We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot right off DuPont Circle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Spot right off DuPont Circle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. If you don't know, DuPont Circle and Adams Morgan are probably the best areas in DC for nightlife. This hotel is right in the heart of it just off the circle. Great neighborhood and a great hotel. A very classy spot with an elegant feel. Rooms are a bit tiny but very comfortable. The staff could not have been nicer. Valet parking was definitely an added bonus. A little pricey for my budget but come on, it's in the heart of DC. Whaddya want? Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Street views are probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you chose to celebrate such a special time with a stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. Happy Anniversary! Your kind comments for our staff are much appreciated and we will be sure to pass them along. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    373
    111
    39
    22
See reviews for
283
297
83
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, MI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for four nights last week and we were so impressed by the attentiveness of the hotel staff. Every time we passed through the doors or lobby, we were greeted with smiles and welcomes; and the concierge was extremely helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect -- a block from the DuPont Circle Metro and within steps of numerous restaurants and coffee shops. Embassies and residential housing make up the surrounding area; and therefore, you don't have traffic noise. The rooms were an average size and well maintained. I definitely would stay here again on my next trip to DC!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you and your daughter were left with a great impression of The Fairfax at Embassy Row. Our staff strives to provide personalized service to each of our guests, ensuring that their experience is memorable and comfortable. We’re excited that you enjoyed the surrounding neighborhood, as the Dupont Circle area has so much to offer. We look forward to greeting you again in the future and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The room was small, but well appointed with high quality linens and furniture. The building itself was very well maintained, clean and centrally located. The service was excellent and very friendly - the door man remembered me and always said "see you soon" or "welcome home" when I came and went. The hotel bar was perfect. Large space, good for socializing or working, great drinks, great food and very reasonably priced. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. It’s truly wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and the attentive service from our staff, as we work hard to guarantee a pleasant stay for each of our guests. We hope to welcome you back very soon where you can enjoy another relaxing experience in The Fairfax Lounge and in our hotel. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedgesville, wv
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights in Dec. 2012 . We felt very special as that's the way we where treated by the staff. The room was very nice. If you've never stayed here, the location is superb. It's located in an area that is very residential and not that "down town" commercial feeling. Easy walk to DuPont circle and neighborhood restaurants. Felt very safe.

Will go back again. Rick & Laura

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It was our pleasure to welcome you to The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we’re thrilled to hear that your stay was so enjoyable. Thank you for mentioning our convenient location and for offering such kind words for our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and we thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here iwth our 4 & 7 y.o. children. The staff was fantastic and very gracious in acccomodating my young family. Raul in the hotel lounge went out of his way to make us feel welcome. I was concerned the hotel lounge would be too posh to bring my children in for a meal, but circumstances and cold made the lounge the best option for us. Raul was so warm and welcoming any concerns I had went out the door with his exceptional service. Our waiter for Sunday buffet was also very gracious and welcoming. I can't say enough good things about the staff. Exceptional! Will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We couldn’t be more pleased to learn that your entire stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row was amazing. It was certainly a pleasure to have your family stay with us, and we sincerely appreciate your kind comments for our staff. We will be sure to pass on your compliments and look forward to having your family join us again very soon for another great stay. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Nice, OLD hotel in the DuPont Circle section of Washington, DC. Front Desk staff is professional, courteous and sophisticated. Room (upgraded) is old, but nicely furnished with amenities including current magazines, complimentary water and chocolates. Room service was very quick and delivered by a very professional waiter.

There was noise coming from adjacent rooms, I usually sleep with ear plugs in a hotel so it did not impact my stay.

Convenient to Embassy Row, DuPont Circle Metro, Phillips Collection, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are so glad to hear that The Fairfax at Embassy Row was part of an enjoyable stay for you. Thank you for taking the time to mention the parts of your stay that impressed you the most, particularly our attentive staff and convenient location. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Hills, KS
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Let me start out by saying I love staying at Starwood Luxury Collection Hotels (SLS, Phoenician, Alfonso XIII, Danieli, Palace, Joule, Chatwal, etc.). They are unique hotels that provide a great travel experience and wonderful customer service. Unfortunately, the Fairfax Hotel falls short of the luxury collection standard primarily because of it's inadequate customer service. I hope the following information will help you make your own decision the next you travel to DC and choose a hotel:

Customer Service - It is my opinion that the majority of employees at this hotel have negative morale and attitude problems. Rather than making a guest feel welcomed and comfortable, they make you feel more like you have inconvenienced them. Here are just a few examples to support my opinion:
- Doormen rarely opened doors for customers or asked if you need assistance. Most were busy talking to one another and rarely focused on the guest.
-The Front Desk neglected to explain basis policies and amenities during the check-in process.They even forgot to provide platinum amenity and I had to ask for it. The check-out process required me to explain want I needed several times.
- Restaurant staff operated with extreme attitude to the point you felt like any request was a bother. In addition , the majority of the servers did not have command of the English language and were very difficult to communicate with. I witnessed other customers experiencing similar problems.
Platinum Recognition - No room upgrade was provided. The hotel's platinum internet policy was not properly explained and when asked, staff could not explain it. I was given an inferior room at check-in (Room 204) next to gym where I heard the patter of the treadmill for hours on end. Not sure why I was given this room since I checked in on a Monday afternoon and stayed two nights. This room should had been left for end of day sold-out situations. I did not complain or ask for upgrade.
Platinum Tip- Don't opt for the free breakfast as your Platinum Amenity. A small choice of fruits, day old breads, and cereals were served buffet style. No protein choices were offered. Getting more coffee and juice was a difficult task. Service was poor, however, restaurant was elegant and clean.
Rooms/Hotel/Gym - The hotel was a Ritz Carlton many years ago. The hotel was renovated since and is still in good condition. Rooms are comfy and clean. Turndown and maid service was very good. Gym facilities were average at best.
Location - I very much enjoy the DuPont Circle area, so I love this hotel's location. The metro stop is just a five minute walk and wonderful restaurants are down the block. Try Circa or La Tomate which are two of my Dupont Circle favorites.
Overall, the Fairfax has the potential to be a good luxury hotel, but currently does not meet the high standard of other Starwood Luxury Collection hotels. Please think twice before staying here. I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past and finally felt it was time to publicly say something constructive about it's growing employee problem. If you're a loyal Starwood member and need a place to stay while in DC, I would recommend the St. Regis, W Hotel, Westin Georgetown, or Le Meridien. I have personally stayed at each of these hotels and believe they are much better choices.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointing stay that you have described. We are certainly most concerned to read about your experience and want you to know that the service you received is not indicative of what we want to provide our valued guests. Many times SPG status may not be awarded, depending on how you reserved your stay, such as through a third party booking service. Sometimes, upgrades are not available when the hotel is full. We do apologize if that was not made clear during the check-in process. We do regret that you did not receive the personalized service that our staff strives to provide each and every guest, and we will be sure to share your concerns with our staff in order to pre-empt any further occurrences such as yours. I would like to point out that our breakfast buffet includes eggs, sausage, bacon and potatoes as part of the Platinum amenity and our selection of breads and pastries are delivered fresh to the hotel every morning. Thank you for reaching out to us and alerting us to your concerns. We would hope to be able to welcome you back in the future with the hopes of changing your perspective. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.