We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Washington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row to your Saves list
The Fairfax at Embassy Row
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Get Parking
Ranked #50 of 137 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Best in Washington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed 3 days in area. Front desk immensely courteous on late (pm) arrival. Room overlooking street, which was busy but room was quiet. Room spacious by any DC standard. Hotel staff (concierge especially!) gets high marks for being so welcoming on arrival. Doorman always asks if you need help or information. Walking distance to AGU (where I was visiting) and DuPont Circle and its great restaurants; must see Phillips Gallery across the street. Looking forward to my next visit to DC.

Room Tip: If you have any question, just ask the concierge. He was terrific. If you have local recommendations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samtrip12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your story about your recent visit to The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We're thrilled that our staff was able to offer meaningful assistance and that you felt compelled to share it with us. It's wonderful to hear that you had a great stay and we appreciate you recognizing our concierge, especially. Thank you for your amazing review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I can't imagine the reviews praising the service at this hotel are from actual people who have stayed in the hotel. The problems with service here were not confined to a single person or singular incident, rather, they seemed to be systemic in nature. First, the front desk personnel LOST the luggage from a member of our party in the short time and distance from the car to the lobby door...they totally lost the bags. Secondly, the serveres at the restaurant attached to the hotel were rude to several members of our party as well as "forgetting" multiple items that were ordered. Additionally, we called down to the front desk to help us out with an item we forgot. We were told politely that someone would be up shortly with the item. 36 hours later the item, of course, never arrived. Even more laziness on the part of the front desk: they failed to give out the "welcome bags" that the bridge and groom arranged for their wedding guests. I shouldn't even bother mentioning the fact that the maid service failed to refill simple things like coffee when they cleaned the room, but I think it's important to note just how lazy every aspect of customer service is at the hotel. Also, while not directly related to a specific worker at the hotel, be prepared to pay $13 PER DAY for Internet use. Having to pay such fees so that I can conduct business while away from home is unacceptable and a far cry from providing exceptional service to your guests. There are many hotels to choose from in the area, I would highly recommend choosing one other than Fairfax.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macdillbirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
It is extremely disappointing to hear about your recent experience and we apologize for the problems you encountered. We are concerned that so many aspects of your stay were challenging and will be sure to share your comments with our management staff as it is important that they hear your perspective. Your stay should have been memorable for many other reasons, and we do offer our sincerest regrets that your needs were not met. We will certainly review your feedback further and we greatly appreciate the time you've taken to bring these points to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here as part of a convention, so it was both business and pleasure, and I could not have been more pleased.

The hotel itself is lovely with tasteful historic decor. The staff is friendly and always accommodating-they have a more than ample number of doormen to greet you, answer questions, help with luggage and taxis, etc. The concierge desk also helped with arrangements with professional efficiency. If early morning traffic noise bothers you, be sure to ask for a room on an upper floor.

It's within an easy walking block from a few shops and lots of restaurants on DuPont Circle.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mort39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing the story of how our staff was able to assist you with all your needs, from arranging a taxi to travel plans. We're thrilled that their dedication prompted you to write such a wonderful review. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row for another exceptional stay in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Fairfax at Embassy Row. All employees were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice, the bathrooms were spacious, and they accommodated our early check-in. The rooms were also very quiet with no noise from outside. My only complaints were that the shower water pressure was INSANELY strong - like my back was bright red after getting out of the shower. Also, the wait at the front desk to check my bags the day we were checking out was super long (15+ minutes) when they had one person working check-in, check-out, and any other requests. There was another gentleman over at the concierge desk and it probably would have been appropriate to have him help guests in the front desk line given that no one was at concierge. Overall, it was a nice experience and we will return to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ericacoh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row and its staff. We're happy to learn that your accommodations met your needs and that our personalized service was one of the highlights of your stay. Our Maintenance Engineers will certainly check the shower in your room to make sure the water pressure is comfortable for future guests and we appreciate you letting us know. We're looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel was great, the staff was wonderful especially Peter Gill the concierge, he was so helpful and recommended a great tour. I would definately stay here again. The only down side, the room we had, the mattress was lopsided... they need new mattresses.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniechesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Your review has made us smile; in particular, your kind comments for our staff. We invest greatly in our staff at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we're thrilled to learn that their dedication created a memorable stay for you. Please don't hesitate during your next stay with us to let us know if your accommodations do not exactly match your expectations; we would be more than happy to help. We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
275 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

A fantastic location. I am in D.C. for business on a regular basis and I have stayed all around the beltway - and, the Fairfax Embassy Row is the best.

The rooms are well apportioned. Very clean. There is a classic elegance to the common spaces. And, the scale (the hotel is small) of the hotel makes it a very manageable. The staff are impeccable and very service oriented.

The hotel is just outside of the "frenzy" of DC'ism. It sits right on the edge of some great restaurants and watering holes. It also affords a phenomenal access to the great trail running in the Rock Creek area. One of my favorite runs is along Embassy Row. I just love running along up the hill to the Navy Observatory and the National Cathedral.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Enjoying an invigorating run through the historic streets of Dupont Circle and taking in all the beauty of the area sounds like a great way to enjoy Washington, DC. Thank you for your compliments and for mentioning our dedicated staff and convenient location. We look forward to greeting you again in the future and appreciate the kind words that you've shared in this forum about The Fairfax at Embassy Row.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great experience from check-in to checkout. Excellent service-staff could not have been more helpful. Nice rooms with flat screen tv, large closet and nice bathroom. Excellent location. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billruns331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Knowing that your visit to The Fairfax at Embassy Row was thoroughly enjoyable makes us very happy. Our attentive staff works very hard to ensure that each guest's experience is exceptional and we appreciate your compliments for them. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,235 reviews
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#64 of 137 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 137 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , U Street Corridor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing