We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Modern Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Madison Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #58 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Modern Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I came with my husband for the weekend. The front desk was very friendly and accommodating. I arrived early and was afraid I would have to sit around but they had a room available and let me check in. I was thrilled! The rooms are modern but small. White duvet on the bed and the normal flat screen tv,etc. The bathrooms were also very modern and CLEAN but extremely small! I am a small girl so I don't really know how a large person could utilize this space.
The only negative thing I can say and it's actually funny is - I was heading out the front door and apparently there was a celebrity walking out as well..well the front door staff moved quickly to help her and they must have forgot that there was someone else walking out the door because it practically slammed in my face... no biggy they were probably excited.
Room service was just ok..the salad was blah with no taste, but the crabcake was really good.
The breakfast was really good at the restaurant.
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We're glad that you and your husband enjoyed your time in DC! Being able to check in early is always a nice surprise and we're thrilled that your room was ready upon your arrival. We're sorry to hear that your bathroom felt small, however we do offer larger bathrooms in our Executive Rooms and Suites. We appreciate your review and thank you for choosing Loews Madison Hotel!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    469
    150
    63
    40
See reviews for
352
392
59
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nantucket
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

our family trip to the madison was all we could have hoped for: beautiful and luxurious rooms, helpful and attentive staff, an incredible location and a fair price for the level of appointment....everything was top notch, including the food at the federalist (literal best burger of my life, plus some delicious more refined fare as well). the only caveat i'd offer is to put up the do not disturb sign if you want to sleep in as house keeping gets an early start. basically, though, a home run.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
It sounds like you had a fabulous time during your recent stay! The burger at the Federalist is one of our favorites as well - you should also try the Braised Pork Shoulder sandwich, another popular choice. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our downtown location and found our staff to be helpful. We thank you for choosing Loews Madison Hotel and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had already booked before I read the reviews about not booking through Hotwire, Hotels, or other online services if going to Loews Madison. Please believe what the other reviewers said about getting the worst room if you don't book through the hotel. We asked for a quiet room and were given a room on the fourth floor directly above the unloading area for all the supplies coming into the hotel. The noise began before 6 am and continued for about two hours every morning we were there. The parking fee is indeed $40 per night and the only ice is through room service and you have to ask for extra coffee every day if you want several cups in the morning. Our bathroom was so small that the only way to get two people in it was if one stood in the shower.
The service was indeed excellent, the bed comfortable and the hotel was appointed quite attractively but definitely NOT worth the money.

Room Tip: Evidently you have to book through the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and regret to hear about the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We would like to assure you that we do not reserve subpar rooms for guests who book through outside websites. Depending on availability, we are generally able to accommodate room type requests that are made in advance. While we are happy that you felt the service was excellent, we’re sorry that you felt the hotel did not provide good value. We strive to offer competitive prices for the level of comfort, quality and service we provide. We appreciate your feedback and I have shared your comments with our team for review.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I recently visited Washington DC for a few days sightseeing and stayed at the Madison. After 16 hours traveling I expected a little bit more service on check in. My credit card had to be re-checked three times and I was given no hotel info regarding the free wireless, breakfast, the facilities at all, which I found strange.
The room was amazing however, spacious and very comfortable and very quiet on the weekend but could suffer from street noise on weekdays.
The hotel is in a great area, very close to the metro but also to the White House.
The hotel breakfasts are great, a lot of choice and not only your usual eggs and bacon. The service from Mo was also good.
Biggest problem for me is the lack of a kettle or anything to boil water in the room. As a tea drinker the coffee machine did not assist me at all, although it did have 1 green tea capsule a day.
The lovely Brazillian lady on the concierge desk was very helpful with recommendations for shopping, restaurants and sight seeing.
Definately not the cheapest hotel in the area and if you get a deal, go for it.

Room Tip: Unless you are an early riser, ask for a quiet room, as the street noise could be an issue on weekda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
As our guest rooms were recently renovated, hearing positive feedback about the decor always makes our day! We apologize for the lack of information you were given upon checking in; we generally try to provide our guests with all the information needed to make each stay as seamless as possible. We are, however, glad to hear that you were able to seek assistance from our ever talented Concierge. During your next stay, please feel free to request additional tea - we too adore it and would be happy to offer you tea in place of coffee. We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed at the Loews Madison Hotel on business recently. Rooms were spacious and clean with nice appointments. I believe this was an older hotel that was updated to a modern boutique-style. Staff was friendly/helpful and the hotel was in a central location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
You're right - while the Madison has been around for over 50 years, we recently underwent a large renovation and redesigned everything including our lobby, guest rooms, meeting spaces and suites. We're ecstatic to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and enjoyed our central, downtown location. We thank you for your kind words and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

After some initial confusion was resolved regarding the adjoining rooms we had requested, we had a lovely stay here. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms were spotless, and room service was prompt. When we needed little extras in our room (coffee pods for the keurig, a cot) these were delivered promptly, with a smile. Although pricey, the dinner we had in the hotel dining room was fresh and well prepared, When I found out the hotel was taken over by Loews I was leery, since we had had a bad experience with the chain, but everything met or exceeded expectations.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your five star review! We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our newly renovated decor and in-room amenities. We realize it's the "little extras" that go a long way in making a getaway as relaxing and comfortable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Madison Hotel soon!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I enjoyed this small hotel. My room was a nice size for a big city hotel, very clean, and completely quiet. The elevators were extremely fast. The staff was very helpful, from the registration desk to the bell desk, to the concierge. I was with a group and we got excellent suggestions from the concierge for restaurants and attractions. Very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Loews Madison! It was our pleasure to host your group, and we are pleased to find that you received attentive service and helpful recommendations from our staff. We hope to see you again upon your return to the area!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
#43 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 950 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#91 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#26 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#68 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.