We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Rooms, Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Lawrence, KS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Rooms, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Fairfax is a beautiful hotel that is well run and cared for with a gracious staff. My wife and I loved the location of this hotel. It is just a couple of blocks from the Metro stop at Dupont Circle. It is easy walking distance to a great variety of restaurants, coffee shops and bars.

We had an early flight arriving on a Saturday morning but they were able to get us into a room even though we were early. Looking at the little fire escape map on the back of the door in our room (yes, I am a fun date), it looked as though we had one of the smallest rooms. The room was also on the back looking out over a nondescript courtyard. Yet, we still felt like we were in the lap of luxury. The ceilings are high so the small square footage didn't really seem like that big of deal. The room was very quiet and the bed incredibly comfortable. Granted, my wife and I don't get away from our kids all that often so maybe we're easy to please but we very much enjoyed the place.

The staff treated us very well and were pleasant without being intrusive. We stayed for two nights. On the second we went to the bar off of the lobby. The music over the speakers was a little odd but the bar is such a throwback to an earlier time in DC with lots of wood and comfortable chairs that it just added to the luxury feel of the place. We would stay here again in an instant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Your review made us smile! We are so glad that The Fairfax at Embassy Row was part of an enjoyable weekend for you and your wife, and fun date or not, safety always comes first! It’s always wonderful to hear how a guest appreciates the history and grace of a by-gone era in Washington, DC. We strive to accommodate our guests at every turn and your kind and thoughtful acknowledgment will let our staff know what an impact they made. It was a pleasure to welcome as a guest at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we can’t wait to welcome you back as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    373
    111
    39
    22
See reviews for
283
297
83
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

If you are looking for the quintessential luxury hotel - this is one of them. Service was excellent. Furnishings and decor made me feel like I was in another place and time. They even included a full size umbrella in the closet (which came in VERY handy for August in DC). Staff were attentive and friendly. Highly recommend it (especially if you need an SPG stay and the weekend rate is reasonable)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
What an excellent review! We’re so glad that you noticed our efforts to preserve the rich history and elegance of The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We know that small niceties can make a big difference, so details such as an umbrella is just a small way to help our guests feel more comfortable while visiting. Your positive comments are truly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back time and time again. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to DC. Proximity to Dupont Square is excellent - only a couple of blocks from the Metro and a bunch of restaurants. Room was very spacious and very nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outside walls of the hotel - the interior courtyard is UGLY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind recommendation and for mentioning the convenient location of The Fairfax at Embassy Row. It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and your accommodations met your needs. We hope to continue to welcome you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Got a great deal on this hotel through Hotwire. Right by Dupont Circle and the metro. Next door to Anderson House, which is very interesting to tour. Comfortable rooms and very friendly staff. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
The Anderson House is a 50 room Beaux Arts mansion built at the turn of the century. With architecture and craftsmanship reflecting the Gilded Age in Washington, it is truly something to behold. Your comments are sincerely appreciated as we are always delighted to learn when our staff and accommodations inspire a return visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Easy Customer Service Opportunity that was missed. My husband and I just got married 3 days ago and wanted to spend our honeymoon at the Fairfax since we have been there many times before; and even were engaged while staying there. Several days prior to our check-in, I e-mailed the hotel manager through the hotel's website, explained that it was our honeymoon and requested a quiet room within the hotel as a courtesy since we are frequent customers. I never heard back from the manager and upon checking in, we were still dressed in our wedding attire---and no one congratulated us, nor offered any sort of recognition of our special celebration----obviously no one cared. We got to our room and noticed that our request was ignored- we were put into a room right across from the elevators---so much for quiet---there was traffic back and forth in front of our room at all hours. I haplessly looked around the room for a complemetary bottle of champagne or even flowers from the manager- nope, nothing! I can understand that the manager wouldn't care to help us celebrate our special day if we booked through a third-party vendor, but I specifically booked through their website in the hopes that our celebration would be made special by staff that cared. Lesson learned. Repeat customers obviously are overlooked. I have had many friends travel to hotels on a first-time basis for their honeymoon and receive not only congrats at the door- but comps from management to help celebrate their very special time. I think that although this has been our staple go-to hotel in DC; this will be our last stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Congratulations on your recent wedding. The Fairfax at Embassy Row is truly honored to have been the location where your engagement occurred. It’s unfortunate that your experience with us was not enjoyable especially when visiting for such a special occasion. Regretfully, your e-mail correspondence was never received, as we surely would have made your time with us extra special. We encourage our guests who will be visiting for a special occasion to make sure to call the hotel to arrange for any special requests. Technology is a wonderful thing, but glitches can occur, and for that we sincerely apologize. The staff at The Fairfax at Embassy Row would never want to miss an opportunity to celebrate your special day and make it our priority. We hope to be able to welcome you back and regain the trust you once had in our hotel. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The Fairfax Embassy Row is in a very convenient location right near the Dupony Circle metrostop and a nice 20 min walk to Georgetown.
The hotel is a nice blending of modern convenience and classical elegance, e.g., dark polished woods, oval shaped lamps, high-thread count Italian bedlinens, Frette robes etc. Furnishings throughout the hotel are comfortable and tasteful with red capets, a baby grand piano, and marble bathrooms. Even the memopads are
in beautiful black leather holders. The toiletries are also first-class. For a little hotel it definitely does its best and cares about details.

The staff is very pleasant and tries very hard to make one's stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Even the little details can make the biggest difference and we’re thrilled that you enjoyed ours. The Fairfax at Embassy Row is situated within stately mansions and a variety of historic buildings, making for an enjoyable area to explore. Thank you for your gracious review and we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

I have now stayed at the Fairfax four times in the last few months and will be back again soon and often. This is a nice hotel with great staff. There never seems to be a wait for the front desk, elevator, or anything. Two complaints: 1) the rooms are on the small side, but very well appointed. 2)no pool. This hotel is in a great neighborhood, very nice for taking an evening stroll. Also, it is located 2 blocks from the Dupont Circle metro.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
The biggest compliment that we can receive is learning from a guest that they are planning to return again and often! We are deeply appreciative of your loyal patronage to The Fairfax at Embassy Row. It is wonderful to see that our staff was able to make your stay so enjoyable and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the surrounding neighborhood with a leisurely stroll. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel is a luxury accommodation in Dupont Circle by the White House, National Mall, and Lincoln Memorial. We have 259 guest roms, a grand ballroom, and several meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfax at Embassy Row, a Starwood Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.