We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Madison Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #54 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beverly Hills, California, USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a week, and the staff was fantastic, from the doormen, front desk, to the bartenders. We had some slight issues on our first night, but the hotel was quick to fix and ensure the rest of our stay was perfect. We even received an apology cheese plate, which was a very nice touch. The location was fantastic. Literally 5 blocks from the White House. The restaurant served a great breakfast and even made me a custom meal (I'm a bit picky) and dinner was even better dinner. (My mom, said her salmon was one of the best she's ever had) The beds and pillows were beyond comfortable and our room was clean and very nice sized. I would 100% stay here again, and would reco anyone heading to DC stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    426
    132
    56
    36
See reviews for
321
359
50
432
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Severn, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed two nights at The Madison at the beginning of April. The room was gorgeous and well appointed. Check in was quick and easy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Valet parking staff were again friendly and efficient. The hotel's location was excellent. Walking distance to the museums and there was a coffee shop right across the street. We will definitely choose The Madison again if we find ourselves in DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Loews Madison Hotel. Our guest rooms were recently renovated so it's always wonderful to hear positive feedback about the new decor. We appreciate your five star review and can't wait to welcome you back to Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Michigan
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Clean, located very easily to walking distance of many attractions, staff friendly and helpful, concierge is very helpful and always available...restaurant was wonderful at breakfast and at dinner...this hotel made this a great trip.. I only wished there had been a jacuzzi available...thank-you all

Room Tip: The room I had did not have a good view at all...was the H-vac cooling/heating system...but kept cur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
It was our pleasure - we're honored to have hosted you! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our downtown location and found our Concierge helpful. While most of our Deluxe Rooms are interior facing, our Luxury and Executive Rooms feature cityscape views and may be of interest during your next stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will visit Loews Madison Hotel again upon your return to DC!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miltown
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Madison for 4 nights in the beginning of April. The front desk staff was very friendly as well as the bartenders in the hotel. However , our room had a horrible view of the Hvac system and when we asked right away to be moved they said they had no other rooms. The door to our room was broken. It looked liked someone had kicked it open because the locks barely worked. The room overall was clean but there were some noticeable stains on the chair and floor. The bed was not what you would expect from a hotel with that rating. The mattress was sinking in and squeaky. The paper was never delivered on a daily basis as promised. When we check in the concierge explained to us that we could have k-cups whenever we requested them. However, my husband called to request more and we waited over an hour (while showering and getting dressed) and no one ever brought them to us. During our stay no one checked in on us to see how we were, or if we needed anything. We travel often, and are from the Chicago area. We have stayed in many hotels that have received the same rating as The Madison. However, I just don't feel like this hotel matched the service we had expected to receive. No price menu for the mini bar either ??
Good location, easy walking distance to almost anything.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for your review, Allison. We're sorry to hear about the housekeeping oversights in your guest room. We try to make each stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible and we regret to hear about the various inconveniences you endured. We will be reaching out to you directly to further discuss the issues you experienced.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I came with my husband for the weekend. The front desk was very friendly and accommodating. I arrived early and was afraid I would have to sit around but they had a room available and let me check in. I was thrilled! The rooms are modern but small. White duvet on the bed and the normal flat screen tv,etc. The bathrooms were also very modern and CLEAN but extremely small! I am a small girl so I don't really know how a large person could utilize this space.
The only negative thing I can say and it's actually funny is - I was heading out the front door and apparently there was a celebrity walking out as well..well the front door staff moved quickly to help her and they must have forgot that there was someone else walking out the door because it practically slammed in my face... no biggy they were probably excited.
Room service was just ok..the salad was blah with no taste, but the crabcake was really good.
The breakfast was really good at the restaurant.
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We're glad that you and your husband enjoyed your time in DC! Being able to check in early is always a nice surprise and we're thrilled that your room was ready upon your arrival. We're sorry to hear that your bathroom felt small, however we do offer larger bathrooms in our Executive Rooms and Suites. We appreciate your review and thank you for choosing Loews Madison Hotel!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantucket
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

our family trip to the madison was all we could have hoped for: beautiful and luxurious rooms, helpful and attentive staff, an incredible location and a fair price for the level of appointment....everything was top notch, including the food at the federalist (literal best burger of my life, plus some delicious more refined fare as well). the only caveat i'd offer is to put up the do not disturb sign if you want to sleep in as house keeping gets an early start. basically, though, a home run.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
It sounds like you had a fabulous time during your recent stay! The burger at the Federalist is one of our favorites as well - you should also try the Braised Pork Shoulder sandwich, another popular choice. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our downtown location and found our staff to be helpful. We thank you for choosing Loews Madison Hotel and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had already booked before I read the reviews about not booking through Hotwire, Hotels, or other online services if going to Loews Madison. Please believe what the other reviewers said about getting the worst room if you don't book through the hotel. We asked for a quiet room and were given a room on the fourth floor directly above the unloading area for all the supplies coming into the hotel. The noise began before 6 am and continued for about two hours every morning we were there. The parking fee is indeed $40 per night and the only ice is through room service and you have to ask for extra coffee every day if you want several cups in the morning. Our bathroom was so small that the only way to get two people in it was if one stood in the shower.
The service was indeed excellent, the bed comfortable and the hotel was appointed quite attractively but definitely NOT worth the money.

Room Tip: Evidently you have to book through the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and regret to hear about the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We would like to assure you that we do not reserve subpar rooms for guests who book through outside websites. Depending on availability, we are generally able to accommodate room type requests that are made in advance. While we are happy that you felt the service was excellent, we’re sorry that you felt the hotel did not provide good value. We strive to offer competitive prices for the level of comfort, quality and service we provide. We appreciate your feedback and I have shared your comments with our team for review.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.