We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More old than elegant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #38 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“More old than elegant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A tired old building , a small footprint, with aging finish and fixtures.

A favourite of nearby by embassies to house folks in town from abroad for a short time, expect chaos at the front desk and diplomats and their young female admirers in the bar.

The building is expensive, clearly was once quite grand, but now has a funny smell faded carpets and stained, worn furniture. The amities in the bathrooms were very nice. Towels and linens very high quality.

This is by no means a dive, just vastly overpriced and resting on laurels decades past due.

Room Tip: in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
While we’re pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, we’re truly disappointed that many areas were not as you had anticipated. It is our goal to create the perfect environment for our guests; one where they can relax and enjoy the area or even have an ideal place for business meetings. We do appreciate you sharing your perspective and hope that during any future stays we can regain your confidence in our hotel. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    398
    295
    83
    33
    17
See reviews for
216
227
65
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The Fairfax might once have been a great hotel and with investment from Starwood it could be again, but for now it is second-rate and living off its name.

First the positives:
- Great location, by Dupont Circle, walking distance to lots of useful and interesting places and right by the metro
- Very comfortable beds and good blackout blinds
- Decent-sized room (following advice from people on TripAdvisor that standard 'Superior' rooms were tiny, I paid extra for a larger 'Grand Deluxe' room)
- Helpful door staff
- Reasonably priced *were it really a 5-star* (but overpriced for the 3.5 star hotel it really is)

Now the many negatives:
- Shamefully poor breakfast buffet, worthy of a 2-star hotel, with very limited choice, poor quality food and only one espresso coffee included in the (high) price of $24 + tax + service, ie, around $30 (the waiter filled in the tip himself before giving me the bill!)
- Poor shower: weak water pressure, cheap shower curtain, no shower gel (only soap) in the amenities
- Cramped bathroom that could do with modernising
- Erratic and noisy air conditioning
- $12.95 + tax (ie, $13.73) a day for wifi for one device
- Cheap coffee machine in the room that made horrid coffee
- Cursory housekeeping: the bed still looked slept it, my pajamas were left in a pile rather than folded etc
- Small, poorly equipped and warm gym (77°F, it said one day, ie, 25°C): one free weights bench, one shoddy cable machine, no mats to do abs/stretch etc
- Often long wait for the concierge, concierge button on the phone in my room didn't work
- Asked on arrival which morning paper I wanted, I asked for the Wall St Journal; instead received USA Today the first few days, then no paper at all
- After staying six nights and departing on a Sunday, rarely the busiest day for arrivals, the latest checkout they were willing to offer me was 1pm.. this despite the fact that during the week, housekeeping often didn't come till mid afternoon

The Fairfax makes much of the fact that it is a 'Luxury Collection' hotel that has welcomed many of the big names from US politics (eg, Bush, Gore etc) and the 'global elites' with pictures of the White House etc everywhere to reinforce the message. Unfortunately, it does not live up to the high standards to which it pretends.



  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We can appreciate your disappointment when there were so many areas within your experience that you felt were not up to par. It seems that there were several instances where we missed the opportunity to improve your stay and for that we apologize. Your comments have given us an important insight into what areas need improvement and where we are succeeding and we thank you for that. Thank you for your kind comments for our staff and we hope to be able to welcome you back for the exceptional stay that you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klasf
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfax Embassy for 3 nights for a wedding. The location is great – about 5-10 minute walk from DC metro (red line, convenient for accessing suburban MD). Everything you need (Starbucks, ATM, CVS, restaurants) within 1-2 blocks. About 15 minute cab ride from Georgetown and 20 minute metro ride to Smithsonian museums. Concierge and front desk beyond friendly and helpful. Like in all big cities, the rooms are small and the bathrooms need updating; I felt like the hotel was pricey for what you got. If you are coming to DC for vacation and want to be where the action is, or if your company is paying for accommodation then stay here. If you come here often or would prefer a better value option, I prefer the Westin in Arlington (also Starwood) – a bit outside the city but updated and modern.. and cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. Our location is certainly something that adds value to our guest’s stays, along with our luxurious amenities, dedicated staff and delectable dining options. We do regret that we did not achieve the outstanding stay that you deserve and hope to be able to welcome you back to impress upon you our dedication to luxury. Thank you for your sincere comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A wonderful, luxurious hotel, with fabulous service, close to everything and just all around super! I would definitely stay there again. Most stars go to the staff who are gracious, friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Bus to Georgetown and cheaper restaurants right around the corner - hotel restaurant is posh and nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are delighted to read that your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row was so enjoyable and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your generous acknowledgement of our staff is sincerely appreciated and it would be our pleasure to share your comments with them. Thank you for your helpful tips to others and for your review. Please come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The staff at this well-located hotel were incredibly polite and helpful. The deluxe rooms are quite spacious, with traditional decor and large windows. Like most Luxury Collection hotels, however, the Fairfax could use a deep cleaning, some paint touch-ups, new showers and perhaps a spa. One caveat, make sure when booking a room that it does not house an HVAC compressor. Ours did, much to the detriment of our sleep quality.

Room Tip: Opt for deluxe. Make sure the HVAC compressor is not attached to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Please accept our apologies that we did not create the experience you had come to expect of us. We are disappointed that you did not receive a restful night’s sleep and will be sure to have our Maintenance Engineers look into the noise issue with the HVAC unit. Thank you for your kind comments for our staff and for letting us know about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to The Fairfax at Embassy Row.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If not for the image this hotel aspires to and its price, I might have given it a higher rating. The hotel has a great location and impressive appearance. Unfortunately, you have to leave the 12x15 guestrooms to change your mind! Other "high end" hotels in Washington seem to be able to deliver a larger living space. The staff was friendly and for the most part very helpful (apart from telephone operators for whom English names seemed a challenge). Every day of our stay, something was not working. On the last day of our stay, for example, there was no hot water for early morning showers. On another day, we had heard the sound of running water in a utility closet in our room for several hours, and when I called the engineers, they said "there's water in the system that we need to drain"--probably not a maintenance item that a guest should have to bring to their attention. We have yet to get an in room coffee pot that worked, and I've finally decided that the only way for early morning coffee is to purchase it from the dining room. My guess is that these folks need to sharpen up their operation in order to get much repeat business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointing stay that you have described. We are certainly most concerned to read about your experience and disheartened that you were not able to leave here fully satisfied. We do take it to heart when we are unable to meet or exceed any of our guest’s expectations and we will be sure to review your comments with our staff, along with your compliments regarding their efforts. Thank you for reaching out to us and we would hope to be able to fully impress you with another stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel still channels its former lif as a Ritz. The furnishings are very traditional and our room (2 double beds, NOT 2 queen beds) was cozy. I haven't seen a double bed in ages! Lovely linens, towels, and toiletries. I was surprised that wifi internet was not free, even for Starwood Preferred members. We paid for wifi, then found that only one device could use it (if my husband used it with his laptop, I couldn't use it with my I-Pad.) That made the experience feel a little dated. The staff was very friendly and helpful; the concierge was great with resto suggestions.

The location is great--just steps from the Dupont Circle Metro station, which makes getting around DC so easy. The Phillips Collection is a few blocks away. There are many restaurants--casual, formal, al fresco within easy walking distance. the concierge had good suggestions and let us know the best time to go without long waits (many don't take reservations.) Easy to walk to embassies, also.

Room Tip: Note that a room woith 2 beds may be 2 double beds rather than 2 queens. If this is important to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
At The Fairfax at Embassy Row, we offer a variety of bed sizes; each featuring the Luxury Collection pillow top and 300 thread count Fili D’oro linens. We’re thrilled to see that you enjoyed your accommodations and fully benefitted from our convenient location and Concierge services. It would be our pleasure to have you and your husband stay with us again and we thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Amex, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.