We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #42 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Green Cove Springs, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

While our daughter and son-in-law were checking in, my husband and I went to speak with Peter re sight-seeing. He was very informative and also gave us a tour of hotel with lots of background info. Very comfortable smaller hotel -- great food in dining room. Also had drinks and lunch in bar area. Great location - three blocks to metro. Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Isn’t it nice to have a sense of the history of an establishment that you are visiting? We’re so happy that Peter had the opportunity to fill you in on what makes The Fairfax at Embassy Row so special! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with your family and for your gracious compliments. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again and we hope that it is soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    401
    117
    48
    26
See reviews for
302
317
85
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

CONS:
dated furniture (cabinet in bathroom had a lot of nicks)
small rooms and bathrooms with zero counter space
room by elevator can hum loudly
hear this dripping noises from the AC unit (and blew loudly and right over the bed)
lamp didn't work
mirror light in bathroom didn't work
Digital TV didn't always work
EXPENSIVE (and not very good) drinks in the lounge (2 drinks will run you $25+)

PROS:
They opened the door 95% percent of the time I entered or left
Housekeeping organized my toiletries
Dupont Circle is a great area to stay
Comfy bed

A man at the lounge told us the place has really "let itself go" and that The Fairfax used to be a hotspot destination back in the day. While I thought the staff was nice, they didn't seem very luxury in their presentation/communication.

It's wasn't horrible and it didn't ruin my time in DC. It was fine, but for the price, I'd look for something else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We strive to maintain the highest level of service, hospitality and comfort for our guests, so we were very disappointed to read that your stay did not exceed your expectations. Please don’t hesitate on any future stays to immediately inform us of any problems within your guestroom, as we would be happy to correct any issues promptly. We apologize for any missed opportunities to make your stay exceptional and hope to be able to welcome you back and regain your trust. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Amazing value. We felt extremely lucky and appreciative to buy a room at the Fairfax on priceline without knowing this is what we would get. This is 4-5 star hotel. I would not pay the $400/night full price, but I would pay $180/night. We paid so much less that I am embarrassed to post it. The hotel is next to the Indonesian and Portuguese embassies.

1. Outstanding friendly staff. the concierge gave us free tickets at the Holocaust museum, which was the best attraction in DC and something not to be missed. cleaning staff were very responsive and provided our daily newspaper, etc.
2. Bedding, soaps, and towels are the best top quality. Down comforter and pillows.
3. No daily weather report posted in elevator.
4. No free breakfast and no TV lounging room.
5. Efficient use of space in rooms. Rooms and bathroom are good sized.
6. Older building, but still very comfortable.
7. Rooms on the top floors off the street are amazing quiet and offer city views.
8. Very good access to the National Mall via Metro. Metro at Dupont Circle is one block away. We bought the Smarttrip card for Metro/buses at the airport- savings on fares. The unlimited may be best if you travel a lot. If you are reasonably tough, we highly recommend overnight bike rental for the National Mall. It will save your feet and give you unparalleled access to the entire area. We rented tandem bikes.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors off the street are amazing quiet and offer city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We consider ourselves the lucky ones to have the opportunity to welcome guests such as you to our hotel. Thank you for your generous acknowledgement of the staff, amenities and convenient location of The Fairfax at Embassy Row. You are correct, The Holocaust Museum is certainly a place not to be missed when visiting Washington, DC and we’re thrilled that you had the opportunity to experience it. Thank you for taking the time to share your story and for your helpful suggestions. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you want to stay in the city at a great location (3 blocks from Georgetown, walking distance to Dupont Circle and the Metro, walking distance to a variety of great restaurants, Starbucks on the corner, CVS on the another corner) then The Fairfax at Embassy Row is the place. But please, don't tell everyone. This Luxury Collection Hotel is a GEM!! I'm a Starwood baby so I love staying at mostly Starwood Brands (love those star points). In addition to receiving Starwood points, I love the location, the staff is always friendly and attentive, the hotel is a traditional style property on Embassy Row and when you pull up in the drive way you feel like you've arrived. From the doorman, concierge, front desk and housekeeping you feel special (you even get turndown service at night). One of the best features of this hotel is the fabulous beds and pillows. After a long day, you feel like you've just jumped on a cloud, the pillows are so fluffy. If you want great advice on where to eat or what to do, go see Peter Gill, Concierge he can point you in the right direction, he's fabulous. I've read some of the other reviews and one stated that the property is "dated". It really depends on your definition of dated. When I say a property is dated that means it's in need of a serious renovation, top to bottom. The Fairfax is NOT that property, at ALL. It's a traditional style, high post bed design in an historic building. Updated flat screen TVs in the room, nice bathroom and thick towels and very nice toiletries. The only item I would say is dated is the shower heads (be very careful when changing the temperature, it can get really HOT). I LOVE, LUV, LUV, this hotel and you usually can find great rates midweek and on the weekends since most of the business travelers and diplomats are home. When I travel on business and come home to visit my family, I stay at the Fairfax as my central point between Maryland and Virginia. Parking is expensive like most city hotels, on street parking meters is available, but I always get a ticket, so I just valet. At The Fairfax they treat everyone like a Diplomat!!

Room Tip: As for an upgrade and try to get a room inside (less noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We can’t thank you enough for your most gracious review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row. Hearing from our return guests is especially enjoyable, because you’ve had the opportunity to experience our hotel over and over again. It’s wonderful to learn how much you enjoy the classic and traditional style of our accommodations and receive a great night’s sleep on our Signature Bed each time you are here. We hope you will be able to visit your family soon and come and stay with us again. Thank you again for your amazing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is great to stay in a hotel that is not "cookie cutter", this old hotel is very nice. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We spent two nights in DC and were close enough to enjoy the sights. I stayed in this hotel over 45 years ago on vacation, it was fun to see it again and the memories of when I was kid staying there came flooding back. If you are looking for something that gives you a flavor of Washingtion DC and is not like all the other "cookie cutter" hotels this is it. Enjoy! We were able to get the room discounted through the internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
At The Fairfax at Embassy Row, we strive to ensure that each and every one of our guests leaves feeling that their experience was not cookie-cutter, but personalized. It’s wonderful to hear that you felt this way and were able to rekindle a love for this hotel again. We hope you won’t wait too long to come and visit with us again and we thank you for kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel during a weekend trip to Washington. The hotel's location very near Dupont Circle is very convenient and a good starting point to explore the city. Unfortunately the hotel seems a bit dated and what others may describe as charming I would consider too old-fashioned. The room itself was very spacious, but fixtures and fittings have certainly not made it into the 21st century aside from the coffee-maker and iPod docking station.
The bedroom included a door to a storage cabinet or a/c unit, which was rather noisy and also meant that whatever was housed in there needed constant cooling as despite having switched off the a/c unit the room was very cold.
The bathroom amenities were fine though there was no room to actually hang up used towels. Given the hotel's encouragement to save water and re-use towels, which I am absolutely supportive of, there is no hook or anything that would allow a guest to do so.
We didn't use any of the facilities or the concierge services.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
While we’re very happy to read that our location and spacious guestroom made for an enjoyable stay, we would like to apologize for any issues that made your experience less than impeccable. We absolutely appreciate any suggestions from our guests and will take your request into consideration. You are correct that our traditional décor may not be for everyone and we appreciate you acknowledging this. We hope you will consider staying with us if you are ever in the Washington, DC area again. Thank you for your review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great location and very professional staff. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Hotel is very quiet and gives the feeling that it is smaller than it actually is. An old building, but very well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are delighted to learn that your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row was so enjoyable and we thank you for your great review. Your kind comments for our staff are much appreciated and we would be pleased to pass along your compliments. Please come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#60 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#19 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.