We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super staff but uninspiring decor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com LuxuryCollection
and 11 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #42 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Super staff but uninspiring decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Surprisingly this hotel is in SPG's "luxury" category- which , from the décor I wouldn’t say it was.
That said, I have more positive to say about the hotel than detracting.

Myself and fiance stayed here for 4 days, 3 nights in June.

Let me start with the positives: GREAT location such much to do and see in the Dupont circle area which is an amazing place for dining options. GREAT staff.

The reception staff was efficient and genuinely warm and courteous. We had our room keys in less than 3 minutes I think. The bell staff was always ready with a smile and umbrella when the weather got tricky. Transport was quick and easy to come by.

The gym is fairly good if not a little tight with only one small area with weights leaving the rest of the footage to cardio machines mostly. We used this 3 times in 4 days and it was always clean, with cold towels, and stocked water.

Room service was pretty prompt, though on our first night they did not have the wine we ordered they brought a better comp without charging. The soup was forgotten, and this was brought promptly with no charge.
The quality of the food was very good.
Other calls to the guest services were also promptly attended to and with a smile. We felt very welcome. The do-not disturb sign was taken seriously and our room was quite and far from the elevator.
The property has stairs that can be used to go from floor to floor which I like, because I dislike waiting for an elevator.

The overall décor of the place is moody/brash with poor lighting in the rooms and dingy carpet. Bathroom was cramped for two people and we were staying in a suite.

So overall, while we enjoyed the location and the staff, the room itself was not one we wanted to lounge around in when the weather was bad, ie, not cheerful or romantic.

If you got a good price and the local is more important to you than décor, this is a good stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We can appreciate that classic and traditional style may not be for everyone, but we appreciate your opinions regarding the decor of our hotel. It was our pleasure at The Fairfax at Embassy row to have been able to make your stay enjoyable and we thank you for mentioning our dedicated staff and convenient location. We hope we can look forward to welcoming you both back for the exceptional stay that you anticipate from a Starwood property and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    277
    77
    31
    16
See reviews for
195
207
60
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with a great staff. You can find excellent and accessible rates and get 5 star service. The location can't be better. You find restaurants, museums, and all there is to see in washington at a very close distance.
The staff is always willing to help and want to recognize the quality of service of Roy at the front desk.
In summary this hotel is very accessible, is a 5 star hotel and you can find very good offers and stay at this quality room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city view. Room 542 is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
It’s always wonderful to hear how much of an impact the staff at The Fairfax at Embassy Row has on our guests’ stays and we will be sure to share your comments with them and with the employee you specifically mentioned. We’re so happy that your experience exceeded your needs and we look forward to providing you with enjoyable stays in the future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I just returned home from a week stay in Washington D.C. I spent the first few nights at the Fairfax Hotel, due to not being able to find a hotel room near my son's dorm at George Washington University and the National Mall, due to the 4th of July. I'd read about the Fairfax and obtained a great deal, so decided to head to Dupont Circle for a few days. We were treated like royalty the minute we walked in the door at the hotel. My luggage was delayed upon my arrival at DCA and when it finally arrived at 2:45 a.m., a sweet, older gentleman who works at the hotel delivered it to my room. Everyone at the front desk AND front door knew about my missing luggage and were so concerned for me. The room was absolutely beautiful and I've stayed at many nice places over the years. We loved the FREE bottled water in the room each day and the chocolate left by the bed each night at turndown. The bathroom was beautiful and I loved all the extra towels. The bath products were very nice. The bathroom had a scale, hairdryer, lighted make-up mirror and even a temperature control for the bathtub/shower We had room service for breakfast one morning and it was a beautiful presentation. Everyone from the doormen, housekeepers, front-desk staff, and restaurant staff were very gracious. The Metro is a block away and the RED line is great. There are some neat stores and restaurants in the area. My only regret was having to leave the hotel to move to a hotel closer to my son's dorm at GWU. We talked about wishing we could be back at the Fairfax the rest of our vacation!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
What a lovely description of just what we want all of our guests to experience! Thank you for taking the time to share with us how much The Fairfax at Embassy Row and its staff made your visit to Washington, DC memorable. It was a pleasure to welcome you as a guest at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here for 6 months while working in DC. The hotel is an excellent business hotel and popular with diplomats who work in the area -- the hotel is located just next door to the Indonesian embassy.

I have rated this hotel 5 stars primarily because of its service. As someone who stays in hotels all the time (especially SPG ones), the one thing I get tired of the most is being treated as a commodity instead of an individual -- especially when I visit every week. The Fairfax staff was what made the difference for me, from the folks behind the front desk to the housekeeper who cleaned my room. I was really thankful they put the extra effort into taking care of me while I was away from home. In particular, Waqas was truly welcoming -- he knew my name by my second stay and never forgot it.

Other things great about this hotel:
- Location: the property is conveniently located just a block or so from Dupont Circle. Not the best place for food (restaurants are only so-so nearby), but I would recommend Shop House, which is fast and delicious
- Rooms: a tad ornate, but I like the bed a lot. TVs are also relatively new and very nice.
- Size: this is a relatively small hotel, so you never have to wait too long to check-in or for the elevator


Things that could be better (i.e. me nitpicking):
- Bathroom amenities: smell a bit too medicinal for my taste
- Gym: solid, but small and nothing to write home about

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
It is such a pleasure to hear from our extended stay guests. We often times only get to see our guests for a very short period of time, but when we have the opportunity to forge a lasting friendship with our guests, we are truly grateful. Thank you for taking the time to share your story of your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. It was certainly our pleasure to have you with us for so long and we’re pleased that our staff made such a positive impact on you. We’re awaiting your next visit with us and we thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratton Mountain, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We just held our family gathering at the Fairfax on Embassy Row. It was our first stay at this property chosen because of its location and reputation. The hotel and staff lived up to their reputation and more, it was a great experience for our entire family.

Special mention for the extraordinary efforts of the Fairfax`s Front Desk Manager, Mr. Ertug Ersoy, and his wonderful staff, that went out of their way to accommodate our group and provide a level of service you would expect at a high end European luxury hotel including luxury linens that lull you to a deep sleep, fine appointments in the room and throughout the hotel, surprisingly great food at the restaurant and at lounge where you will find well priced appetizers to full meals. The Fairfax is our new destination hotel when in Washington.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Providing a comfortable atmosphere and accommodations for your family to gather at was our pleasure and we’re delighted that your entire experience was so enjoyable. We appreciate your kind words for our staff; we will be sure to pass them along. It would be our privilege to welcome you and your family back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row in the future and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Part of the Starwood collection, comfortable, well priced. The absolute best reason to choose the Fairfax is its terrific location. DuPont Circle, the Phillips Collection, Kramer Books, Blocks and blocks of stunning homes and Embassies from all over the world. It's close to the subway, and all the major sights. Oh, and a block away from great restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
The centric location of The Fairfax at Embassy Row makes exploring Washington, DC almost seamless and it sounds like you were able to spend some quality time taking in all the sights. Thank you for sharing your appreciation for our hotel and its location and we look forward to having you stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in June (actually our third stay). We keep coming back because the rooms are so spacious for the price. We had a deluxe suite for mine $50 more than a regular room at most hotels. With two boys, space is always our primary need. Our suite had two sofabeds, a table for four and lots of room to move around (or play w/ trucks). We also love the classic decor of hotels like the Fairfax...give us that over the modern stuff any day!

We frequently stay at Omni hotels, and the Fairfax is similar in its style and especially service and friendliness. Front desk and door staff make you feel so welcome and like you are a guest, not a customer.

Neighborhood is also a plus...lots of great food options and services. We get to DC a couple times a year, and the Fairfax will definitely be where we return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
What a wonderful compliment to learn that will be returning to The Fairfax at Embassy Row each time you visit Washington, DC. It’s amazing to hear when a guest appreciates the history and elegance of our hotel and we’re thrilled that our spacious suite provided enough room for your family to fully relax. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel
Westin Washington Dc
The Fairfax
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row
Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.