We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #32 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Staff and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The location of the Fairfax is ideal. Dupont Circle and its environs is lovely and using the Red Line most of the tourist locations are quickly accessible. During my two night stay, I was most impressed by the staff. Every person greeted me kindly, professionally and with enthusiasm to make my stay as comfortable as possible. The room I had was very well appointed, it had everything I could need and felt large and spacious. The bed was really very comfortable.

Some of the details left me disappointed, most notably was that there is a wifi charge per day per device. In addition, the door to the room did not quite meet the floor so there was a bit of noise from the hall that drifted into my room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are truly grateful that you’ve shared your experience at The Fairfax at Embassy Row with us and in particular your gracious compliments for our staff. Please accept our apologies for any noise disturbances you encountered during your stay and we will be sure to inspect the condition of the door of your room promptly and make any needed repairs. Our Internet charges are comparable with many other establishments in the area that offer the same service, and we do appreciate you letting us know your opinion on the matter. We look forward to having you stay with us again and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    324
    96
    35
    18
See reviews for
240
260
76
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A tired old building , a small footprint, with aging finish and fixtures.

A favourite of nearby by embassies to house folks in town from abroad for a short time, expect chaos at the front desk and diplomats and their young female admirers in the bar.

The building is expensive, clearly was once quite grand, but now has a funny smell faded carpets and stained, worn furniture. The amities in the bathrooms were very nice. Towels and linens very high quality.

This is by no means a dive, just vastly overpriced and resting on laurels decades past due.

Room Tip: in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
While we’re pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, we’re truly disappointed that many areas were not as you had anticipated. It is our goal to create the perfect environment for our guests; one where they can relax and enjoy the area or even have an ideal place for business meetings. We do appreciate you sharing your perspective and hope that during any future stays we can regain your confidence in our hotel. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The Fairfax might once have been a great hotel and with investment from Starwood it could be again, but for now it is second-rate and living off its name.

First the positives:
- Great location, by Dupont Circle, walking distance to lots of useful and interesting places and right by the metro
- Very comfortable beds and good blackout blinds
- Decent-sized room (following advice from people on TripAdvisor that standard 'Superior' rooms were tiny, I paid extra for a larger 'Grand Deluxe' room)
- Helpful door staff
- Reasonably priced *were it really a 5-star* (but overpriced for the 3.5 star hotel it really is)

Now the many negatives:
- Shamefully poor breakfast buffet, worthy of a 2-star hotel, with very limited choice, poor quality food and only one espresso coffee included in the (high) price of $24 + tax + service, ie, around $30 (the waiter filled in the tip himself before giving me the bill!)
- Poor shower: weak water pressure, cheap shower curtain, no shower gel (only soap) in the amenities
- Cramped bathroom that could do with modernising
- Erratic and noisy air conditioning
- $12.95 + tax (ie, $13.73) a day for wifi for one device
- Cheap coffee machine in the room that made horrid coffee
- Cursory housekeeping: the bed still looked slept it, my pajamas were left in a pile rather than folded etc
- Small, poorly equipped and warm gym (77°F, it said one day, ie, 25°C): one free weights bench, one shoddy cable machine, no mats to do abs/stretch etc
- Often long wait for the concierge, concierge button on the phone in my room didn't work
- Asked on arrival which morning paper I wanted, I asked for the Wall St Journal; instead received USA Today the first few days, then no paper at all
- After staying six nights and departing on a Sunday, rarely the busiest day for arrivals, the latest checkout they were willing to offer me was 1pm.. this despite the fact that during the week, housekeeping often didn't come till mid afternoon

The Fairfax makes much of the fact that it is a 'Luxury Collection' hotel that has welcomed many of the big names from US politics (eg, Bush, Gore etc) and the 'global elites' with pictures of the White House etc everywhere to reinforce the message. Unfortunately, it does not live up to the high standards to which it pretends.



  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We can appreciate your disappointment when there were so many areas within your experience that you felt were not up to par. It seems that there were several instances where we missed the opportunity to improve your stay and for that we apologize. Your comments have given us an important insight into what areas need improvement and where we are succeeding and we thank you for that. Thank you for your kind comments for our staff and we hope to be able to welcome you back for the exceptional stay that you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klasf
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfax Embassy for 3 nights for a wedding. The location is great – about 5-10 minute walk from DC metro (red line, convenient for accessing suburban MD). Everything you need (Starbucks, ATM, CVS, restaurants) within 1-2 blocks. About 15 minute cab ride from Georgetown and 20 minute metro ride to Smithsonian museums. Concierge and front desk beyond friendly and helpful. Like in all big cities, the rooms are small and the bathrooms need updating; I felt like the hotel was pricey for what you got. If you are coming to DC for vacation and want to be where the action is, or if your company is paying for accommodation then stay here. If you come here often or would prefer a better value option, I prefer the Westin in Arlington (also Starwood) – a bit outside the city but updated and modern.. and cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. Our location is certainly something that adds value to our guest’s stays, along with our luxurious amenities, dedicated staff and delectable dining options. We do regret that we did not achieve the outstanding stay that you deserve and hope to be able to welcome you back to impress upon you our dedication to luxury. Thank you for your sincere comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A wonderful, luxurious hotel, with fabulous service, close to everything and just all around super! I would definitely stay there again. Most stars go to the staff who are gracious, friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Bus to Georgetown and cheaper restaurants right around the corner - hotel restaurant is posh and nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are delighted to read that your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row was so enjoyable and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your generous acknowledgement of our staff is sincerely appreciated and it would be our pleasure to share your comments with them. Thank you for your helpful tips to others and for your review. Please come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The staff at this well-located hotel were incredibly polite and helpful. The deluxe rooms are quite spacious, with traditional decor and large windows. Like most Luxury Collection hotels, however, the Fairfax could use a deep cleaning, some paint touch-ups, new showers and perhaps a spa. One caveat, make sure when booking a room that it does not house an HVAC compressor. Ours did, much to the detriment of our sleep quality.

Room Tip: Opt for deluxe. Make sure the HVAC compressor is not attached to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Please accept our apologies that we did not create the experience you had come to expect of us. We are disappointed that you did not receive a restful night’s sleep and will be sure to have our Maintenance Engineers look into the noise issue with the HVAC unit. Thank you for your kind comments for our staff and for letting us know about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to The Fairfax at Embassy Row.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If not for the image this hotel aspires to and its price, I might have given it a higher rating. The hotel has a great location and impressive appearance. Unfortunately, you have to leave the 12x15 guestrooms to change your mind! Other "high end" hotels in Washington seem to be able to deliver a larger living space. The staff was friendly and for the most part very helpful (apart from telephone operators for whom English names seemed a challenge). Every day of our stay, something was not working. On the last day of our stay, for example, there was no hot water for early morning showers. On another day, we had heard the sound of running water in a utility closet in our room for several hours, and when I called the engineers, they said "there's water in the system that we need to drain"--probably not a maintenance item that a guest should have to bring to their attention. We have yet to get an in room coffee pot that worked, and I've finally decided that the only way for early morning coffee is to purchase it from the dining room. My guess is that these folks need to sharpen up their operation in order to get much repeat business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointing stay that you have described. We are certainly most concerned to read about your experience and disheartened that you were not able to leave here fully satisfied. We do take it to heart when we are unable to meet or exceed any of our guest’s expectations and we will be sure to review your comments with our staff, along with your compliments regarding their efforts. Thank you for reaching out to us and we would hope to be able to fully impress you with another stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.