We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel, located in a busy area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2505 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC 20007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #46 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
mooviemadness
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Small hotel, located in a busy area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I visited this property during Homecoming week for Howard University. Although I have AAA, I was able to get a better price through booking.com. I had to pre-pay to get the better deal, however. I was disappointed when I got there and the clerk told me that I was booked for a room with 2 queen beds. I had requested, and confirmed, with booking.com that I wanted a king room. The clerk said that the information they’d gotten from booking.com was for a 2-bed room. So I will go back to using AAA.
The lobby and restaurant area were among the smallest I’d ever seen, although they were well kept. The staff was friendly, and very helpful. Parking in the underground garage is free. I suppose this is for security reasons, but the elevator operation requires the scanning of your hotel room card. This also applies when you go to the garage. I had to get accustomed to this procedure; as a claustrophobic, it made me a little nervous when the doors closed and I still had not gotten the green light to push the floor I needed.
The pattern of the rooms upstairs suggested to me that the hotel had been refurbished. If so, they’d done a good job with the updating. The carpeting in the hall was starting to look a little worn. No meals are included with the stay, but compared to other restaurants in the area, I thought the prices were reasonable. I ordered dessert and a drink while I was there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
HI there Movie Madness! Your review means so much to us! Thank you! Sometimes online travel sites can be a bit confusing... the next time you book, be sure to book directly from our website. We offer your AAA discount there as well as over the phone. I am so happy you took advantage of our FREE garage parking... its a rare amenity in hotels these days and we hope it contributed to the overall value of your stay along with the free WiFi and daily access to the Washington Sports Club. PLease be sure to give us another try! We would certainly love to have you stay with us again! Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    385
    100
    50
    21
See reviews for
353
238
64
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We came into Washington a day early and got a room at the Savoy through Hotwire. The rooms were spacious, nicely appointed and very clean, with extremely comfortable beds. Free Internet and parking we appreciated and the hotel is an easy walk to a number of nice shops and restaurants. The hotwire booking meant we paid much less than the listed price - this was by far the best value/experience of our trip to Washington, we just wish we had more time to explore Georgetown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear JFK00 - Thank you for the 5 Circle review! We are so lucky you came in that one day early and gave us a try! Hopefully next time we will be lucky to have you for your entire stay! If we are so luckly, be sure to search our website as we have some great value added packages and rate specials. You can sign up for offers by visiting www.savoysuites.com and adding your email address. We promise we won't rent, sell or share your email! Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again! MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Though this was my first stay at the Savoy, and it was for only one night, the way they treated me made me wonder if they had confused me with their best repeat guest. They provided for a delightful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi Thomas! So happy to hear that you enjoyed the red carpet service! As corny as it may sound to some, we are so grateful for each and every guest that comes through our doors. We are true hoteliers that value our guests and this is an industry that we truly truly love. So happy it showed! Does this mean we will see you again on your next visit to Washington DC? All the best! MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A group of us were in town for a meeting and chose to stay at the Savoy Suites. Being close to Georgetown made it a convenient walk to a bevy of restaurants and shops. The room was fabulous with a mini kitchen that would have been great if we were staying for more than one night. The breakfast buffet was much better than expected. Overall, a great value in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi Franklin! So happy to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay at our Georgetown area hotel! We are technically in Glover Park, and having the Vice President as our neighbor makes it one of the safest nabes in town! Hopefully you had time to see the National Cathedral nearby and some of the breathtaking mansions on Embassy Row. Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again! Warm Wishes, MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Many good points for the location relative to our needs, for the assistance provided by staff, for the newly renovated bathroom, the spaciousness of the room, the presence of a refrigerator in the room, the parking which was included in the price in an area which is notorious for the shortage of street parking. Disappointing for the pillow linens, which bore the odor of hair oils and which suggested they had not been changed appropriately; disappointing for the failure to provide additional bottles of moisturizer & conditioner when half-empty bottles were left on the bathroom counter top; disappointing for the absence of towel bars to hang wet towels after bathing (only one hook provided in shower stall). At over $150/night I feel the management could have done much better!

Room Tip: try booking directly with savoy suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi Rita! I was so happy reading your review, until I got to the part about the pillow linens and the fact that we didn't refill your sundries after each use. Those were easy ones to miss which makes me very disappointed. I have forward your comments to our Housekeeping departments who I know will just be crushed as they are so used to getting compliments daily! The only thing I can say is that we will get better and its all because of your review. Thank you. Warm Regards and the best to you and yours. MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel was perfect for us. A year earlier we stayed right off the Mall, which was nice, but parking was $45 per night and there weren't many places nearby to get food. I saw on Trip Advisor about the Whole Foods a couple of blocks from the Savoy and we went there several times. We appreciated the free parking and wifi and the very spacious room. The beds were super comfortable. The location worked great for us as we mostly were driving to visit family and friends or on one day we drove to downtown and parked in a garage there. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Greetings SJS! Your review (and TripAdvisor icon) put a BIG smile on my face! Thank you so much for the 5 circle review! Yes, Savoy Suites Hotel offers free garage parking, free WiFi and Free daily access to the Washington Sports Club. Those our just some of our fabulous amenities. And I know what you mean about those beds! The beds by the way are Tempur-pedic. One day I had to work a double shift and was lucky enough to sleep over. I swear, I was almost late for my shift because I just didn't want to get out of the bed! SO COMFY! Thanks again for the review and I really do hope you come back to visit us again soon! Cheers - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I don't know why this hotel rates so high. As another reviewer said, it's average at best. The location is okay, but it is a brisk ten-minute walk to the busier parts of Georgetown. Parking is a nice to have, although if I had known about DC traffic I would have flown into Reagan and stuck with taxis. The people are usually friendly if somewhat ineffective. The heater didn't really work in my room, only getting up to about 60 degrees at full blast, and when I asked the front desk to send someone, nobody appeared for an hour. When he did show up, he seemed completely oblivious to the fact that I had on my down jacket and gloves, pointed to the thermostat that said "78" and insisted that it was warm because it said "78" and therefore must be warm.

Getting the front desk to call a cab was a complete fiasco. After braving the traffic once, I decided to leave my car in the garage and call the front desk to order a cab an hour in advance for 8:30am. I showed up downstairs at 8:28, didn't see a cab, and asked the front desk where the cab was. They waved vaguely outside, around the corner. So I walked out, looked around, nothing. Walked back in and told them there wasn't a cab. "It's 8:31, you were late so he must have left." After I protested she shrugged and said, "somebody else probably took it." The hotel did NOTHING to try to address this. I insisted they order another cab. They told me one was on its way but after ten minutes of waiting, still nothing. By now I know I'm going to be late for my meeting. No point driving either, because parking had taken so long the day before. The front desk finally told me they didn't think anyone would be coming because it's rush hour. They couldn't have told me this earlier???

By now you're wondering why I'm giving this hotel three stars, or any stars at all. Because there was a courtesy van driver watching all of this unfold, who stepped up to help when I asked if there was anything he could do. He couldn't deviate from his path between the hotel and the Metro station because of insurance reasons, but he did go out of his way to run an extra trip for me, understanding my desperation, chatting to me, dropping me off at the Metro and pointing to the direction for me to walk the rest of the way. I'm pretty sure he risked getting in trouble to do it, and I wish I could have thanked him properly.

I'm really sorry I didn't get this man's name. He was a hero that day - not for saving the situation but for giving me faith that somebody around there had any consideration for what happened to me. Thank you, courtesy van driver dude.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Savoy Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Stompypuppy - Oh My Goodness! When we promised ourselves to leave guests with memorable service, this is not what we had in mind! We really left much to be desired didn't we. This is NOT indicative of the service we offer to our guests and I can assure you that your review has invigorated our mission to offer the BEST, PERSONALIZED service to each and every guest. I know that doesn't mean anything to you know post-stay, just know that you have our attention and we promise to do better for the guests that find their way to our little Georgetown area hotel. Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Savoy Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Suites Hotel

Address: 2505 Wisconsin Ave, NW, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savoy Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming neighborhood of Glover Park, Savoy Suites Hotel offers easy access to Georgetown, Georgetown University, Georgetown University Hospital and the elite American University. Offering 150 spacious DC hotel guest rooms and suites, Savoy Suites Hotel accommodations are newly renovated, many offering breathtaking views of Georgetown, the Washington Monument, Potomac River and US Capital Building. All guests of Savoy Suites Hotel will enjoy premium Tempur-Pedic beds for a perfect nights sleep and have access to affordable on-site garage parking at $20 per day with free in and out privileges, free WiFi internet and daily access to Roam Fitness Gym on site. Free shuttle service is also available to Georgetown University and the nearest DC Metro. Guests of Savoy Suites Hotel will also enjoy beautifully prepared classic American dishes with rich Mediterranean flavors in Twist Georgetown Restaurant and Lounge. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily, Twist Georgetown Restaurant is also available for private events, weddings, catering and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Savoy Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Washington Dc
Savoy Hotel Of Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.