We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #41 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The staff at this well-located hotel were incredibly polite and helpful. The deluxe rooms are quite spacious, with traditional decor and large windows. Like most Luxury Collection hotels, however, the Fairfax could use a deep cleaning, some paint touch-ups, new showers and perhaps a spa. One caveat, make sure when booking a room that it does not house an HVAC compressor. Ours did, much to the detriment of our sleep quality.

Room Tip: Opt for deluxe. Make sure the HVAC compressor is not attached to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Please accept our apologies that we did not create the experience you had come to expect of us. We are disappointed that you did not receive a restful night’s sleep and will be sure to have our Maintenance Engineers look into the noise issue with the HVAC unit. Thank you for your kind comments for our staff and for letting us know about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to The Fairfax at Embassy Row.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    348
    102
    37
    20
See reviews for
254
270
77
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If not for the image this hotel aspires to and its price, I might have given it a higher rating. The hotel has a great location and impressive appearance. Unfortunately, you have to leave the 12x15 guestrooms to change your mind! Other "high end" hotels in Washington seem to be able to deliver a larger living space. The staff was friendly and for the most part very helpful (apart from telephone operators for whom English names seemed a challenge). Every day of our stay, something was not working. On the last day of our stay, for example, there was no hot water for early morning showers. On another day, we had heard the sound of running water in a utility closet in our room for several hours, and when I called the engineers, they said "there's water in the system that we need to drain"--probably not a maintenance item that a guest should have to bring to their attention. We have yet to get an in room coffee pot that worked, and I've finally decided that the only way for early morning coffee is to purchase it from the dining room. My guess is that these folks need to sharpen up their operation in order to get much repeat business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointing stay that you have described. We are certainly most concerned to read about your experience and disheartened that you were not able to leave here fully satisfied. We do take it to heart when we are unable to meet or exceed any of our guest’s expectations and we will be sure to review your comments with our staff, along with your compliments regarding their efforts. Thank you for reaching out to us and we would hope to be able to fully impress you with another stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel still channels its former lif as a Ritz. The furnishings are very traditional and our room (2 double beds, NOT 2 queen beds) was cozy. I haven't seen a double bed in ages! Lovely linens, towels, and toiletries. I was surprised that wifi internet was not free, even for Starwood Preferred members. We paid for wifi, then found that only one device could use it (if my husband used it with his laptop, I couldn't use it with my I-Pad.) That made the experience feel a little dated. The staff was very friendly and helpful; the concierge was great with resto suggestions.

The location is great--just steps from the Dupont Circle Metro station, which makes getting around DC so easy. The Phillips Collection is a few blocks away. There are many restaurants--casual, formal, al fresco within easy walking distance. the concierge had good suggestions and let us know the best time to go without long waits (many don't take reservations.) Easy to walk to embassies, also.

Room Tip: Note that a room woith 2 beds may be 2 double beds rather than 2 queens. If this is important to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
At The Fairfax at Embassy Row, we offer a variety of bed sizes; each featuring the Luxury Collection pillow top and 300 thread count Fili D’oro linens. We’re thrilled to see that you enjoyed your accommodations and fully benefitted from our convenient location and Concierge services. It would be our pleasure to have you and your husband stay with us again and we thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The staff was incredibly nice. from the valet to the front desk, concierge to the management and everyone in between, the staff was awesome!

The room was huge, the bed was incredibly comfortable, bedroom and bathroom were clean as can be.

Here's the "almost" part... We found it incredibly odd that we had to pay for internet in the rooms. And pay a lot. It was very expensive. Even the busses in NYC have free wifi. I am no hotelier but all i can tell you is from a consumer / guest's point of view it made the hotel look dated and greedy! to be honest, I left with a slightly bad taste in my mouth about it.

Otherwise it would have been the perfect hotel !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. While we are very happy to learn that the majority of your stay exceeded your expectations, we do hope that you understand that our Internet charges are fully in line with other establishments in the area that also charge for service. We hope that this does not deter you from visiting with us again. Your kind comments for our staff and accommodations are truly appreciated and we welcome your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at the hotel (accompanied by my husband) while attending a business conference at another hotel. Everything about our stay was perfect: the location a few short blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro, the classy neighborhood full of restaurnats and shops, the room, the bed, the maid service, the doormen, getting a fridge for our room, etc.

Far beyond any expectation was the service of the concierge, Peter Gill. From the first question we asked him on our first day of our stay, Peter took a special interest in our activities and to seeing that we were able to accomplish our goals of enjoying as many of the museums and attractions of Washington as possible. He recommended 2 sights nearby that we had never heard of before on many previous trips to DC: Anderson House and Wilson House (both highly recommended). Each night as we returned to the Fairfax, weary from a whole day of attending the conference and/or museums, Peter would wave and inquire about our day's successes. He recommended places to dine. He sorted out a Catholic church for us to attend Easter Mass and other small services like seeing to it that we received the Sunday newspaper delivered to our room, etc. etc.

My husband and I have stayed at many hotels large and small, but we were particularly impressed with the personal service offered by this large chain hotel. It was like staying at a small B&B or country inn in one of the great large American cities. Most hotels of this size are business-like and impersonal. The Fairfax was a home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
To be considered your home-away-from-home is one of the best compliments we can receive, and we thank you for sharing your wonderful story with us. We try very hard at The Fairfax at Embassy Row to ensure each and every one of our guests are treated with the utmost respect and consideration, focusing on our commitment to customer service. It’s wonderful to read that your stay fully encompassed that goal. We will be sure to share your compliments with our staff, particularly our Concierge, as we know it will make their day! Please come and stay with us again soon and we thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great hotel in the embassy neighborhood of Dupont Circle. The room and amenities were top notch. The staff was always available, very friendly and helpful with all our questions. Wandi was particularly helpful with the assistance he provided when we 1st arrived in Washington, D.C. A perfect location (1) block from the Metro which took us to all the attractions on the Mall. Great neighborhood with lots of wonderful restaurants and things to do. Would definitely stay at this hotel on a return visit to D.C.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fairfax at Embassy row during your recent visit to our Nation’s Capital. We truly appreciate the kind compliments and words that you have shared, both for our staff and our convenient location. It would be a privilege to welcome you back to our hotel and we hope it’s soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Outstanding customer service. The management is fantastic. They accommodated every request, even rushing out food from the packed restaurant bc we were late for a show. Beautiful suite overlooking embassy row. A little out of the way, and not near the metro, bu overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Your kind comments are sincerely appreciated and we love hearing that the service you received while at The Fairfax at Embassy Row was exceptional. Please note that the Metro is located less than two blocks from our hotel, and we apologize if you were not made aware of that fact. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.