional, knowledgable and helpful
Saba, Tiffiany and Asiavon are true problem solvers. I came at the height of Cherry blossom season ( although this was not the reason i came to D.C.) every rooms at the savory suites was sold out as was every hotel in the entire city. As you can imagine some of the guests and those who wished to be guests were in high stress mode. This was adroitly handled by the front desk staff . Hats off to front desk manager Vince who also pitched in during high demand times.
the on site restraunt had a great breakfast with personal made omelets.
During the morning and afternoon a shuttle service to the nearest metro is provide free of charge. There is no pool but since i came on a business trip that was not an issue for me
Jose took special care with my luggage which had projection equipment in it
There is a nearby Fed Ex Kinkos also with knowledable and helpful staff all supervised by branch manager Haabeba Wills- Ali which for me was a big plus.
the Peason wine shop near door to Fed Express has some hard to find rare wine vintages.

Taxi service is easy, i mentioned the free shuttle to Wardman Metro stop and should you need it Mc sedan Mike and theand Van service is quickly available and Mike as a driver increased my ability to navigate the city quickly and accomplish what i needed to do in a in this high pressure city.
This hotel team and they are a team focuses on helping the customer and find the additional pieces that are needed like a respite at Max's best or the sedan service, They are amazing , Certainly i am coming back and recommending the Savoy Suites and the surrounding businesses to everyone i know coming to Washington.
I was in Washington representing a nonprofit working in the country of Georgia and all the hotel staff was helpful and interested in the challanges we are facing. They are kind helpful people. In addition outside the hotel are beautiful colorful lowers. I suggest that you take time to enjoy them Trish Blair

Room Tip: I like high floors and there is a bit of city view on one side of buidling that i personally enjoyed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear TJB2013

It was our pleasure to serve you on your trip! We loved having you, and thanks for the name by name review! Please feel confident that we will be looking forward to your return, and hope that things continue to go well this year with your organization. We saw you working hard every day and were honored to assist you in your efforts!

My Sincere Regards
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

the check in/out staff were rude. they didn't advertise that you had to pay and extra $20 for parking. the other people staying at the hotel were very loud during the night and were arguing in the hallway. the desk staff didn't want to deal with much. will not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Sherl Z

We are usually such a quiet place, especially with all that there is to do in D.C., most people are eager to sleep soundly and quietly! However, I do regret that you did not rest as well as you should have. Thank you for your comments as we want to stay vigilant to ensure that everyone has a great time in their home away from home...and a great sleep!

Sincerely,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is my second visit to Washington and it is amazing what a difference a hotel in the right location makes. This hotel is located in George Town amongst numerous restaurants, shops and bars. Additionally you can walk to most of the cities main tourist attractions, however the walk up the hill home can be a challenge. Public transport runs right past the door so that is an option.
The rooms are large and very well appointed and spotless. The hotel is quiet and the downstairs bar is also excellent.

Room Tip: I had a room on the fifth level which was above a y traffic noise and had a nice view of the Russian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello Kim-Perkins

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although walking "the hill" can be a fun challenge, hopefully it gives you a great excuse to enjoy a nice meal or dessert on our restaurant Twist Georgetown without worrying about the calories! We look forward to seeing you again, and thanks for your comments!

Sincerely
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We entered the room to find carpet that looked like it needed to be renovated 10 years ago which obviously made me inspect the room deeper. Upon further inspection of the bed and linen... the comforter was stained in multiple places, one section with what appeared to be oil residue from someone who used some kind of lubricant, and other unknown stains randomly elsewhere. Then we lifted up the pillows to discover a long strand of someones hair. We went back down to the front desk and informed them of the issues. The front desk staff was amazing and very friendly. They upgraded our room, The carpet looked the same but at least the bed appeared to be in better order, We were eager to go out and check out the Cherry Blossom Festival and we had an amazing time. We went to Chopsticks in Georgetown afterward and had the best sushi roll ever! The Capital Roll. When we got back to the hotel to wind down we pulled back the linen and discovered another long strand of unknown hair, and what looked like an eyebrow hair from previous guest. There was also a long strand of unknown hair stuck to the shower wall. My wife is a flight attendant so she has stayed at tons of hotels. Needless to say at that point we slept on top of the comforter with our clothes on. Will not be going back. New carpets, fresh linen, and either hire the appropriate amount of staff needed so housekeeping can do their job properly or retrain them. That's my suggestion. Front desk was A+++ best thing I can say about this hotel.

Room Tip: If it had not been for stained linen, random hairs, and old/dated carpets I would have enjoyed the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Greetings Clayton W

Thanks for your feedack regarding your stay with us. We were quite shocked to see your comments as we look forward to providing you the best accommodations when you stay with us! Regardless, we have shared them with our staff as we can do better.. Please contact me directly so that I can make sure that you are comfortable on your next stay with us; we would like you to reconsider and give us another chance! We are elated that you found the front desk staff (and the sushi rolls) to be "...A+++"

With Warm Regards,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is not located in Georgetown as advertised. VERY limited shuttle service (only to and from the closest metro station). If traveling without a vehicle and looking to site see via public transportation, don't stay here. Pay the extra to stay closer in town. Room not updated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bookend2505, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Greetings Shycheeks,

It seems that you weren't supplied with all the information you may have needed to get around our great city! We are walking distance to fantastic shops and restaurants here in Georgetown, and 1 block from our local bus stop where numerous buses can take you into the heart of D.C.
I am sorry that you didn't get to see how easy it is to explore in our area. Please come back soon to get a different perspective, and I know we will assist you more thoroughly.


Warm Regards,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was searching throughout Washington looking for a hotel to spend a mini vacay for Cherry Blossom viewing. I called several hotels whose staff were beyond rude,until I found Savoy Suites.
Robi answered my call and he went not an extra mile but 5 or more. He was superb finding us the perfect room at a fabulous rate and even chatted like a longtime friend over our encounter. I needed to change our reservation and again Robi was superb! He gave us great tips on what to see and activities to do for the weekend. he even remembered me by name and enquired about my new puppy!
When we arrived the staff went out of their way to accommodate our every need. Everyone was courteous and the Hotel itself was so very clean and gorgeous spa like decor.
I would give this place 15 stars!!!!!!
If you are planning a trip to Washington this is the place to stay and might I add the price topped the cake. so Yes You Can Have Your Cake and Eat it Too!
We will be back anytime we visit and next time will bring our pooch which can stay at this pet friendly hotel for free! Oh I almost forgot the temperpedic beds are awesome I think I will change my mattress at home to one after this stay. Not one pain or ache upon awake!
Thank you again Robi You are The Host with the Most for sure!

Room Tip: Kitchenette rooms are wonderful for traveling with the kiddos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi There Maggie C,

Thanks so much for the great review! From our tempurpedic beds to our pet friendliness, we are happy you enjoyed your new home a way from home. Come back to see us, and save room for more cake!

Best Wishes,
Vince
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Suites Hotel

Address: 2505 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savoy Suites Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming neighborhood of Glover Park, Savoy Suites Hotel offers easy access to Georgetown, Georgetown University, Georgetown University Hospital and the elite American University. Offering 150 spacious DC hotel guest rooms and suites, Savoy Suites Hotel accommodations are newly renovated, many offering breathtaking views of Georgetown, the Washington Monument, Potomac River and US Capital Building. All guests of Savoy Suites Hotel will enjoy premium Tempur-Pedic beds for a perfect nights sleep and have access to affordable on-site garage parking at $20 per day with free in and out privileges, free WiFi internet and daily access to Roam Fitness Gym on site. Free shuttle service is also available to Georgetown University and the nearest DC Metro. Guests of Savoy Suites Hotel will also enjoy beautifully prepared classic American dishes with rich Mediterranean flavors in Twist Georgetown Restaurant and Lounge. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily, Twist Georgetown Restaurant is also available for private events, weddings, catering and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Savoy Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Washington Dc
Savoy Hotel Of Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.