We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #44 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good in parts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Decent, smallish hotel in excellent location, though not does not meet international standards of “luxury”. My room was 828.
Pros;
1) Outstanding location near Dupont Circle and metro
2
) Staff who appear genuinely friendly and helpful
3) Rooms that are clean and well maintained albeit a little small (mine was about 10x15 excluding bathroom and hall)
4) Comfortable beds with nice linens
5) Good selection of soaps and of toiletries for hair and body that are replenished daily.

Cons:
1) Lobby is essentially a hallway; only two small chairs immediately in front of one bank of elevators- not good place for meeting/socializing
2) Breakfast buffet extremely expensive
3) Shower but no bath in some rooms including mine
4) Hot water temperature dangerously high – at a level where severe scalding with minimum exposure would occur and no temperature guide on shower mixer unit or safe detent position. This is a catastrophe waiting to happen for a child or an elderly person.
5) Internet exorbitant – and have to pay per device. While internet is nominally “free in public areas”, unless you want to sit in the restaurant or squat in the entrance lobby (see #1 above) few such public places are available . A luxury hotel should at least meet the standards of a budget motel chain by providing basic level WiFi in the rooms. By all means charge for high-speed access, but basic connectivity should be treated the same way as a television, sheets, towels and toilet paper and included in the room rate. Perhaps the high internet fees cover the insurance for concern #5
6) Each room contains its own air conditioner unit. Mine was in a ventilated cupboard about 1 foot from the head of the bed. Both compressor start up (KERCLUNK ) and shut down (KERHISSSSSSS) were extremely noisy and when the unit was running there was a constant 120 cycle hum that had me dreaming of giant mosquitos until I was again woken by the compressor turning off. This is not a fault in the compressor, but a flaw in the room design. These units should not be in ventilated cupboards next to a guest’s head.

So, if you bring sleeping pills, a collapsible chair for the lobby and a wireless data plan for your computer, and if you also take care using the hot water, you can safely enjoy the many other genuine benefits this hotel has to offer and turn it into a 4 star experience

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
It disappoints us to hear that your recent stay with us was not reflective of the luxury experience we hope for each of our guests. Our Maintenance Engineers will promptly look into the issues you mentioned with the A/C unit and also the water temp in your room, and we thank you for alerting us to these potential problems. We love receiving suggestions from our guests and we will be sure to share your comments with our Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    277
    77
    31
    16
See reviews for
195
206
60
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you like charming old hotels, this is the place for you!

We enjoyed our room. Enjoyed our stay. Enjoyed the friendly service -- the staff was obviously well trained and seemed friendly without being phony.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in the area. To top it off we got a nice weekend rate making it a great value.

The ONLY reason I can't go "five dots" is the size of the bathroom. If you're alone -- no problem. And my wife and I actually like each other... so no problem. But it was a really small bathroom. Think "closet-sized bathroom." Nice, neat and clean. But small.

Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We’re excited to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, and we have to say your review made us chuckle just a bit. Your recommendation to others is sincerely appreciated. During any future stays, it would be our pleasure to assist you in finding the perfect room to suit your needs as we have a variety of differently sized rooms. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to having you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wonderful hotel located close to Dupont Circle Metro. Staff was very helpful and service was excellent. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Only complaint was the small refriferator did not keep drinks very cold. Would absolutley stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We’re so happy to hear that our convenient location worked out so well for you during your stay in Washington, DC. We do apologize for any issues you may have had with the in-room refrigerator and we will have our Maintenance Engineers take a look to see what the problem may be. We’d love to have you come back and stay with us again at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Capitol City is like no other to experience national pride and to witness the numbers of tourists and people in DC for business which creates a range of choices for hotels.

My husband was attending a conference held at the Fairfax Embassy Row which is in the Historic DuPont area next to beautiful diplomatic homes from around the world. The hotel seems focused on business clients rather than tourists -- yet is near a residential area chock full of restaurants, shops, banks, young people, etc.

It has a small but lovely lobby area, a nice restaurant that serves a good quality buffet breakfast @ $30, a credible fitness center, and cozy bar area. Our King Standard faced Mass ave and was spacious enough for my husband who is a "spreader." Though the bathroom was on the small side, the lighting was good and the water pressure excellent. They have Frette towels and quality personal amenities. The bed was comfortable but the down pillows too large for me so i requested a standard size. Decor is traditional and tastefully done and in keeping with the period architecture.

The high points were the excellent staff who seemed to genuinely love their jobs. This was evident in the doormen, housekeeping, food servers and front desk professionals. Quantina, Biji, Samina and Peter are names that come to mind though there were so many others. Everyone was helpful.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in DC.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your kind review and thank you first, for staying with us and second, for sharing how much you enjoyed our dedicated staff, luxurious amenities and beautiful, historic location. It is with great enthusiasm that we cater to each and every one of our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel has gone through many changes of orientation and management over the years before acquiring the Luxury Collection icon. In fact it seems to be undergoing some one more transition at present. The bottom line for now s a good hotel, perfectly located for business, restaurants, services. You certainly get good value for the money (especially if you have a corporate rate or some similar arrangement), but its better to moderate your expectations somewhat on Luxury, especially if you are beholden to a European yardstick for luxury. Rooms tend to be nice, convenient and spotlessly clean, fitness center good, bar and restaurant OK, and other services fine. It presents a far superior to many of its competitors in town thanks to its compact size and generally efficient services,

Room Tip: being an SPG Bremen does yield benefits at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and for mentioning how advantageous being an SPG Member can be. It sounds as if you had the opportunity to take advantage of many of the amenities that make our hotel so wonderful and we’re pleased that you noticed our efforts to continually improve the experience for every one of our guests. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is comfortable, clean with lovely service. This is in an historic building and the rooms are understandably small. The location was convenient to both Georgetown as well as the key DC tourist sights (though we did a good deal of walking). Good value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
How great is it to hear that you were able to enjoy so many of the amazing attractions that make Washington, DC an outstanding place to visit; all while staying at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We appreciate you letting us know that your stay was comfortable and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is in a great location with easy access to most of Washington. The rooms are comfortable and while big they do not feel oversized. Service and cleanliness is perfect.
Two small gripes: If you are on a low floor you might be woken up by the street or the loading dock noise in the morning. Also the coffee and coffee maker in the room is kind of disappointing.

Room Tip: Try to get at least on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for writing this kind review. We’re glad you enjoyed all that we have to offer and appreciated our convenient location and comfortable accommodations. We do apologize that certain amenities did not meet your expectations and hope that these inconveniences did not detract from your stay overall. We hope to welcome you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row for the exceptional stay that you deserve and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel
Westin Washington Dc
The Fairfax
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row
Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.