We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Cape May, N.J. U.S.A.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Christmas Memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Oh the weather outside was frightful, but inside the hotel was so delightful. And since we had no place to go (after dinner), we said: Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!! Our room was spacious and comfy, and the amenities were to our liking. From valet to concierge our welcome was most inviting. The location was perfect for our needs and and ideal for a holiday setting. We will stay here again, when this lovely hotel offers promotions.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room off of the street and you will enjoy a silent night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for making us smile! With unusually high temperatures this December, we wish it was more of a winter wonderland around DC this Christmas; however, we’re pleased that your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row made you feel right at home for Christmas. Our staff work very hard to create the most enjoyable experience for each of our guests and we’re happy that they helped to make it the most wonderful time of the year for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    373
    111
    39
    23
See reviews for
283
298
83
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during an autumn trip to the east coast. The hotel is located very conveniently in Dupont Circle, within walking distance to many sites and very close to a subway stop. It's an old-school hotel with a lot of class and charm. It's not as polished and ritzy as some of the fancier hotels in town but it is a good value for the price.

Our room was small but quite nice. The bed was very comfortable and we had everything we needed. Our one complaint concerned the water temperature in the shower: It took about five minutes of running until the water was warm enough. We called the front desk to ask to have it fixed and she called maintenance, but the problem persisted throughout our stay.

Other than that, our experience was great. We'd consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review about your experience at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We’re thrilled that our convenient location worked out so well for you during your stay. We do regret that you experienced any inconvenience at all however, and we will look into why there were issues with hot water in your room. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had booked the Fairmont for 2 nights to be near points of interests for sightseing and near Georgetown for a University visit. The Fairmont is a very classic hotel in style, the room had a good size that we had no problema to fit with our family of 4 and our 9 pieces of luggage coming already from a long trip. We had a Deluxe room with 2 Queen beds, very comfortable. The bathroom was splitted in 2 rooms what was practical. We paid 394 $ the 4 of us for 2 nights, but no breakfast included, what was 26 $ per person, also the Valet parking over night was 40$, kind of expensive what added up considerably to the total of the 2 nights.
The breakfast was of very good quality, we appreciated very much the fresh cut fruit selection of pinapple, melón and a mix of berries, in addition was a healthy choice of different nuts,cranberries, raisins and oats. I also loved the fresh croissants.
At the check in we were already offered a late check out what was very nice since our flight home was not til the evening.
Since we had 2 university visits planned, the hotel was in walking distance of George Washington University and a good 15 minutes walk to Georgtown what is a very cute neighborhood with nice shops and restaurants.
We coud also walk to a metro station to take the metro the the National Mall for sight seing.

Room Tip: our room was overlooking the main road, can get kind of noisy with Street cleaning in the night. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
How wonderful that the central location of The Fairfax at Embassy Row made it easy for you and your family to visit the institutions you needed to see and also enjoy a bit of fun exploring while here. It was our pleasure to provide you a comfortable stay that worked with your travel schedule. Your stay at our hotel sounds like it captured much of what we expect to provide for all our guests and we thank you for sharing your story. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel is centrally located between the various attractions (Georgetown, White House, monuments), allowing visitors to walk everywhere. The rooms are very nice with comfortable beds. The hotel staff goes out of their way to accommodate guests. I would definitely stay at this hotel in the future.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We’re flattered to hear your compliments for both our staff and accommodations and very happy that your stay was enjoyable. We hope you will be visiting The Fairfax at Embassy Row again soon and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family and I stay at the Fiarfax every year over the Christmas Holidays when we are in town to visit my family. The Fairfax is a beautifully restored and mainatined classic hotel very conveniently located right by the Dupont Circle Metro station and walking distance to the KStreet Corridor. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Just beware that overnight valet parking is a steep $40 a night. there are plenty of casual restaurants, a Starbucks, a deli, and a liquor store all around the corner on P Street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. It is a pleasure welcoming you and your family to our hotel every year and we’re happy to read that you are completely impressed each and every time. Our convenient location certainly makes it easy to enjoy Washington, DC even more and we thank you for mentioning it in your review. We’re looking forward to seeing you again soon and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is very nice from the outside and the inside as many guests have pointed out is dated but that's what gives the hotel a historical feel. The check-in process could have been a little bit better as they seemed understaffed. Being that it was a Saturday at prime check-in time I let this pass. The room itself was very spacious which I will get to later on. There is a walk in closet, chair with ottoman, and a bedside mini sofa. All of the furnishings were kept to give the hotel a historical feel as I've heard it was recently renovated. Our room had the worst view which looked out to a brick wall and a truck docking station which looked like a scene from Law and Order SVU. This didn't bother us much since it gets dark at 5pm and it was raining. The closet had two umbrellas which was great being that it rained the entire time. The one issue I did have was how far away the TV was from the bed. I guess this is why they have a mini sofa by the end of the bed and another chair but call me old fashioned but I like to watch TV in bed before I sleep and after I wake up. The bed to the tv is about 15-20 feet away I would say. This hotel definitely has charm and I would love to return. The only thing I would change is during the check-in process I would ask for a nicer view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We do hope that the next time you come to stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, that the weather cooperates fully and allows you to explore the surrounding neighborhood and enjoy the outdoors. It would be our pleasure to assist you in finding the perfect room to suit your needs; please don’t hesitate to let us know your wishes when you arrive. Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay, along with certain areas where you feel we need improvement. We look forward to having you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I've wanted to stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, and took a chance on a recent DC business trip. You cannot beat its convenient location in the heart of Dupont Circle. In addition to the Metro, there are ample services and eating establishments within a five-minute walk. The surrounding neighborhoods - and their grand embassies and brownstones - are also fun to check out.

The hotel itself was much what I expected. It's a classic, older, eight-story building with clean but dated corridors. Check in was quick and efficient. My room, a Deluxe Suite with separate living area, bedroom, and bath, was very comfortable (though the furnishings are a bit stale in design...they are not historical) and had good wireless access and a well-appointed bed. Although desks are in both the living room and bedroom, neither were suitable for work.

Overall, I enjoyed my two nights and appreciated the opportunity to experience The Fairfax and the surrounding Dupont Circle neighborhood. However, with many other options in DC and the beltway, I might look into other Starwood properties for business travel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces Massachusetts Avenue; otherwise you're likely looking out into the all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We’re happy that you took advantage of an opportunity to come and stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. It’s great to learn that everything was as you expected and that you enjoyed a comfortable experience while here. We hope you will have a chance to visit us again and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.