We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Madison Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #58 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ashland, MA
2 reviews
“Lovely hotel, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just returned from 3 nights at the Madison. The rooms were beautifully decorated, well appointed, and very clean. The towels were large, fluffy and soft which is something I appreciate after having found the opposite in many hotels. The staff was amazing, helpful and friendly, always remembering and using our names upon departure and arrival. Their Star service is just that. Requests were responded to quickly and efficiently. It is centrally located and walking distance or short cab or metro ride to most attractions. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again on our next trip to DC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    468
    150
    63
    39
See reviews for
351
391
58
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great experience at the Madison. Loved the decor. The staff were VERY friendly and attentive. The room we had was a average/decent sized king room but the decor is lovely and gives it a very upscale feel. We walked around in the evening as well as at night and felt very comfortable in the neighborhood. Very convenient to get to the white house and other sights. This time it was just my husband and I for a weekend getaway but this is the kind of hotel where you could also bring your family and be very comfortable. Highly recommend and looking forward to returning next year!

Room Tip: We chose the deluxe king room to get the street view but I wouldn't bother next time. The street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durant, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had our reservations a month in advance. Imagine our disappointment after the travel, time and effort when we arrived at the hotel to find no room. They moved us to the Omni and said we could come back after 2 nights. It just wasn't worth the time and re packing to go back. So we didn't.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at the Loews Madison Hotel in March, 2013 for 4 nights with my 12 year old son.  The Madison is centrally located.  It is 12 blocks from the Museum of Natural History.  We walked to the national mall our first day and it took us about 30 minutes.  On the rest of the days,  we took advantage of the Capital Bikes program and biked to all of the museums and monuments from the Madison.  There is a Capital Bike Rental station one block from the hotel.  It is also only 4 blocks to a Whole Foods grocery store (on P and 15th Street), which we went to for healthy snacks and even dinner one night.  We walked to Georgetown our first night for dinner, which was about 18 blocks from the hotel.  The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable.  The bell staff were very friendly and helpful.  They held our bags in a locked room for 3 hours on our last day.  There were, however, several things that detracted from our visit. On oddity at check in was that they said I had asked for a lower level room, which I had not requested.  I had requested a garden view room.  I figured out that Loews, in an effort to be helpful, had saved my request for a low level room from a previous trip with my dog in another city.  They put us in a room on the 4th floor that faced the street, which was noisy, but manageable.   The restaurant was also not a great fit for us.  We ate breakfast at the restaurant two mornings.  The waitstaff were friendly and attentive and the food was ok.  However, the restaurant seems to be business oriented and the host sat us and the other families in the back, away from the business people who were in the front of the restaurant both mornings.  The host also made us wait 10 minutes one morning to seat us, even though there were plenty of available tables.  One last thing, my son left his book in the room on the bed when we left.  It was not a valuable book, but he was enjoying it so I called the hotel 4 hours after we checked out and asked if they could get it from the housekeeper and send it to us.  The person to whom I spoke said that they would call us back in 15 minutes, but never did.  I waited 45 minutes then called them again.  The hotel staff member said that they were not able to find the book.  This was odd and disappointing. 

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Loews Madison has been renamed and recently spruced up.

The service was very friendly and attentive and I was given a spacious, well-appointed corner room. The room had tons of storage, different areas in which to work or relax, even a great spot to work while looking out at the view.

On the negative side, the bathroom (while nicely renovated) is a little tight and the heating system made quite a bit of noise when it came on, but it was not a big deal.

Room service was extremely friendly and pretty speedy. The bell staff and front desk staff were very helpful and nice.

The Madison isn't cheap and it's a solid 15-20 minute cab ride from the Capitol, but I'd definitely stay here again. All in all a very good looking hotel with good food and terrific service from the staff.

Room Tip: There's a fair amount of street noise, higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is in a nice location, 3 blocks from a subway stop that connects straight to the airport. The White House and Smithsonian are about an 8 block walk away. I stayed in a room with one king size bed for one night, then when friends arrived we moved to a room with two double beds. Both rooms were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: We were up on the 8th floor which made it quieter re: any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I reserved this room in mid-January. I arrived at the hotel in March and was told that the hotel had overbooked and my room was no longer available. Beware!!! I was offered a comp at a comparable hotel which was not at all the same standard of hotel. I will never return to this hotel and would advise others against it as well!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
It is our deepest regret that we were unable to accommodate your stay after you graciously chose Loews Madison Hotel for your recent business trip. We know traveling is exhausting, and having to relocate certainly does not make it easier. Like all hotels, we are occasionally forced to manage capacity issues to the best of our ability. Unfortunately, on rare occasions this can result in asking our guests to relocate to other nearby properties.

We hope that incurring the cost of your stay can begin to make up for this inexcusable mishap. We can assure you that this experience is not in line with the high service standards we strive to uphold and look forward to regaining your trust in Loews Madison Hotel upon your return to the area. We would like to express our sincere apologies and welcome the opportunity to discuss this further should you have any additional questions or concerns.

Warm regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
#43 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#90 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#69 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.