We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Madison Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #58 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent hotel! Rooms and meeting spaces were wonderful. The location was great. We were able to walk to restaurants and to the White House.

We held a meeting here and everyone on the staff was very friendly and willing to help.

I would highly recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure. I hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Ashley, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Loews Madison Hotel and its central location. We also appreciate your positive feedback regarding our staff and newly renovated guest and meeting rooms. We thank you for choosing Loews Madison Hotel and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    469
    150
    63
    40
See reviews for
352
392
59
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

When I first entered my room, I thought, eh, this room seems fine, but, then I laid down on the bed. Wow, great pillows, great bed, I slept extremely well. The bathroom was quite nice as well, marble, great shower/water pressure. They only negative was the way the door was situated with the shower head it was pretty much impossible to avoid getting water all of the floor when entering the shower. The staff was nice, I did not interact with them that much with the exception of checking in and and checking out - which was fast, I always appreciate a quick check out where they email you the receipt. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Conveniently located just outside of the city but still near The White House, this hotel was a joy to come back to and the end of our busy days. Everyone on the staff were friendly, attentive, and always had a smile on their faces. Clean room, very nice bars. Would definitely stay here again and have already recommended to friends

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, the Madison has an exceptionally friendly and professional staff. The rooms are an interesting blend of boutique hotel furniture with many classic Washington, DC touches. Excellent wines by the glass at the hotel bar as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We couldn't be happier to hear that you found our staff to be welcoming and professional. Our guest rooms were recently renovated and we did try to incorporate the feel and history of Washington D.C. into the decor. We hope you will come back to visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

EVERYONE at the hotel is service oriented. You are greeted outside the door by the most personable and professional staff and that same friendliness is experienced throughout the hotel. The room was immaculate and well-maintained. Top quality linens throughout. A nice large bathroom and a spacious bedroom to relax in after a long day of sightseeing. We initially had trouble operating the coffee pot, and they quickly brought up a fresh pot, courtesy of the hotel. The concierges on duty helped make the trip most memorable: A big thank you to Kaeuthau R. She was extremely patient and her insight and recommendations were the icing
on the cake. We especially like using public transportation but are unfamiliar; and with the help of the concierges we managed to master it, even venturing outside the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We try our best to make our guests feel welcome and we're ecstatic to hear about your positive experiences with our staff. Using public transportation in a new city can indeed be challenging and we're glad that our concierge was able to assist you. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Madison Hotel very soon!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel, as we were attending a conference. It is about a 10 - 15min walk to the convention centre. The rooms are spacious and clean. Rooms contain a nice coffee pod machine. Good location, but no metro stops close by. Staff are helpful and friendly. Free wifi available in the rooms. There is also a small gym. The bar attached to the hotel - The Federalist is great. Good cocktails and drinks and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We're glad to have been your hotel of choice during your recent conference. While the fastest way to get to the Convention Center is to walk, McPherson Square metro is located 2 blocks away and provides easy access to many other nearby attractions. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the bar at the Federalist and hope to see you again upon your return to the area.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was the first time we have stayed at this hotel. First the positives - beautiful hotel and rooms, very comfortable accommodation, great facilities. When we arrived though the doorman (an elderly gentleman) was extremely antagonistic. When we were unloading our bags from our car he was shocked and annoyed that we wanted to handle our own suitcases! I explained to him they were heavy and two cases contained fragile items. When I asked to use the trolley he refused, stating it was "against the hotel rules" - I couldn't believe it, immediately entering into an extended argument with him in front of the hotel we were about to stay in for 5 nights. My wife managed to contact a manager (I assume) inside the hotel who told the doorman to allow me to use the luggage trolley. The ridiculous actions of one employee was the only downside to our otherwise fantastic stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
#43 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 950 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#89 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#26 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#68 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.