We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Amazing Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location & Amazing Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel is centrally located between the various attractions (Georgetown, White House, monuments), allowing visitors to walk everywhere. The rooms are very nice with comfortable beds. The hotel staff goes out of their way to accommodate guests. I would definitely stay at this hotel in the future.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We’re flattered to hear your compliments for both our staff and accommodations and very happy that your stay was enjoyable. We hope you will be visiting The Fairfax at Embassy Row again soon and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    373
    111
    39
    22
See reviews for
283
297
83
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family and I stay at the Fiarfax every year over the Christmas Holidays when we are in town to visit my family. The Fairfax is a beautifully restored and mainatined classic hotel very conveniently located right by the Dupont Circle Metro station and walking distance to the KStreet Corridor. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Just beware that overnight valet parking is a steep $40 a night. there are plenty of casual restaurants, a Starbucks, a deli, and a liquor store all around the corner on P Street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. It is a pleasure welcoming you and your family to our hotel every year and we’re happy to read that you are completely impressed each and every time. Our convenient location certainly makes it easy to enjoy Washington, DC even more and we thank you for mentioning it in your review. We’re looking forward to seeing you again soon and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is very nice from the outside and the inside as many guests have pointed out is dated but that's what gives the hotel a historical feel. The check-in process could have been a little bit better as they seemed understaffed. Being that it was a Saturday at prime check-in time I let this pass. The room itself was very spacious which I will get to later on. There is a walk in closet, chair with ottoman, and a bedside mini sofa. All of the furnishings were kept to give the hotel a historical feel as I've heard it was recently renovated. Our room had the worst view which looked out to a brick wall and a truck docking station which looked like a scene from Law and Order SVU. This didn't bother us much since it gets dark at 5pm and it was raining. The closet had two umbrellas which was great being that it rained the entire time. The one issue I did have was how far away the TV was from the bed. I guess this is why they have a mini sofa by the end of the bed and another chair but call me old fashioned but I like to watch TV in bed before I sleep and after I wake up. The bed to the tv is about 15-20 feet away I would say. This hotel definitely has charm and I would love to return. The only thing I would change is during the check-in process I would ask for a nicer view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We do hope that the next time you come to stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, that the weather cooperates fully and allows you to explore the surrounding neighborhood and enjoy the outdoors. It would be our pleasure to assist you in finding the perfect room to suit your needs; please don’t hesitate to let us know your wishes when you arrive. Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay, along with certain areas where you feel we need improvement. We look forward to having you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I've wanted to stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, and took a chance on a recent DC business trip. You cannot beat its convenient location in the heart of Dupont Circle. In addition to the Metro, there are ample services and eating establishments within a five-minute walk. The surrounding neighborhoods - and their grand embassies and brownstones - are also fun to check out.

The hotel itself was much what I expected. It's a classic, older, eight-story building with clean but dated corridors. Check in was quick and efficient. My room, a Deluxe Suite with separate living area, bedroom, and bath, was very comfortable (though the furnishings are a bit stale in design...they are not historical) and had good wireless access and a well-appointed bed. Although desks are in both the living room and bedroom, neither were suitable for work.

Overall, I enjoyed my two nights and appreciated the opportunity to experience The Fairfax and the surrounding Dupont Circle neighborhood. However, with many other options in DC and the beltway, I might look into other Starwood properties for business travel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces Massachusetts Avenue; otherwise you're likely looking out into the all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We’re happy that you took advantage of an opportunity to come and stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. It’s great to learn that everything was as you expected and that you enjoyed a comfortable experience while here. We hope you will have a chance to visit us again and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,IL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The location is great. The front desk seemed overwhelmed and understaffed. With the holiday, the hotel was full to capacity. The check-in area is very small and one person at the desk was not enough with people in line waiting for a long time! Also, the front desk was fielding
all the phone calls coming in from the hotel so they kept getting interrupted. We never ever saw a person at the Concierge Desk. The rooms are very small. The rooms at the back are very dark and look right into windows of the other part of the hotel. Ask for a view of Mass. Ave. We did encounter a lot of noise with some young children running up and down the hallways slamming doors. Guess some parents let their kids run wild. We were moved to a quieter room which we did appreciate.
The staff does try very hard especially the doormen and housekeeping. They were very
pleasant. Children in the bar in their pajamas later in the evening was a bit off-putting as well.
We were on a get-away weekend so it was not what we had hoped.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
It is certainly disappointing to learn that your time spent with us was not as you had anticipated and we regret any difficulties you may have experienced. Your comments will be utilized as we refresh our commitment to customer satisfaction and the comfort of our guests. Thank you and it would be our hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel again for the exceptional stay that you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have lived in and travelled to DC for many years and were surprised to find this hotel fit our needs so well after trying so many others over the years. The hotel rooms are clean and well appointed with quality linens and comfortable beds and chairs. The bathroom was laid out well even though it was small with only a shower for bathing. There is an attention to material details and to service from staff that is pitch perfect without being overbearing. The manager of this hotel has set just the right tone to make it the place to which we will return again and again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We can’t thank you enough for your gracious comments regarding your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. It’s wonderful that you were able to experience the luxury of the personal service that our staff provides. It was certainly a pleasure to welcome you as guests in our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again when you visit Washington, DC again. Thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and will definitely come back next time we are in the area. The hotel is beautiful and located in a relatively quiet neighborhood with many restaurants, coffee shops, etc. nearby. It is convenient to both Georgetown as well as tourist attractions along the mall--a long walk or a short cab or metro ride will get you where you need to go. The restaurant in the hotel was good but over priced. However, every single person we encountered that was employed at this hotel gave us the most amazing service. Seriously, The Fairfax wrote the book on exceptional customer service!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It’s always great to hear when our guest’s experiences at The Fairfax at Embassy Row are a success and we will gladly share your compliments with our staff. We do apologize if you found our dining options a bit pricey, but are pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience as a whole. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and we thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.