We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking package
Ranked #37 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for five days while visiting Washington D.C. We had a very nice room on the eight floor with a view of downtown D.C. with the Washington Monument, and Capitol in the background. The room was very clean and nicely appointed with beautiful furniture and a large flat screen TV. I loved the tempurpedic mattress? The staff was friendly and accommodating. We requested a microwave for our room and it was brought up immediately. We also noticed that there was no luggage rack in the room and asked for one which taken care of right away. We had breakfast there every morning which consisted of a buffet with a varied assortment of fruits, pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, hash, juices etc. They offered omelets upon request one day and wish that would have been available every day. The only complaint was a malfunctioning toaster that needs to be replaced as it couldn't heat a piece of bread no matter how long you waited.
We ordered room service twice and the service was good and the food delicious.
Overall our experience was very good and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms in D.C. are very expensive. We booked (and paid) our room in advance through a booking s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bookend2505, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Joeykk,

Love that you enjoyed your room view! The mattress was indeed a Tempurpedic, and we're pleased that you were able to leave its comfort...to take advantage of our breakfast buffet in our restaurant Twist Georgetown!

We look forward to having you back with us soon!


Warm Regards,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    348
    91
    42
    17
See reviews for
330
217
44
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Savoy Suites is classy, beautiful, clean, and has excellent customer service. Mini fridge is in the room. A microwave will be delivered to your room if you request it. In walking distance of the Vice President's house, National Cathedral, and Georgetown's shopping district. We walked to Starbuck's, Bruegger's bagels, or Whole Foods for breakfast each morning. A shuttle driver will take you to the Woodley Park Zoo Metro stop in the morning and he will pick you up from there when you call him. Also, 2 Metro bus lines run by the hotel that will deliver you to anywhere in DC. The same card you use on the Metro works to pay the $1.80 bus fare. This is a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bookend2505, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Greetings Gourmetsuzanne,

Sounds like you really got a good taste of the Savoy / local Georgetown experience! We're glad that you found us to be "...top notch" and we hope that you come back to see your new friends at the Savoy soon! Thanks again for the fantastic comments!

Warm Regards,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having just concluded a trip to D.C. during spring break, my husband and I have no intention of returning to The Savoy. As others have reported on TripAdvisor, rooms are indeed spacious, clean and decently appointed. But that’s about as far as we can go.
Just before we were to arrive for a five-night stay, we noticed online that the same room was 40 percent cheaper than it was when we booked four months ago. We called the hotel but the manager explained there was nothing he could do. We then called Booking.com and they were able to negotiate the lower rate for us -- literally, a savings of hundreds of dollars. That first experience was a portent for generally lackluster service.
Located just north of Georgetown in the Glover Park area, the Savoy isn’t within walking distance of the Metro. The hotel does offer a shuttle to the subway but it runs only every half hour. Our first evening, we happened to get off one Metro stop away from the shuttle pickup spot (we were misinformed by a hotel staff member) and the hotel refused to go the extra mile -- literally, just a mile -- forcing us to take a taxi at our expense. Even after we made a point of it, no one at the front desk budged. There was no offer of reimbursement or even something like a complimentary breakfast. That’s just not how a classy hotel behaves.
In terms of the facilities overall, the hotel is pretty austere. The room lacked a thermostat to control the heat, forcing us to turn it on or off throughout the night. There’s no workout room, but the Savoy has an arrangement with a fitness center about three blocks away – not exceptionally convenient to reach in 38-degree weather. The in-room menu isn’t up to date; any number of items (e.g., espresso) can’t be had. The in-room refrigerator froze a number of items (I’m referring to the refrigerator, not the freezer compartment). The breakfast – which checks in $25/couple – isn’t on par with the free breakfast you might find at a Residence Inn or an Embassy Suites. (We chose to brown bag it.) Internet service was spotty; indeed, having had to work from the room during one day during our stay, the hotel couldn’t keep the connection alive for much more than 10 minutes at a time.
D.C. is a marvelous city with a wealth of options for accommodations. The moral may be that you get what you pay for (as long as you don’t accept the first price they quote you).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bookend2505, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Sarafg,

It sounds like we didn't meet your expectations, and we truly regret that we didn't make you happy with our hotel or it's services. We do discuss these reviews with our team, and I can assure you that your comments have resonated with us and will serve to help us do better next time.

Should you wish to give us another try, please contact me directly so I can do everything in my power to win you over!

All the best,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My fiancee and I booked a King suite a month ago. When we went to check in, they put us in a 2 Queen room When I mentioned our reservation, they stated "Well, we filled up"

My fiancee was suffering a severe allergy attack, and I cold not figure out why until the next morning I looked at the ceiling over the bed, and saw black mold. I brought this immediately to the attention of the front desk, and we were moved to a , you guessed it, King room.

The manager, Vince, stated he would "review our bill". I have no idea if he did, as all that happened was I was charged an additional $10 for parking the next day.

I would review "Twist", their in-house restaurant here in detail, but instead feel free to look it up on Yelp. (Hint: They managed to under or overcook EVERYTHING.)

Room Tip: Avoid if you have mold allergies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bookend2505, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Greetings, Matthew M

I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on your trip to D.C.. I remember speaking with you, and although the start of your stay was not what it should have been, I am glad that we were able to get you the king bed that you originally requested. Please feel free to contact me before your next stay with us so I can personally make sure that your needs are taken care of!

Warm Regards,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Savoy Suites was listed as an alternative conference hotel when the main hotel filled up. My three travel partners and I booked a room without much research (something I'm hesitant to do), but it worked out nicely for us. Before our early morning flight, I called and asked if we could check in early, and the hotel allowed us to do so (10 a.m. instead of 3 p.m.--definitely a big help). The room was nice and clean, and the memory foam beds were divine. Just north of the Georgetown area, there were many restaurant options nearby. We only took issue with a few things. One, the walls are thin (old building) so we could hear everything our loud neighbors said when they were in the room (lucky, not very often). Two, getting to and from the hotel can be difficult. There are no airport shuttles provided by the hotel, so transportation can get pricey if one doesn't know how to navigate the Metro system. The shuttle that the hotel did offer to the nearest Metro stop had odd hours (it didn't run from 10:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.), and that made planning a must. Knowing these things ahead of time would have been nice, but it didn't cause too much of an issue for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bookend2505, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Meagan C

Just wanted to say thanks for your comments about your stay with us. We are always ready to assist if you need help, whether it be for checking in early or making the most of your travel plans with our free shuttle.

Although we were an alternate to your conference hotel, we appreciate you giving us (and our "divine memory foam beds) a chance!

Warm Regards,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemus Point, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Savoy Suites reservation was made on Expedia, one of those blind arrangements. Such a great deal on the room for going right at the beginning of tourist season. We arrived at Savoy after driving 7 hours from NY hoping to check in or at least bring our bags to storage and park while we explored. At the desk the clerk was apologetic and said that the hotel had been over booked due to flights being cancelled and a school group needing the rooms an extra night. She quickly set us up for a room at their sister hotel in Dupont Circle, Carlyle Suites. I was pleasantly surprised that this went off without a hitch every though we did not directly book thru Savoy. They even let us park our car there and paid for a cab to the other hotel. They were very helpful and something that could have ruined our entire trip was not even a bump in the road. The hotels have amazing beds and we slept amazing that night. I would stay here or the Carlyle again when I visit DC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuvinDC, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are thrilled you had such a great time and sorry for the move of locations.

Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee Vining
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I loved this lovely little boutique hotel. I chose to stay here rather than the more expensive conference hotel and am so happy I did. The manager gave me a room upgrade. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. It was quiet. The room was nicely decorated and large. Free WiFi and a laptop exchange program. Free shuttle to the nearest Metro stop. A little refrigerator in the room. A Whole Foods and some decent restaurants down the street. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bookend2505, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Awaygrrl,

Thanks for the great review! Sounds like you were able to take advantage of many of our services, and we too are glad you chose us. Please come back and see us no matter where your next conference is being held, we'd love to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Vince Purdie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Suites Hotel

Address: 2505 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savoy Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming neighborhood of Glover Park, Savoy Suites Hotel offers easy access to Georgetown, Georgetown University, Georgetown University Hospital and the elite American University. Offering 150 spacious DC hotel guest rooms and suites, Savoy Suites Hotel accommodations are newly renovated, many offering breathtaking views of Georgetown, the Washington Monument, Potomac River and US Capital Building. All guests of Savoy Suites Hotel will enjoy premium Tempur-Pedic beds for a perfect nights sleep and have access to affordable on-site garage parking at $20 per day with free in and out privileges, free WiFi internet and daily access to Roam Fitness Gym on site. Free shuttle service is also available to Georgetown University and the nearest DC Metro. Guests of Savoy Suites Hotel will also enjoy beautifully prepared classic American dishes with rich Mediterranean flavors in Twist Georgetown Restaurant and Lounge. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily, Twist Georgetown Restaurant is also available for private events, weddings, catering and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Savoy Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Washington Dc
Savoy Hotel Of Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.