We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Parking
Ranked #26 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Madison is back! Loews has done an excellant job since buying the hotel back. The food and new rooms are top notch, and the service is first class. I highly endorse this hotel for business or personal travel.

The staff, especially Kaoulhar are exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    636
    355
    90
    31
    28
See reviews for
273
292
46
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Started out having cocktails at The Madison last Friday night. Great crowd in the bar but we sat in the quieter area for some good conversation. Had a late night out in Washington DC and didn't intend to even stay overnight, especially since I only live in Old Town Alexndria VA. You know the rules...NO drinking & driving and it was really late. The Madison was so accommodating. My room was really nicely appointed and had great lotions and shampoo!

Of course, I didn't travel with toothpast & toothbrush. Floss yes but not the essentials. I frantically called downstairs at 3 am and they brought up my teeth needs. I was afraid to even breathe on the person who brought it!

Breakfast the next morning: wow!!! amazing yogurt/honey/fruit/granola. trying to stay a bit healthy. the rest of the group had what I envied: eggs/potatoes/toast!! great presentation.

I really enjoyed my stay here. Hallways were quiet (well it was 3 am...) and the beds were SOOO COMFORTABLE!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We're very glad to hear about your serendipitous stay with us - I suppose that is one of the many benefits of enjoying cocktails at a hotel! Our Lobby Bar is one of our favorite parts of Loews Madison. The framed paintings above the bar are actually antiques collected from all around the world. We're ecstatic that you experienced breakfast at PostScript. We appreciate your kind words about the food and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Madison was a perfect choice for our recent girl's weekend in DC. The hotel decor was sophisticated with a touch of glamor. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff could not have been more friendly or more helpful. We were even able to check-in early. Each morning we were greeted by the enthusiastic "Romeo" while leaving the hotel for the day. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We feel fortunate to be the chosen location for your girl’s weekend! During our recent renovation, we tried to balance contemporary comfort with the sophisticated glamour of Washington D.C. and we couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed the décor. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting your next weekend getaway as well. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even more memorable.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We took a taxi from the airport for convenience; it was approx 45-50 mins and cost approx $60 for the 2 of us (May 2012).

Hotel location is excellent to take in this amazing city. It took us approx 10-15 minutes to get to all major tourist sites, the museums, The White House, Dupont Circle etc. Georgetown would have taken us longer but would not have been unachievable, though we didn’t have time on our whistle-stop 2 night stay.

The room was gorgeous, massive comfy bed, very clean too. A pleasure to come back to after hours of walking round this beautiful city.

There’s a bar on the corner, 2 minutes from the hotel, which was nice to visit for a few drinks to battle jetlag.

I can’t fault the hotel. It’s got great decor, is luxurious and with friendly staff in a good location. We'd definately stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, Elizabeth! We are thrilled to hear that our downtown location was convenient for you during your weekend excursion. Having recently completed a renovation, we are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the decor of our guest rooms and lobby. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Madison Hotel soon!

Warm regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem , PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a night this past weekend to enjoy one of our favorite cities . This hotel is stunning , clean and fresh .
We booked through Expedia with no problems. Just a few tips...we booked the luxury king for $40 more than the deluxe. Turns out the only differnce was the luxury faces the city, the deluxe has an interior view, no differnce in the room itself. Our room was on the 3rd floor, so the only view we had was another building and the noisy street . Not worth the money for the upgrade! Also the only parking they offer is $40 a day valet, so we parked in a garage down the street for $25.

We will be staying again, just a little wiser to how things work.Great job with the renovation !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We're glad to hear that you like our post-renovation look! You are correct in that our Luxury Guest Rooms offer street views superior to our Deluxe Guest Rooms and we do apologize for the street noise you experienced on the third floor. While we do require a fee for our valet parking services, we strive to offer rates that are competitive for downtown D.C. hotels. It was our pleasure to host you and your husband this weekend and we hope your stay was memorable. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your experience more pleasurable upon your return to Loews Madison!

Warm regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We came here for a weekend getaway. We reserved the Penthouse Room. The room was very clean and very Chic. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, the service was outstanding. We ordered room service for lunch. It came quickly, was hot, and delicious. For the price we paid for the room, it was a steal. Excellent service and a comfortable stay. I will be staying here from now on when I visit DC!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a weekend trip to DC and chose to stay at the Madison. The hotel was beautiful, clean and comfortable. The service was top notch. We will hopefully get to stay there again soon. We especially enjoyed having the valet parking available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.