We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent solid hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #41 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent solid hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed for the first time at the Fairfax, it is discrete, elegant and low to no fuss hotel. Competent staff with comfortable, clean well appointed rooms in a great location. DC can be a hard place to find a decent hide away. A good bar, good restaurant - somewhat unimaginative breakfast (but Fine).

All in all - recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind recommendation of The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We’re very pleased to learn that your stay was restful and provided you with just what you needed for a relaxing stay in Washington, DC. We’re pleased to see you appreciated the elegance of our hotel and look forward to having you stay with us again very soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    347
    102
    37
    20
See reviews for
253
270
77
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Beautiful old hotel with great service and a great location. Classic DC. The restaurant, 2100 Prime, was incredible!! One of the most unforgettable meals I've ever had - anywhere - and well worth the price. And, again, the best service. They really make you feel special from the moment you walk in. Can't wait to go back someday. Nice little Sunday farmer's market within walking distance as well as one of my favorite breakfast places. Close to Dupont Circle. Perfect place to stay. Can only imagine how amazing a wedding there would be as they have a separate entrance for that part of the hotel where the ballroom is located.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Your kind comments are certainly appreciated and we love hearing that your meal at 2100 Prime was outstanding. The staff at The Fairfax at Embassy Row makes it their top priority to ensure that each and every guest’s needs are taken care of and we thank you for your kind acknowledgement of their efforts. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another great stay in the future and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I just returned from a business trip in Washington, where I spent 4 nights at the Fairfax. This is an overall good hotel, with good service in a great location. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, although the bathrooms are a little dated and could use a little reburbishing. The restaurant is pleasant enough,,and breakfast was OK. The staff really makes the difference, and were all superb. The concierge managed to resolve a huge problem I had with luggage, and she did so with great expertise, efficiency and with a beautiful smile to boot! Special thanks go out to her. The location of the hotel couldn't be' better. Just a few minutes away from Dupont Circle, and close to many embassies. also just a short cab ride to many of the city's main attractions. The Fairfax is definitely a competitive hotel in its category, comes at a fair price and I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are so happy to read that your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row was an integral part of your enjoyable business trip to Washington, DC. Your kind comments for our staff are sincerely appreciated and it would be our pleasure to share them with everyone. Please don’t hesitate to ask for assistance from any of our Concierge professionals in the future; we thank you for your lovely review. We can’t wait to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Recently stayed one night on business. Easy trip by Metro from Reagan to the Fairfax. Despite a very early arrival, my room was available, and all staff were extremely helpful. Room was very comfortable. I'd probably have gone to excellent had I had the chance to use more of the facilities/amenities. For example, I didn't have the chance to try the restaurant or bar. All that said, I felt I received full value for my money, and would stay at the Fairfax again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Your review has certainly made us smile! It’s always wonderful to hear how a guest appreciates the attentive service our staff provides and your thoughtful acknowledgement is truly appreciated. We hope that during your next stay with us that you will have the opportunity to indulge in a meal at 2100 Prime, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon to The Fairfax at Embassy Row. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have stayed at this property before and were delighted with the service. This stay was not the same. We did not have hot water for a shower one morning. It would have been nice if they would have given us some time frame for when it might be corrected but they did not. That same day, we were gone from morning until after 8 pm and we came back to a room that had never been made up. The location of the hotel is great but I would certainly be reluctant to stay again when there are so many excellent hotels in DC.

Room Tip: You have to pay extra for a deluxe room or suite to get more than a tiny space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
It is very clear from your review that we missed several opportunities to provide you with the experience you have come to expect from us. You are correct; Washington, DC does have a large selection of excellent hotels, which is why we strive to enhance our guests experience at every turn, making their stays personalized and not cookie-cutter. We do apologize for any inconveniences you encountered and will have our Maintenance Engineers look into what may have been the problem concerning the hot water. We hope you will still consider staying with us if you are ever in the area again. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Staff were very helpful at all times. The hotel is very nice and clean. Centrally located and a metro stop just up the road. Rooms had a nice decor and the beds were comfy. wi-fi was available for free in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are delighted to learn that your entire stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row; from your comfortable accommodations to our helpful staff, was enjoyable and we thank you for your great review. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband (on many occasions) has stayed at this wonderful hotel. I have had the luxury on occasion to accompany him. Everyone from the bell staff to the hotel manager are top notch. The housekeepers are particularly pleasant. The bar is a favorite of ours! Last, the concierge, especially Peter! Provided us with exceptional breakfast, lunch and dinner options. This hotel is in a beautiful neighborhood and a sure treat for a wash dc newcomer..

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are so glad that you were able to accompany your husband on his recent trip! It’s delightful to hear that our attentive staff, particularly our Concierge, helped to create a memorable stay for both of you. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we look forward to greeting you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.