We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a family city break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Parking
Ranked #26 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scotland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great spot for a family city break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is in a good location, within easy walking distance of both White House and DuPont Circle. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and the hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The family rooms were of an adequate size, for a short stay,not a great deal of luggage space. Only downside was that at the weekend, most of the nearby deli's and coffee shops were closed as their main clientele seemed to be staff from neighbouring offices. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear belfastgirl007,
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad you enjoyed our wonderful location and you found our hotel to be fantastic. Our team members strive every day to create memorable experiences for our guests and we are very happy this was the case for your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to Washington DC.

Warm Regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    635
    353
    90
    30
    27
See reviews for
272
291
46
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Humble, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was my time staying at Loews and the experience was great. The hotel could have extra staff at the front desk. The wait was borderline unacceptable. We also waited about 30 minutes for the valet to bring our car.

The rooms are beautiful and the hotel decor is nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Pamela B,
Thank you so much for staying at the Loews Madison Hotel recently and taking the time to share your experience. We were delighted to read that your experience was great and that you found the rooms and decor wonderful. I do apologize about the wait to check in as well as receiving your car from valet. These are not normal occurrences that we read about, however we appreciate you bringing them to our attention for review. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

What a wonderful place to stay! From the time I checked in until the time I left I was tottally impressed. The staff was friendly and attentive.

I only had two issues:
Housekeeping came to my room 4times one morning and continued to wake me up!
Incidental fees - I called ahead, after I booked my room and was assured there were additional costs to be incurred. Wrong, I had to pay $100/day to be refunded. That was a hassle.

Overall, I will be back and I am now a Loews Madison fan forever!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Willis J,
Thank you for recently staying with us and taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted that you are a fan of Loews Madison Hotel and that your time with us in DC was superb. I apologize for the miscommunication regarding additional charges. We do have 2 options upon check-in, you may leave your account open in order to have charging privileges to your room which are $100/day. When leaving a credit card at check-in this is simply an authorization placed on your card, however, when using a debit card we do have to charge the card up front and refund upon departure. This is because authorizing a debit card actually takes longer to release unused funds on departure than issuing a refund. The second option we have is for our guests to leave a 1 time $150 security deposit which does not give them the option of charging back to their room. I do hope this is helpful for future visits any time your travels bring you back to the DC area! Thanks again for staying with the Loews Madison Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Hotel was great for our DC vacation. Centrally located to the various places we wanted to see & experience. Hotel was clean, quiet, & comfortable. Lots of nearby dining options. Hotel staff professional, friendly & very helpful. Will stay again next DC trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Jan K,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our central location close to all the DC sites. Whether looking to utilize the metro, walk to the White House or enjoy all the dining options on 14th, our location provides the perfect retreat to access all that DC has to offer. We appreciate you mentioning our exceptionally clean rooms and very friendly staff. We pride ourselves on providing a supremely comfortable environment for all of our guests and we are glad this was the case for you. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Staying at this hotel made me question my judgement.

As in: Why have I ever stayed anywhere else?

My partner and I stayed at the Loews Madison for a volleyball tournament. Sylvia at the check-in desk, was our first impression - and what an impression she made! Hilarious and efficient, friendly and helpful. Our entire stay followed suit - incredible service (Thanks, Kallie!) and an amazing experience.

Speaking of amazing: Try the scallops at the PostScript...and then the pistachio ice cream. Good god.

I don't know many things, but I know one thing: If there is a Loews Hotel in any city I visit - that is where I will stay. And if there is no Loews hotel? Then I might need to determine if the trip is even necessary.

Thank you to everyone at the Loews Madison - for showing us what real customer service looks like.

Room Tip: I bet every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Kevin T,
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to share your review. We appreciate you mentioning the phenomenal service you received from a few of our team members. We have shared your feedback and recognized them for their outstanding efforts. You are certainly right about the Scallops at Postscript and the Pistachio ice cream, they are truly delightful. We are so happy that we were able to create such fantastic memories for you during your travels to DC. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime you are in the DC area.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Loews Madison Washington DC from May 16 - 19, 2014.
Everything at the Loews is exceptional - the staff at check-in, the doormen, the concierge; everyone was so nice, welcoming and helpful.
The room was spectacular, we stayed in room 926, and it was quite (even though it was near the elevators). The bed very comfortable, and the room spotless.
We ate breakfast at Post Script every morning, and the meals were great!
We also enjoyed the location of this hotel.
We would definitely return to the Loews Madison when we come back to DC.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Richard L,
Thank you for staying at the Loews Madison Hotel and taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate the kind words and were delighted to read how wonderful your stay was. From the friendly service to the supremely clean room to the fantastic food in the restaurant, we were happy to hear that your experience was a phenomenal in all areas. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel with a good location. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Nothing was to much trouble. From the lovely doorman, to the concierge who helped with the silliest of questions to the cleaning lady who never stopped smiling. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in this beautiful historic city.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Sue B,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing the kind words about your experience. We were delighted to hear all the positive comments you had regarding your stay. We love to hear our guests say how friendly our team is, how clean our rooms are and how wonderful our location is. Our team works very hard every day to create these fantastic memories that you write about and everyone was excited to hear your feedback. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to the DC area.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.