We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay service - central location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Madison Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #58 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Okay service - central location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed in the hotel this past Saturday night. The room and bathroom were very clean, although we did find a penny between our sheets. Not sure what that was about. The decor is lovely, very colonial era. The doormen were very rude as we arrived, they had their backs turned in conversation. We opened our own doors - not expected in a hotel of this caliber. It was very busy when we arrived, had to wait a bit to get checked in. And when our turn was up, the young man who checked us in was very unhelpful. Did not offer the wi-fi code or ask us if we needed anything. Just checked us in and moved on to the next guest. Again, this was not the level of service we expected from a hotel of this caliber. Otherwise, this is in a good central location but it is a bit pricey.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Sally L,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback about your stay. I am glad to learn you enjoy our central location, quality of our guest rooms, and found the décor lovely. That said, I’m disappointed hearing the service you experienced was not welcoming and prompt. I apologize that you did not receive the attentive, personalized service you deserve. I also feel confident to assure you this experience was not representative of the service excellence we work toward every day, and for which we are known by many guests based on positive comments we receive. I will take this opportunity to reaffirm with our team members the priority we place on top-notch guest service, from the front door to front desk and at every point of your stay.

Thank you again for your comments, and I hope we will get an opportunity to welcome you again to Loews Madison for a truly memorable stay.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    468
    150
    63
    39
See reviews for
351
391
58
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Having never been to DC, I spent a week (last minute trip) searching for the right hotel- close to the sights, in my price range and well rated/reviewed. We could not be happier with our decision!

From the moment we arrived, we were provided the best service- including excellent restaurant recommendations, help with a little surprise and hooking us up with a personal moonlight monument tour. Amazing. Even more amazing- we turned down a couple of offers to improve our stay even more - we were happy with our room, though offered an upgrade!

I cannot say enough good things about the Loews Madison. We will definitely stay there again when we return to DC.

Tip::: Look for Innocent, the Concierge, when you get there for all the best hints!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear EBVol,
Thanks very much for taking the time to review your stay – it sounds like others’ feedback helped you choose Loews Madison, so we appreciate you contributing your own. I’m thrilled our service made a big impression from the moment you arrived! This is our number one priority, and we’re fortunate to have a dedicated team. Innocent, one of our concierge, is truly a gem, and his knowledge of the city is a great asset.

I’m happy you could experience the nighttime monument tour- certainly a spectacular way to see Washington. Thank you again choosing Loews Madison- we are grateful. We hope you can make it back to DC before too long, and we would love the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I love thus hotel! Room is very clean and decor is lovely. Restaurant a bit overpriced as are most hotel restaurants. Staff very friendly and responsive. Close to 14st restaurants, DuPont circle and convention centre. Room cozy. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Mobaychic,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about Loews Madison. I’m so happy to hear you loved our hotel and would come back to stay again. I’m especially delighted our friendly staff and their helpful service made an impression on you.

I’m also excited you enjoyed our décor, and our great location convenient to 14th Street restaurants, attractions, the convention center and more! Thanks for pointing that out. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again when your travels bring you to DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My stay at Loews Madison was wonderful. All staff were extremely helpful during my stay from the moment I walked in the door. Every question was either answered on the spot or answered later after search.Rooms were comfortable and clean. Business center was helpful and on the mark too. I also noticed that locals visit the restaurant and lounge which is a good sign.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Edward C,
Thank you very much for the time to review your stay, as we hope this helps others deciding on Loews Madison. I’m very happy you had a wonderful stay, and could even have a ‘vacation while working.’ I appreciate you recognizing our dedication to top notch, friendly and always helpful service. I’m so glad this was your experience, and that our staff followed through on your needs.

Thanks for mentioning our comfortable, clean rooms, as well as our business center. I’m delighted your needs were met. Our PostScript restaurant and lounge/bar is indeed a popular spot for our guests and locals to get a meal, relax at happy hour after work, and also enjoy evenings including live jazz music and entertainment Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and we hope to be able to welcome you back on future trips to DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Had an amazing time at this hotel! The room was super nice with modern/vintage furniture. It was also spotless. Our room was a penthouse with a terrace - it was the icing on the cake. The terrace was spacious and private. Excellent view of the city! My friend and I were celebrating our birthdays and they had SWEET chocolate covered strawberries, an excellent bottle of champagne, and a wonderful bday card -all courtesy of the hotel. An excellent touch! :) If we needed anything extra for the room, they were at our room in minutes. They also provide a Fiat car service (at no extra charge) which takes you anywhere you need to go within a 3 mile radius from the hotel, from 11am-7pm which was very convenient for us. The location is ideal because it's close to everything. Overall, the entire staff was extremely professional, courteous, and helpful. I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Leche202,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We so appreciate your kind words! A belated Happy Birthday to you both! I’m absolutely thrilled you had such an amazing experience and thoroughly enjoyed ours rooms and furnishings. Our terrace suites are indeed a special treat, including their spaciousness, and some nice city views.

I’m happy you enjoyed the birthday treat and our team members’ attentive, courteous service. We pride ourselves on friendly, efficient attention to our guests’ needs. Thanks for noting our great location, which is ideal to explore so many of DC’s sights. It’s great you mentioned the FIAT free ride program. Loews is excited to partner with FIAT USA to provide this free service for guests – offered daily for rides to many locations throughout DC. Great that you took advantage of this!

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and we can’t wait to welcome you back the next time you come to DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel opened by JF Kennedy. The rooms were very nice and very large. We had booked a room for two people and got a nice room with two huge, very comfortable beds. Although we had booked without breakfast, we were treated to a continental breakfast. The location is good and at night, it is very quiet. Very nice staff. Service was ok, but nothing special. In the quality and price range, there are many hotels in DC to choose from. I was given a very warm welcome by the hotel staff. Overall a great hotel to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear DarrellMali,
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay. I’m delighted you rate us as a great hotel and enjoyed the spaciousness and quality of your room. It’s great to hear you liked our convenient location, central to many attractions and walking distance to the White House. Also, I always enjoy when people know a little of our history, including JFK cutting the ribbon for our hotel’s opening in 1963! Of course, we have since renovated and updated our property, and we’re very proud of our history.

Thank you for noting our friendly staff, and the warm, personal welcome you received. Providing memorable service that exceed expectations is something on which we continually work.

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and we would love to welcome you back anytime you travel to DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Recently stayed here for 2 nights, very nice indeed. The room was excellent and everything you need is there. The front desk were ok but not the greatest people, i asked where the sauna and steam room was...err err was the reply. I never did find it, even after looking in the fitness suite.
The breakfasts were fantastic and nothing was to much trouble. An excellent hotel in a super city!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear theboy75,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I’m glad to hear you found our hotel to be very nice, and enjoyed the quality of our rooms and amenities. I’m sorry to learn some team members weren’t able to give you the information you needed about our steam room, and I am addressing this with all our staff as providing helpful service is a number one priority. Thank you for noting how nothing was too much trouble for staff in our restaurant, and I’m so happy you had fantastic meals!

Thanks for choosing Loews Madison, and I hope we can welcome you back anytime you visit our super city of Washington, DC! Make a note that in Summer 2014, we'll be opening our new restaurant by renowned Chef Jose Garces, an Argentine steakhouse!

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
#43 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#90 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#69 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.