We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Georgetown experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Savoy Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savoy Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking package
Ranked #38 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Get the Georgetown experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Some might think the location too far from city, but 15 minutes from vibrant Georgetown with its restaurants and shops. Different feel to DC itself. Good transit into Washington by bus. Large suites contained fridge and coffee maker for ground coffee. We ate in the restaurant, and many others in walking distance. Explore the area for a morning.

Super shuttle service gave us the first drop. Stayed four nights and then picked up rental car for journey south.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Keith S - hope you enjoyed your journey south and have found your way home to the UK safely! Thank you for taking the time to share your experince with others and we're happy to have started your trip off right! All the best, JoAnn & The Savoy Suties' Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    306
    84
    40
    16
See reviews for
303
195
37
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Head, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Savoy Suites annually for 6 years now and have always had a good experience. The rooms are nice, beds very comfortable and the staff is great, helpful, friendly and very welcoming. It is not far from Georgetown or Dupont. The only issue we had this time is that one of the nicest things about this DC hotel was it's free parking. This changed on 2/1/2013. It is now $20 a night. It was disappointing especially since we didn't know at the time we made our reservations so found out at check in. Other than that, our stay was as good as always.

Room Tip: If you can get one that doesn't have an adjoining room door it is quieter. Otherwise you can hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Denise C – THANK YOU for your loyalty and support! We’re so happy to have helped to create good experiences in Washington, DC for you for these many years. We hope you’ve enjoyed all of the improvements we’ve made at the hotel since you discovered us 6 years ago…Each of our guest rooms has received a facelift, including the replacement of all furnishings, our guest room bathrooms have been completely renovated and now boast sleek showers and gleaming fixtures. Improvements have also been made to all of our public spaces including our entrance and lobby area, our outdoor eating area, our guestroom corridors and our garage! We hope to serve you for the NEXT 6 years so you can enjoy all of our future improvements! See you soon - JoAnn & all of your friends at the Savoy Suites Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Hello
To people that want to visit Washington, D.C. You should stay at the savoy suites.
This was my 4th time staying at this hotel .
I mostly like a lot about this hotel is the shuttle system they have and the driver,
Every day at 6:30 am I find him waiting for me to take me to gtown hospital, because he knows I was ill, he helps me get in into the van, one day I felt so bad about him because of one man that wanted him to take him first to the metro, the driver explain to the man that he goes first to the hospital than to the metro,the man started to use bad language that's where I jumped in and told the man to respect the driver,he was doing just was he was told and he was following the roles.
Those kind of people should take a taxi if they are in hurry.but ............
Any how,

The resturant was ok
The gym I wish I can use it but I heard it was nice.
Over all the hotel is the best.
Thank you savoy suites and see you next month.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Sfranboy, we do hope that you're feeling better and that your 5th visit with us will be purely for fun! Thank you for taking the time to post and for your recommendation! Wishing all the best health - JoAnn & The Savoy Suties Team (Shuttle drivers included!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The staff at the hotel were very nice. The hotel is really close to Georgetown, and Dupont area, neighborhoods that i like. I like to hang out in clubs and good restaurants, so is also close to Adams Morgan and U street. Few block from Washington National cathedral and also the Metro. Walking distance from Starbusck, Whole Food Supermarket and a good place to eat BBQ. I woul reccomend this hotel to anyone because is very affordable and comfortable

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Sounds like you had a great time in DC and hit all the hot-spots! Thank you for allowing us to be part of your trip! We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience and insight with others - Best wishes, JoAnn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiria, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The good:
Although it is a bit far from any city center, it is located on a quiet area of DC.
There are no public transports near the hotel. Nonetheless, if you're into bicycles, there is a Capital Share bicycle station 300 meters from the hotel (I highly recommend it).
Room had all the facilities you would expect.
Breakfast was nice, although it would be nice to have more variety of fruits and cooked food.

The bad:
This is one of those cases where a single employee can ruin the whole experience.
The shuttle driver is the most unpleasant and rude person I even encountered on a hotel staff. Moreover, its driving is a real hazard for everyone: arguing with other drivers, driving through "private passage, do not enter" passages to avoid traffic lights, over speeding in residential areas, etc. I hope the hotel administration replaces him fast, for the sake of their hosts.
The only time I called him for picking me up, he started to argue with because I wasn't able to explain him thouroughly where I was. His tone way out of line for talking with a customer. And instead of helping customers to get their luggage on the bus, he starts mumbling and cursing when he sees customers in trouble to get on the shuttle bus.

Gladly there are other employees such as Vince, which compensate the driver's attitude.

Room cleaning staff did pay much attention to details: they basically made my bed, but on some days they left some dishes unwashed and did no replenish the shower items (shampoo, shower gel, etc).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear NorbertoFH - Thank you for taking the time to write, though we wish your experience was more sweet and less "bitter!" Our shuttle drivers typically receive some of our highest service praise, so we'll be reviewing your comments in detail with our team. Know that we hope that we have the opportunity to create "sweet" memories for you in the future! Thank you again for taking the time to post - JoAnn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

What a refreshing thing it was to find this little gem in DC.
Close to great restaurants ( try the Indian and the Japanese restaurants just down the road!) a Whole Foods grocery, drug store and convenient bus stops close by take you into the city right to the Capitol or White House for $1.80 - a 20 min. ride.Georgetown, with great shopping, is 5 min bus ride away.

We felt very safe in this area to walk by day or night and the free, secure, underground parking was a welcome bonus. Staff very helpful!

If we ever come back to DC, this is the place we'll stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Sherapps - Bend, Oregon looks beautiful, but we do hope you'll make it back to the East Coast again! Thank you for taking the time to post and for your insight that will certainly be helpful for our future guests. Best wishes, JoAnn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews. The room looked fairly clean on first glance, until I saw the larvae near the bed...
They gave me a full refund, though, which was very professional.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Suites Hotel

Address: 2505 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savoy Suites Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming neighborhood of Glover Park, Savoy Suites Hotel offers easy access to Georgetown, Georgetown University, Georgetown University Hospital and the elite American University. Offering 150 spacious DC hotel guest rooms and suites, Savoy Suites Hotel accommodations are newly renovated, many offering breathtaking views of Georgetown, the Washington Monument, Potomac River and US Capital Building. All guests of Savoy Suites Hotel will enjoy premium Tempur-Pedic beds for a perfect nights sleep and have access to affordable on-site garage parking at $20 per day with free in and out privileges, free WiFi internet and daily access to Roam Fitness Gym on site. Free shuttle service is also available to Georgetown University and the nearest DC Metro. Guests of Savoy Suites Hotel will also enjoy beautifully prepared classic American dishes with rich Mediterranean flavors in Twist Georgetown Restaurant and Lounge. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily, Twist Georgetown Restaurant is also available for private events, weddings, catering and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Savoy Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Washington Dc
Savoy Hotel Of Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.