We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #34 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superior stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Top drawer hotel. Lovely rooms and superior staff!! Yummy food .. Best ever! Was there for a long wedding weekend. Super helpful concierge for tickets to trolley and events!! Close to some fun casual eateries. I can't say enough about how wonderful this hotel is. There is a gym on the second floor for those who need to work out while vacationing!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We’re grateful that you’ve shared not only your appreciation of The Fairfax at Embassy Row but also gave great tips to other guests. The convenient location of our hotel can make for a really wonderful visit to Washington, DC and we’re glad to see you enjoyed yourself while here. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    307
    87
    35
    18
See reviews for
230
245
69
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We plugged 2 cell phones into 2 different chargers. Once charged, we removed our phones and went out. Upon our return, after the room had been serviced, only 1 cord remained! When the management looked into the problem, they determined that the housekeeping staff knew nothing about it - big surprise!!! No further explanation was offered and no remuneration. We were allowed to pick through the lost and found for a substitute charging cord!
I would never knowingly stay at a hotel, no matter how nice, if my belongings are not secure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My daughters and I just spent two nights at the Fairfax. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel and staff. The room was exceptionally spacious, spotless and comfortable. The hotel itself was nestled in a quiet neighborhood (Embassy Row) within quick walking distance to the subway, restaurants and stores. Make sure to eat at the DC Cafe, which is only a block from the hotel ~ excellent food and service and reasonably priced. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
It was certainly our pleasure to welcome you and your family to The Fairfax at Embassy Row. It sounds like you had a wonderful time taking in all the sights and wonderful eateries that surround our hotel and we appreciate that you mentioned our convenient location. Thank you for sharing your enjoyable experience with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have stayed in numerous hotels during law enforcement memorial week in DC and this hotel tops them all! After a slight mix up on rooms (which the staff handled with no problems) we had a great 3 day stay. Rooms are very nice, staff was very professional and the hotel itself sits on quite embassy row away from all the traffic. Only a block and half away from the redline which drops you at judiciary square. I will stay at this hotel again next year!
Only 1 thing.......soda machine! No stores close and only the ice machine in the hallway. :(

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
It’s always great to hear that our staff was able to make a troublesome situation into a more enjoyable one. We’re thrilled to hear that our centric location provided you with the perfect spot to enjoy such a special week in Washington, DC and we look forward to seeing you next year! For future stays, there is a convenience store very closely located to our hotel on Dupont Circle and our Concierge would be happy to help direct you to any other locations you may need. We do appreciate your suggestion and thank you for your review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed her for almost a week and found the location to be close to restaurants and the metro station. The hotel itself is a bit dated and the platinum perks are a bit antiquated. There is no club level room or free drink perks ect offered at check in for SPG Platinum members. A regular upgraded room is just slightly bigger than a regular room. I requested a better room after the third night stay and was upgraded to a Jr. suite. The suite had a separate living room but a single vanity. The wifi is free and there is a self catering business center. The Concierge is very knowledgeable and friendly. In fact, so is the rest of the staff that we encountered. This hotel stay didn't really remind me of other luxury collection I have stayed at overseas but I understand that the expectations are a bit different in the USA. Overall it was a moderately priced hotel for DC and I enjoyed my stay. The beds are fantastic and you will sleep like a champ.

Room Tip: Make sure to get the best upgrade possible for more room and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just got back from our first trip to DC and the entire family loved staying at the Fairfax. I was concerned that the younger kids might not fit in at what seemed like a more business oriented hotel but, that wasn't the case at all. The rooms were great and the beds extremely comfortable. It was the customer service though that made the experience. Every employee that we interacted with made us all feel special. The concierge we worked with the most....Quatina....really stood out though for truly exceptional service. She helped us plan every detail, recommended perfect restaurants and helped us navigate around the city on the Metro. This hotel might cost a bit more than another you are considering but if you value customer service...and need the help of the Concierge.....the Fairfax is worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We love families at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we’re very pleased that you and yours had such a memorable experience while here. Thank you for taking the time to specifically mention members of our dedicated staff that impressed you with their service. We appreciate your gracious review and look forward to welcoming all of you back for another exceptional stay very soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Really enjoyed our visit at this hotel. Ideally located at Dupont Circle, a couple of blocks from the Metro and also close to the share bikes. We found plenty of resturants nearby -- need to try Larry's Ice Cream. The room was spacious and clean, very nice shower with a temperature gauge.
Very comfortable bed -- firm not saggy like most hotel beds.

The front desk staff and the concierge were very helpful and friendly. Will visit here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
What a wonderful compliment it is to learn that you will stay with us again at The Fairfax at Embassy Row on your next visit to the area. It sounds like you had a wonderful time taking in all the sights and were able to return and get a comfortable night’s rest in our Signature Bed. Thank you for your kind compliment for our staff and we can’t wait to welcome you back in the future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.