We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - services are lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early and Save
Ranked #35 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Montville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - services are lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were there for a wedding. Very nice room (expensive). Valet parking is $40 / day.

The only restaurant is the bar - menu is fairly limited. Food (dinner) was just OK - not prepared as described on the menu. Their restaurant is only open for breakfast

WiFi is also expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to point out the areas of your stay that you enjoyed, and also those that need our attention. The Fairfax Grille & Lounge has recently undergone some wonderful changes and has become our primary dining establishment within The Fairfax at Embassy Row, offering an extensive lunch and dinner menu to our guests. We do hope you enjoyed the wedding you attended and we appreciate your comments. Please come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    381
    113
    41
    24
See reviews for
287
307
83
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Fantastic hotel in an excellent location. From the doorman to the front desk to the porter, they all make you feel like they've been waiting for you to come home. We've stayed here for years and the rooms are consistently of a good size, clean and with plenty of amenities. The lounge is a great setting for before (or after) dinner drinks by the fireplace and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We absolutely love hearing from our loyal patrons and are so appreciative of your kind and gracious comments for our staff. Knowing that each and every time you have stayed at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, you have been provided with an exceptional experience makes us very happy. Thank you for sharing your enjoyment and we can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Wesley Tan was extremely helpful and professional. I was traveling with our County Executive and Assistant Director and Wesley helped to assure that everything went smoothly including check in. We had an early flight and Wesley cleared the way for an early check in.

On the other hand, Idelia, the bartender over charged us for drinks on our last day. One of us ordered a vodka by name (ketel one), but Idelia charged us the same price for well drinks. Maybe it's a language barrier, but we were charged $11.00 per drink for all. It's a beeautiful bar, but that was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Some of the king rooms are small, stick with a deluxe double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
It’s always wonderful to hear that our staff goes above and beyond to create a memorable stay for our guests and your kind acknowledgement of their efforts will be our pleasure to share with them. We do regret that your experience in our lounge did not parallel with the rest of your stay and we will look into what may have created any confusion. Thank you for your kind review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we look forward to having you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were here for a wedding. Being big fans of Starwood, we have to say this hotel was the best of both worlds -- local/boutique feel while also maintaining Starwood standards.

Location - great!

Rooms - small but very adequate and nicely appointed

Service - good

Ballrooms - very nice

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
It’s always wonderful to hear from our loyal Starwood patrons and learn that we have provided them with a stay that exceeded their expectations. At The Fairfax at Embassy Row, we work very hard to ensure that each of our guests leave feeling well rested and refreshed and we hope that you were able to fully enjoy the celebration you attended. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Staff is in total- doorman to front desk to concierge- really incredible. Late night, early morning, anytime. Concierge not only makes great recommendations (told me about Kramerbooks cafe with my late arrival- read separate review- WOW). Then he wanted to know if it was good. Quick check in, check out. Quiet rooms- ask for higher floors. Ideal? window on Massachusetts Ave.
Looking forward to next visit. They will "welcome back". Tried exercise room for first time which was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are so happy to learn that at all times during your stay with us, you were fully impressed by our staff, particularly our Concierge, and we are pleased that you shared how much their efforts made your experience memorable. The convenient location of The Fairfax at Embassy Row ensures that our guests can make the most out of their time in Washington, DC and we appreciate you mentioning it. Please come and stay with us again soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

When I walked into this hotel with an unassuming entrance foyer, I must say that my expectations were not excessive. Starwood properties are generally nice, and provide a nice "floor" for quality standards. To be perfectly honest I was a bit put off by the more dated elements of the hotel. The pictures that I saw led me to assume that there might be some wear&tear.

The hotel was simply gorgeous and classy. There was a wonderful-sounding grand piano, and there were lounge areas within the first floor beyond the small lobby.

What makes this a luxury hotel? The staff. My party received outstanding service from Katie, who was the night manager at the hotel. We came in with a million questions, and she was able to help with every single issue without breaking a sweat. This level of customer service permeated through other staff, from valet who worked relentlessly in the DC heat, to the front desk greeters who kindly remembered my name and our last conversations.

The room itself was a step above. Supremely comfortable bed, large bathroom with a thermometer gauge for the water temperature (a first), and even a robe to change into. The location of the hotel was great - close to Dupont Circle, but that extra block away means it's quiet and unassuming. Highly recommended hotel and staff.

Room Tip: I'd recommend having a conversation with the staff about what type of room best suits your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Our staff genuinely enjoys interacting with our guests and providing them with stellar service each and every time and we’re pleased that your experience included that from start to finish. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our luxurious amenities like our Frette robes and Signature beds and we appreciate the time to took to share your comments. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another great stay very soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

When I say "surprisingly," I mean that in the old days in Washington, this was one worn out hotel! I lived in DC for many years and, trust me, this was a dowager of a hotel, known for it's history (lots of famous political types lived here when it was mainly apartments "back in the day" and lots more used to frequent its restaurant) but as a hotel it was long of tooth. I stayed here once several years ago when I believe it was a Westin and it clearly had become a block booking, meeting type of place. This past week, I stayed here because the Jefferson was full, and I was looking for something in the neighborhood and thought, "why not?" since Starwood seemed to have upped it to more luxurious status (plus I found a great rate online.) I was genuine surprised at how nice the room was, how large it was, how clean and decently appointed. Staff was friendly and thoughtful. On the negative side, the damn Wi-Fi charges which always set me off, but I knew it when I booked. Business center charges were also a bit off-the-charts, especially printing. And the bar scene was disappointing. Cube dwellers from flyover states in town for a meeting. But on the whole, a pleasant surprise. No, it's not the Jefferson, but you could do a lot worse plus it has a lot more rooms to fill, so you're more likely to find some decent deals online.

Room Tip: It's a typical old building and the rooms are all different. My first one was large and beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we appreciate your kind compliments regarding the improvements and upgrades that have made our hotel an exceptional place to stay. We’re thrilled that we were able to impress you and create an experience that was memorable. We would consider it a privilege to welcome you back for another great stay and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.