We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Madison Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 20% Off
Ranked #61 of 137 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited the Madison Hotel for 2 nights over the July 4th weekend. You can't ask for a better location. We walked to the Washington Memorial (about 15 minutes), strolled in, found a spot and watched the spectacular fireworks and the went back to the hotel. About an hour all in. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the staff helpful. Nothing spectacular, but also nothing to complain about. We used the workout facilities and they are small but well stocked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear AliciaA007,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. We are very glad you had the chance to enjoy our location just steps from all of the major attractions DC has to offer. We are glad you recognized the details we put into our rooms and service everyday to make our guests supremely comfortable. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Kind Regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

four blocks away from the White House, near all the bars and restaurants at Logan Circle.
We got a deal from Priceline and spent three nights at this hotel. We were very well looked after, no complaints at all!
Try Le Diplomate for brunch and DC Coast for dinner.
Would def stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Mnbr,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us online. We are very glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and got to experience everything our location has to offer. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Oak
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out, Lowe's Madison exceeded our expectations for accommodations, location and service. Their commitment to service for their guests was above and beyond any hotel we have ever stayed in. We had called ahead about transfer to hotel from airport and Innocent, the concierge, said please come see me when you get here. That was the best decision we made, He showed us how to get to Metro, bus routes, restaurants, sites, etc. He made a significant difference in our visit to Washington DC. and I highly recommend any one who stays at the Lowe's Madison to visit their Concierge.
The location was convenient walking distance to White House, National Mall, and Metro from which you could navigate the city. The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and quiet. When we needed extra wash cloths they were brought in timely manner. The Croque Madame we had for breakfast in the Post Script and cheese dip and Federalist Punch we had at The Federalist was the best food we ate while in Washington DC. The only concern was the service was little slow. We got our drinks after our entree but that pails in comparison to the all the positives. The Lowe's Madison staff was friendly, helpful and personable. We were very hesitant to stay in Washington DC after our last trip but I highly recommend a visit to Lowe's Madison and Washington DC. We did not want to leave because of the OUTSTANDING SERVICE!!! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Maryg,
Exceeding your expectations is our goal- and from your response we are glad we were able to accomplish it. Thank you for the positive feedback. Everyday we strive to deliver better service and it is your feedback that allows us to improve. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and rest assured that we have already recognized Innocent for his wonder service and attention to your specific needs. We look forward to hosting you as our guest again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel. It is in a great location but our stay was spoilt the minute we arrived at the hotel. We were driving a big econoline van and we were told there was no parking space for the vehicle because of the size. we had to drive around a strange place trying to find parking. This is a high end hotel so that is not acceptable. we then had to deal with an arrogant valet parker who was incredibly rude!!! This really spoilt our stay. The hotel should teach the guy to be polite as it is his job to do so. We would not stay there again because of the attitude. The hotel was very nice though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. While we are happy to hear your experience overall was enjoyable, we regret we were unable to accommodate your vehicle. We sincerely apologize for the way the situation was handled and our valet department will review and improve our process for larger vans. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to contact us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Madison Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Loews, along with a friend in another room, for 3 nights in June 2013. We came to tour the area, see the main sites and museums and do some shopping and eating. The Loews was a good choice for that although perhaps a bit light on the variety of nearby eating options.

We arrived early (around noon) and had no problems checking in early. The front desk staff was polite and largely efficient (except when a thundershower came along and umbrellas couldn't be located for 10 minutes, the umbrellas having disappeared from our rooms where they should have been).

The rooms are well sized and in good condition. I understand renos were done not too long ago. The only semi-con, if i'm being picky, is that the AC unit was a bit loud but I'm glad it had AC that was effective in the summer heat. The gym is not large but does have nice free weights, a couple of treadmills and a few pieces of equipment.

The hotel is within a short walk to the White House, museums and National Mall. However, after walking for hours touring around and in the sweltering heat, we found it convenient and worthwhile to take a cab back to the hotel (taxis are so much cheaper than our home in Vancouver). Lots of cabs around.

The immediate surrounding area itself is largely business so there's not a huge night vibe, shopping nor variety of places to eat. There is, however, a pharmacy/convenience store about a block away, which was useful. And a Starbucks and two other coffee shops.

For eating I'd suggest going to Georgetown - a short cab ride away - or DuPont Circle. And you'll find the best shopping in Georgetown.

The Loews is a good place to stay taking price, location and comfort level into account. I'd recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rvtBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear RvtBC,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us online. We appreciate your feedback and insight into your experience with us. We are very happy to know that you will visit us again when your travels bring you back to Washington DC.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Loews Madison Hotel in Washington, DC is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at, and I travel a lot for work. We used it is our wedding "host hotel," and everything was perfect! All of our guests loved it. The service was impecable and the rooms are fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbenardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Mbenardo,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your stay with us. We strive everyday to exceed our guests expectations and we are certainly happy we accomplished that with your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Loews Madison Hotel.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a classy hotel, with nice decor throughout. Very welcoming staff (German is great in reception) and clean and modern rooms. Location is also good, walking distance from many restaurant and some of the sights in town. I would like to try other hotels in DC, but this one sets a decent standard for them all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jgr83,
Thank you! We pride ourselves in offering friendly and efficient customer service and we are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. We appreciate your kind words about German and we have already recognized him for his efforts. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our property and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,654 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 137 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
U Street Corridor
The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel
#35 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#83 of 137 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing