We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamour and Grandeur Just Steps from Dupont Circle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Glamour and Grandeur Just Steps from Dupont Circle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was attending oral arguments at the Supreme Court this month and was only in the city for one night and was delighted to see that the Fairfax was offering the best rate of any Starwood property in the city that evening. Unfortunately, harsh weather that day caused cancellations of 3 flights i was booked on, and when I called the hotel to let them know I might not arrive till after midnight, they assured me a wonderful room would be waiting. I managed to arrive at midnight, exhausted after an all-day travel ordeal, and reception could not have been more welcoming. The delightful Sonnelle went out of her way to place me in a spectacular, spacious top-floor room and to make sure my every need was met. She also suggested a superb dinner spot (Kramerbooks) just a few blocks from the hotel and still open at that late hour. The hotel is magnificent--the former DC residence of at least 3 former Presidents and Vice Presidents and just about every other famous politician or celebrity who has ever lived in DC. The location is in the tony Embassy side of Dupont Circle, just a few minutes walk from the Metro. The feel of the hotel is glamour and grandeur, elegant, rich, and perfectly tasteful and stately. Breakfast is served in the hotel's lovely Capitol Room. The entire staff is welcoming and professional, and they all--especially the wonderful Sonnelle--will make you want to return again and again. I just wish my stay could have been for more than 1 night.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are spacious and have lovely views of the area embassies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    372
    110
    39
    21
See reviews for
282
296
83
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I loved everything about my stay here - customer service was great, the hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious. I only wish I had stayed longer than 1.5 days... I will definitely return.

*I did stay here about 2.5 years ago, I wasn't able to select that far back when completing this.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I travel for work and have stayed in several hotels in DC, but The Fairfax is by far the nicest hotel so far- both in terms of service and quality. The hotel is located in Dupont circle and has a traditional look; very regal. The staff is very friendly and accommodating the whole time I was there. I have to give a special shout-out to Sonnelle, who was the person who checked me in. She was so nice and super insightful by giving me recommendations for local places to eat and things to do on my downtime - five start service all the way. I will definitely stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is great, the people treated me like a celebrity and greeted my family with a warm welcome. The room was very elegant and the bed was comfy. The lobby has a cozy feel and the people at the front desk greeted me every time I walked inside the hotel. The Fairfax defiantly deserves five stars

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Fairfax over the weekend and had a great time. The staff is amazing. We met Scott (Food & Beverage Manager) who has to be one of the nicest guys in the hotel business. He made sure we had everything we needed while dining for dinner and breakfast the next morning. The room was amazing and we had an overall great experience.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at the Fairfax at Embassy Row three times in the past year (ironically I lived at the property for 10 months in 1992 when it was the Ritz Carlton & I was there for a business assignment). I cannot say enough about the impeccable staff - front desk; bellmen; housekeepers; etc. My daughter moved to Washington DC a year ago and this is the only place I even consider staying. On my most recent visit last month I was so impressed with Sommelle at the Front Desk. She went above and beyond to insure we were satisfied with every part of our stay! I plan to return in June!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We are so honored to be your favorite place to stay when in Washington, DC, and we thank you for sharing your story! It will be our pleasure to share your compliments with our staff, as we’re sure they will make their day; thank you for acknowledging them in your review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row. June will be here very soon and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Traditional style hotel. Clean. Short walk to Metro. Great neighborhood with lots of restaurants and beautiful buildings (and embassies). Kind of nice to of more central DC, quieter. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The Phillips Collection is across the street, which is a great art museum.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
The Phillips Collection is a must-see when visiting the Dupont Circle area and we’re thrilled that the location of The Fairfax at Embassy Row made it easy for you to enjoy. Thank you for your very kind comments for both our staff and property and please, come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.