We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #34 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and found that the hotel is in an excellent location. Close to Dupont Circle with lots of restaurants to choose from. The hotel room was quite large and the bathroom had a nice shower area. The bed was very comfortable. The a/c worked fine and was quiet. The staff were very pleasant and helpful with maps and directions. Free WiFi is not included. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
It certainly sounds like your visit to Washington, DC was made complete by your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, and that makes us very happy. We love hearing that every aspect of your stay was comfortable and accommodating and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    304
    87
    35
    18
See reviews for
227
244
68
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were there for a wedding. Very nice room (expensive). Valet parking is $40 / day.

The only restaurant is the bar - menu is fairly limited. Food (dinner) was just OK - not prepared as described on the menu. Their restaurant is only open for breakfast

WiFi is also expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to point out the areas of your stay that you enjoyed, and also those that need our attention. The Fairfax Grille & Lounge has recently undergone some wonderful changes and has become our primary dining establishment within The Fairfax at Embassy Row, offering an extensive lunch and dinner menu to our guests. We do hope you enjoyed the wedding you attended and we appreciate your comments. Please come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Fantastic hotel in an excellent location. From the doorman to the front desk to the porter, they all make you feel like they've been waiting for you to come home. We've stayed here for years and the rooms are consistently of a good size, clean and with plenty of amenities. The lounge is a great setting for before (or after) dinner drinks by the fireplace and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We absolutely love hearing from our loyal patrons and are so appreciative of your kind and gracious comments for our staff. Knowing that each and every time you have stayed at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, you have been provided with an exceptional experience makes us very happy. Thank you for sharing your enjoyment and we can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Wesley Tan was extremely helpful and professional. I was traveling with our County Executive and Assistant Director and Wesley helped to assure that everything went smoothly including check in. We had an early flight and Wesley cleared the way for an early check in.

On the other hand, Idelia, the bartender over charged us for drinks on our last day. One of us ordered a vodka by name (ketel one), but Idelia charged us the same price for well drinks. Maybe it's a language barrier, but we were charged $11.00 per drink for all. It's a beeautiful bar, but that was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Some of the king rooms are small, stick with a deluxe double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
It’s always wonderful to hear that our staff goes above and beyond to create a memorable stay for our guests and your kind acknowledgement of their efforts will be our pleasure to share with them. We do regret that your experience in our lounge did not parallel with the rest of your stay and we will look into what may have created any confusion. Thank you for your kind review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we look forward to having you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were here for a wedding. Being big fans of Starwood, we have to say this hotel was the best of both worlds -- local/boutique feel while also maintaining Starwood standards.

Location - great!

Rooms - small but very adequate and nicely appointed

Service - good

Ballrooms - very nice

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
It’s always wonderful to hear from our loyal Starwood patrons and learn that we have provided them with a stay that exceeded their expectations. At The Fairfax at Embassy Row, we work very hard to ensure that each of our guests leave feeling well rested and refreshed and we hope that you were able to fully enjoy the celebration you attended. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Staff is in total- doorman to front desk to concierge- really incredible. Late night, early morning, anytime. Concierge not only makes great recommendations (told me about Kramerbooks cafe with my late arrival- read separate review- WOW). Then he wanted to know if it was good. Quick check in, check out. Quiet rooms- ask for higher floors. Ideal? window on Massachusetts Ave.
Looking forward to next visit. They will "welcome back". Tried exercise room for first time which was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are so happy to learn that at all times during your stay with us, you were fully impressed by our staff, particularly our Concierge, and we are pleased that you shared how much their efforts made your experience memorable. The convenient location of The Fairfax at Embassy Row ensures that our guests can make the most out of their time in Washington, DC and we appreciate you mentioning it. Please come and stay with us again soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

When I walked into this hotel with an unassuming entrance foyer, I must say that my expectations were not excessive. Starwood properties are generally nice, and provide a nice "floor" for quality standards. To be perfectly honest I was a bit put off by the more dated elements of the hotel. The pictures that I saw led me to assume that there might be some wear&tear.

The hotel was simply gorgeous and classy. There was a wonderful-sounding grand piano, and there were lounge areas within the first floor beyond the small lobby.

What makes this a luxury hotel? The staff. My party received outstanding service from Katie, who was the night manager at the hotel. We came in with a million questions, and she was able to help with every single issue without breaking a sweat. This level of customer service permeated through other staff, from valet who worked relentlessly in the DC heat, to the front desk greeters who kindly remembered my name and our last conversations.

The room itself was a step above. Supremely comfortable bed, large bathroom with a thermometer gauge for the water temperature (a first), and even a robe to change into. The location of the hotel was great - close to Dupont Circle, but that extra block away means it's quiet and unassuming. Highly recommended hotel and staff.

Room Tip: I'd recommend having a conversation with the staff about what type of room best suits your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Our staff genuinely enjoys interacting with our guests and providing them with stellar service each and every time and we’re pleased that your experience included that from start to finish. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our luxurious amenities like our Frette robes and Signature beds and we appreciate the time to took to share your comments. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another great stay very soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Amex, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.