We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World English Charm in the heart of DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #41 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Kitwe, Central, Zambia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Old World English Charm in the heart of DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Lovely and serene with the intimacy of a small hotel once you step out of the busy street, five minutes walk from DuPont Circle - lots of restaurant choices within walking distance. Staff is friendly and eager to lend a hand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
It’s always nice to hear that our staff helped to create an enjoyable experience for our guests and we appreciate you mentioning how helpful our convenient location was during your stay. Thank you for your kind review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row! We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    348
    102
    37
    20
See reviews for
254
270
77
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel is situated on a quiet corner in downtown DC. My stay was nice and the staff was friendly. The hotel restaurant was tasty as well. Though it's a big hotel, the setting is intimate. If you're looking for a more lively atmosphere, this isn't the hotel for you. With the Fairfax at Embassy Row, you'll get a lovely, clean, comfortable hotel room and courteous service in a quiet, homey environment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Having a comfortable place to rest and relax during a busy trip to Washington, DC is always important and we’re pleased that your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row provided you with just that. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another exceptional stay very soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were very comfortable here for our four night stay. Exceptional features include: very comfortable bed; windows that open; in-room refrigerator free of pesky mini-bottles and snacks; very helpful, pleasant staff; choice of daily newspaper; cozy bar with nice tucked away spots for private cocktails and conversation. The location I don't think could be better just steps from the Metro and dozens or shops and restaurants, not to mention museums and galleries. DuPont Circle is a friendly, central, and pleasant area of town to stay. My only criticism is that WiFi is an extra charge.

Room Tip: Rooms on inside courtyard/back of the hotel, face a service courtyard with not much daylight, noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
With our close proximity to the Metro and a plethora of exciting Dupont Circle attractions and eateries, guests at The Fairfax at Embassy Row can make the most out of their stays. We’re delighted to read that your experience was enjoyable and that the thoughtful amenities we provide made your stay even better. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Starwood and the Luxury Collection have really stepped up their game with this property. My stay was three nights right as the Cherry Blossoms were in full bloom. The new SPG iPhone app showed my room type (upgraded) three days before check-in...which was pretty great.

My praise:
- Was upgraded to a Deluxe Suite which was incredibly spacious, comfortable and functional---big bathroom, big desk, TVs in both rooms. Room was clean and well kept. Towels in the bathroom are super soft and huge.
- They use Remede toiletries which is the same as Starwood's most upscale brand (really awesome stuff). Get a couple of sets to take with you for use at other hotels.
- Staff is incredibly accommodating, professional and on-point. One morning I asked concierge for collar stays. None. Later that day he stopped me as they had gone to Brooks Bros to stock up.
- Old school charm (dark woods, florals) that I like every-so-often.
- Strong WiFi (although at a cost for everyone other than Platinum members)
- Great area of town - steps from Metro, tons of wonderful restaurants and a CVS.
- AC is strong and gets cold (for those of use who like that).
- I can see how light sleepers may have some trouble. Being in a major urban area, there's a lot of noise, but the windows could use re-sealing.

Areas of Improvement:
- Pillows are mega soft feather. If you really need a supportive foam pillow, bring it yourself (bc they don't have it).
- While I appreciate the "complimentary continental breakfast"...it's really underwhelming here. For $10 extra, you can get full breakfast which adds only watery eggs, potatoes and bacon sausage. Not worth it.
- Wine reception on Tues for Gold/Platinum members. They could really take this up several notches to make the frequent stayers feel at home.

One last piece of advice. Lock your hotel door when you're in your room. Specifically, know that they have a great turndown service. Let's say, maybe, you're taking a shower in your room and you've neglected to lock the door (and/or put up privacy sign). If you're in the shower, and you're startled by a noise in your room, you may step out of shower to check out said noise...and there may (just may) be a maid in the room turning down your bed. Oh my stars!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Your review has certainly made us smile and we appreciate you taking the time to share with everyone exactly the areas that made your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row so enjoyable. It is our goal to create the most memorable experiences for our guests and going the extra step to ensure their needs are met is our priority. We’re thrilled that you acknowledged the efforts of our staff. We also appreciate the fact that you alerted us to areas that need improvement and we will discuss with management the best ways for us to continue to elevate the experience for our guests. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another great stay and we thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and found that the hotel is in an excellent location. Close to Dupont Circle with lots of restaurants to choose from. The hotel room was quite large and the bathroom had a nice shower area. The bed was very comfortable. The a/c worked fine and was quiet. The staff were very pleasant and helpful with maps and directions. Free WiFi is not included. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
It certainly sounds like your visit to Washington, DC was made complete by your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, and that makes us very happy. We love hearing that every aspect of your stay was comfortable and accommodating and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were there for a wedding. Very nice room (expensive). Valet parking is $40 / day.

The only restaurant is the bar - menu is fairly limited. Food (dinner) was just OK - not prepared as described on the menu. Their restaurant is only open for breakfast

WiFi is also expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to point out the areas of your stay that you enjoyed, and also those that need our attention. The Fairfax Grille & Lounge has recently undergone some wonderful changes and has become our primary dining establishment within The Fairfax at Embassy Row, offering an extensive lunch and dinner menu to our guests. We do hope you enjoyed the wedding you attended and we appreciate your comments. Please come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Fantastic hotel in an excellent location. From the doorman to the front desk to the porter, they all make you feel like they've been waiting for you to come home. We've stayed here for years and the rooms are consistently of a good size, clean and with plenty of amenities. The lounge is a great setting for before (or after) dinner drinks by the fireplace and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We absolutely love hearing from our loyal patrons and are so appreciative of your kind and gracious comments for our staff. Knowing that each and every time you have stayed at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, you have been provided with an exceptional experience makes us very happy. Thank you for sharing your enjoyment and we can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.