We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but with some problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #45 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but with some problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I slept one night in a double queen bedroom. The room was very large and nice, number 840, on the top floor, with three front windows, and one lateral window, facing the main street. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was also large and with nice amenities. And breakfast was good quality. Fresh and nice tasting fruit, good croissants,... However we faced some problems that are not expected in such a luxury hotel. First of all our Booking reservation was not found when we checked-in, so I had to find it on the Smart phone and show it to the manager to get a room, with the risk of not being accepted in e hotel. Second the shower water was not warm enough. The maximum temperature, which is shown in the shower, was 32 degrees Celsius, or 90F. And the air ventilation in the night was too strong and loudy, despite we shut down the system in both the main room and entrance. Based on this I gave a rating of Average.

Room Tip: Room 840 is a double queen, on the top floor and in the corner, with 3 front windows and one lateral...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
While it seems that many aspects of your stay were enjoyable, we do regret that we failed to exceed your expectations in every way during your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We do appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention and we will have our Maintenance Engineers promptly look into the issues you mentioned in your room. Please accept our apologies for any confusion during the check-in process. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for the exceptional stay that you deserve. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    406
    117
    48
    27
See reviews for
303
319
86
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. If you don't know, DuPont Circle and Adams Morgan are probably the best areas in DC for nightlife. This hotel is right in the heart of it just off the circle. Great neighborhood and a great hotel. A very classy spot with an elegant feel. Rooms are a bit tiny but very comfortable. The staff could not have been nicer. Valet parking was definitely an added bonus. A little pricey for my budget but come on, it's in the heart of DC. Whaddya want? Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Street views are probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you chose to celebrate such a special time with a stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. Happy Anniversary! Your kind comments for our staff are much appreciated and we will be sure to pass them along. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for four nights last week and we were so impressed by the attentiveness of the hotel staff. Every time we passed through the doors or lobby, we were greeted with smiles and welcomes; and the concierge was extremely helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect -- a block from the DuPont Circle Metro and within steps of numerous restaurants and coffee shops. Embassies and residential housing make up the surrounding area; and therefore, you don't have traffic noise. The rooms were an average size and well maintained. I definitely would stay here again on my next trip to DC!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you and your daughter were left with a great impression of The Fairfax at Embassy Row. Our staff strives to provide personalized service to each of our guests, ensuring that their experience is memorable and comfortable. We’re excited that you enjoyed the surrounding neighborhood, as the Dupont Circle area has so much to offer. We look forward to greeting you again in the future and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The room was small, but well appointed with high quality linens and furniture. The building itself was very well maintained, clean and centrally located. The service was excellent and very friendly - the door man remembered me and always said "see you soon" or "welcome home" when I came and went. The hotel bar was perfect. Large space, good for socializing or working, great drinks, great food and very reasonably priced. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. It’s truly wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and the attentive service from our staff, as we work hard to guarantee a pleasant stay for each of our guests. We hope to welcome you back very soon where you can enjoy another relaxing experience in The Fairfax Lounge and in our hotel. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedgesville, wv
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights in Dec. 2012 . We felt very special as that's the way we where treated by the staff. The room was very nice. If you've never stayed here, the location is superb. It's located in an area that is very residential and not that "down town" commercial feeling. Easy walk to DuPont circle and neighborhood restaurants. Felt very safe.

Will go back again. Rick & Laura

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It was our pleasure to welcome you to The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we’re thrilled to hear that your stay was so enjoyable. Thank you for mentioning our convenient location and for offering such kind words for our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and we thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here iwth our 4 & 7 y.o. children. The staff was fantastic and very gracious in acccomodating my young family. Raul in the hotel lounge went out of his way to make us feel welcome. I was concerned the hotel lounge would be too posh to bring my children in for a meal, but circumstances and cold made the lounge the best option for us. Raul was so warm and welcoming any concerns I had went out the door with his exceptional service. Our waiter for Sunday buffet was also very gracious and welcoming. I can't say enough good things about the staff. Exceptional! Will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We couldn’t be more pleased to learn that your entire stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row was amazing. It was certainly a pleasure to have your family stay with us, and we sincerely appreciate your kind comments for our staff. We will be sure to pass on your compliments and look forward to having your family join us again very soon for another great stay. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Nice, OLD hotel in the DuPont Circle section of Washington, DC. Front Desk staff is professional, courteous and sophisticated. Room (upgraded) is old, but nicely furnished with amenities including current magazines, complimentary water and chocolates. Room service was very quick and delivered by a very professional waiter.

There was noise coming from adjacent rooms, I usually sleep with ear plugs in a hotel so it did not impact my stay.

Convenient to Embassy Row, DuPont Circle Metro, Phillips Collection, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are so glad to hear that The Fairfax at Embassy Row was part of an enjoyable stay for you. Thank you for taking the time to mention the parts of your stay that impressed you the most, particularly our attentive staff and convenient location. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#59 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle Hotel
The Dupont Circle Hotel
#18 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,976 reviews
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#26 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.