We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Good Except WiFi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Savoy Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking package
Ranked #38 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Everything Good Except WiFi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I recently spent three nights at the Savoy Suites and found everything about it quite pleasant except for the minor inconvenience of having to stack pillows in the desk chair to be high enough for the computer keyboard and the major problem of the very sluggish internet connection that sometimes vanished entirely. This was true with my laptop computer in my room or with my iPad in the lobby. It's frustrating when you're on a pleasure trip and want to minimize the time spent taking care of online business to have to wait and wait and wait to accomplish online tasks. Otherwise, the hotel was quite good. Check-in and check-out were friendly and easy; everything was clean and comfortable (the bed was unusually comfortable -- I meant to try to find a label on the mattress so that I could buy one like it, but I forgot); the food was good and the staff serving it friendly and helpful; the location was pleasant though not exciting. It's in a fairly quiet neighborhood. That has its pros and cons. Because I did not have occasion to eat outside of the hotel or to seek out tourist attractions, the location suited me fine. Otherwise, though, I would have preferred to have more restaurants close by and to be closer to a metro stop. (The hotel offers a free shuttle to the closest metro stop, but I'd rather be able to walk down the street to one.)

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is EXTREMELY frustrating when WiFi is a challenge. We've reached out to you off-line so we can better diagnose the issue. We would really appreciate a bit more info if you have the time to provide it. You'll be receiving a separate email from us to do so confidentially.

Our mattresses are TEMPURPEDIC and provide a wonderful night's sleep. We're happy that you enjoyed them! Again, Many thanks! JoAnn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    308
    84
    40
    16
See reviews for
306
196
37
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent one night in one of the upper floor jacuzzi rooms. Check-in and check-out were easy, the staff was exceptionally friendly, the room very clean, breakfast was very good. Plenty of safe (underground secured) parking.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Rotcoddam - Happy to hear you had a good weekend! For those of you partial to bubbles, choose a SKYBOX SUITE when making your reservation. The Jacuzzi tubs are big enought for two and the views are spectacular! (the champagne is optional, though highly recommended!!) Happy Valentines Day, everyone! JoAnn & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

It was nice. The people at the front desk were amazing. We stayed 2 nights and they didnt clean our room or make bed after our first night. Walking distance to National Cathedral. Not many restaurant choices near by. For the money spent I expected more. Wallpaper was peeling in room and we couldn't get whirlpool tub to drain. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Jayne 922 - Thank you for taking the time to post and for your great praise for our front desk! We're sorry that we seem to have stumbled in other areas of your stay. We'd love to be able to isolate what happened. If you have another moment, please contact us at Sales@SavoySuites.com to privately share your specific stay information. We'd love to see you again and have the opportunity for you to see that all of our departments are "AMAZING!" Best wishes, The Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Some might think the location too far from city, but 15 minutes from vibrant Georgetown with its restaurants and shops. Different feel to DC itself. Good transit into Washington by bus. Large suites contained fridge and coffee maker for ground coffee. We ate in the restaurant, and many others in walking distance. Explore the area for a morning.

Super shuttle service gave us the first drop. Stayed four nights and then picked up rental car for journey south.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Keith S - hope you enjoyed your journey south and have found your way home to the UK safely! Thank you for taking the time to share your experince with others and we're happy to have started your trip off right! All the best, JoAnn & The Savoy Suties' Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Savoy Suites annually for 6 years now and have always had a good experience. The rooms are nice, beds very comfortable and the staff is great, helpful, friendly and very welcoming. It is not far from Georgetown or Dupont. The only issue we had this time is that one of the nicest things about this DC hotel was it's free parking. This changed on 2/1/2013. It is now $20 a night. It was disappointing especially since we didn't know at the time we made our reservations so found out at check in. Other than that, our stay was as good as always.

Room Tip: If you can get one that doesn't have an adjoining room door it is quieter. Otherwise you can hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Denise C – THANK YOU for your loyalty and support! We’re so happy to have helped to create good experiences in Washington, DC for you for these many years. We hope you’ve enjoyed all of the improvements we’ve made at the hotel since you discovered us 6 years ago…Each of our guest rooms has received a facelift, including the replacement of all furnishings, our guest room bathrooms have been completely renovated and now boast sleek showers and gleaming fixtures. Improvements have also been made to all of our public spaces including our entrance and lobby area, our outdoor eating area, our guestroom corridors and our garage! We hope to serve you for the NEXT 6 years so you can enjoy all of our future improvements! See you soon - JoAnn & all of your friends at the Savoy Suites Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Hello
To people that want to visit Washington, D.C. You should stay at the savoy suites.
This was my 4th time staying at this hotel .
I mostly like a lot about this hotel is the shuttle system they have and the driver,
Every day at 6:30 am I find him waiting for me to take me to gtown hospital, because he knows I was ill, he helps me get in into the van, one day I felt so bad about him because of one man that wanted him to take him first to the metro, the driver explain to the man that he goes first to the hospital than to the metro,the man started to use bad language that's where I jumped in and told the man to respect the driver,he was doing just was he was told and he was following the roles.
Those kind of people should take a taxi if they are in hurry.but ............
Any how,

The resturant was ok
The gym I wish I can use it but I heard it was nice.
Over all the hotel is the best.
Thank you savoy suites and see you next month.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Sfranboy, we do hope that you're feeling better and that your 5th visit with us will be purely for fun! Thank you for taking the time to post and for your recommendation! Wishing all the best health - JoAnn & The Savoy Suties Team (Shuttle drivers included!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The staff at the hotel were very nice. The hotel is really close to Georgetown, and Dupont area, neighborhoods that i like. I like to hang out in clubs and good restaurants, so is also close to Adams Morgan and U street. Few block from Washington National cathedral and also the Metro. Walking distance from Starbusck, Whole Food Supermarket and a good place to eat BBQ. I woul reccomend this hotel to anyone because is very affordable and comfortable

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Sounds like you had a great time in DC and hit all the hot-spots! Thank you for allowing us to be part of your trip! We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and insight with others - Best wishes, JoAnn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Suites Hotel

Address: 2505 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savoy Suites Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming neighborhood of Glover Park, Savoy Suites Hotel offers easy access to Georgetown, Georgetown University, Georgetown University Hospital and the elite American University. Offering 150 spacious DC hotel guest rooms and suites, Savoy Suites Hotel accommodations are newly renovated, many offering breathtaking views of Georgetown, the Washington Monument, Potomac River and US Capital Building. All guests of Savoy Suites Hotel will enjoy premium Tempur-Pedic beds for a perfect nights sleep and have access to affordable on-site garage parking at $20 per day with free in and out privileges, free WiFi internet and daily access to Roam Fitness Gym on site. Free shuttle service is also available to Georgetown University and the nearest DC Metro. Guests of Savoy Suites Hotel will also enjoy beautifully prepared classic American dishes with rich Mediterranean flavors in Twist Georgetown Restaurant and Lounge. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily, Twist Georgetown Restaurant is also available for private events, weddings, catering and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Savoy Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Washington Dc
Savoy Hotel Of Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.