We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Madison Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit or Pick a Perk
Ranked #51 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel was everything we could have wanted it to be. It only a few blocks away (walking distance) from just about everything you want to see. The bellman were great, they always welcomed us and opened the doors for us as we walked in and out of the hotel. The front desk was very helpful as well as the concierge. The rooms were a good size and the decorations gave off the authentic Washington DC vibe. My friend and I purchased the hotel through hotwire and the price could not be beat! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    409
    118
    50
    33
See reviews for
313
341
50
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westwood, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location, as we prefer to walk to get to our sights, and that way we always get the feel of the city and all sorts of interesting things along the way. We were so happy to have chosen this place for our stay in DC. The staffs were very welcoming and obliging. The room and bathroom were clean, modern, and up to date. The decor is totally wonderful. We would be happy to stay at The Madison again the next time we are back in DC!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is an average. The booking process gets 1 star. The rest was a solid 4+.

Booking a reservation here was like pulling teeth! My email took 2 days to get a response, and when I called, 3 different calls before I reached a live person. Once I did get through, the phone reservation agent was so rude that I could only imagine he misunderstood and thought I wasn't coming at all (I was coming under another friend's reservation). Not good setup for arrival! I emailed the hotel to ask what was going on and if we could expect better treatment upon arrival and, surprise surprise, got nothing back. To be honest, if we hadn't been part of a wedding booking, I would have switched hotels at that point.

Once we arrived (we were part of a large wedding booking), staff was more friendly, which was much better. The hotel bar closed extremely early, that was our only complaint, and a bit of a surprise in a big city. Otherwise staff was consistent, location is perfect, rates were fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We apologize for the complications you experienced with your reservation. We strive to provide warm, attentive service and regret to hear that you were met with anything less than outstanding customer care. We are glad that you chose to stay at The Madison despite this inconvenience and thrilled that you enjoyed your experience once you arrived. We take your feedback seriously and will use this information to address these challenges moving forward. We look forward to your return so we can provide you with the superb, customized service for which The Madison is known!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at The Madison to attend the 2013 Inauguration. The hotel was very nice and the staff was exceptional. The rooms were very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The location was perfect and could not be beat. We did use the overnight valet which is $40 per night. The valet was efficient and there was never a long wait. However there is a parking garage next door which is half the price. None the less, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with turn down service. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

In DC for a fun weekend, no business. Upgraded to a junior suite room. Very helpful staff. The hotel is in a good location because we like to walk to get a feel for the city and find interesting things along the way. Comfortable room.

The breakfast / lunch / coffee bar in the hotel is fine and works. You may want to wander a bit and not stop into the attached bar/restaurant.

All things considered, a great stay.

Room Tip: Not sure what the regular rooms are like, the terrace junior suite is really nice and perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We appreciate your review, Michael. We’re glad that you had the opportunity to try PostScript and the Federalist restaurant, located adjacent to the hotel. Both menus change seasonally and feature weekly specials that are updated on a regular basis. We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We decided to spend our last weekend before our daughter headed back to college in Washington, DC. We planned to only go to the Mall and we wanted a hotel that would be a treat for everyone. So late Thursday night, before hitting I95 in the morning, we narrowed our choices to our versions of the high (The Willard) and the mid (Westin in Georgetown). The next morning, after one last google to try to get it right, we switched to The Madison, though felt we were compromising on location.

We were wrong on a compromised location and right on the treat. If you can walk, the Madison is in a great location about eight sight-filled blocks from the mall. We admired quite a few statues in parks on the way, past the White House and other government buildings. We didn't use the Metro which is only 3 blocks away, but it did have its share of homeless setups. However, we walked past the station several times day and night with no problems. The last day we had only 2 hours to see the National Gallery of Art, so the hotel doorman popped us into a waiting cab which was a $10 ride. The cab stand is right outside the hotel and always seemed to have cabs ready to go.

The roomy and comfortable lobby is beautiful in shades of white and gray with a George Washington themed toile wallpaper. Check-in was easy and the bellman spent time showing us our room (safe, umbrella, refrigerator, Keurig, wine opener, etc.) and pointing out hotel amenities. We saw him many times during our stay and he was friendly and helpful. Housekeeping quickly solved our forgotten toothbrush.

The room with two queen beds is beautiful, and though right in front of the elevator bank, was not noisy on that front. We were on the eighth floor and did hear traffic, but on a weekend it wasn't bad. The only problem for us was the rolling desk chair. The narrow space between the desk and bed was booby-trapped by the spoke-like legs of the chair if you did not take the time to completely push it under the desk. Our toes took quite a beating. I guess the other drawback was only one robe, but none of us used it anyway. I also found the Bigelow toiletries watery. DH and daughter used the gym and had no crowd/wait for machine problems.

A delicious breakfast for 2 in the Postscript restaurant was included (I knew I would still be stuffed from dinner, so I just had coffee). The ambience was great, though DH had trouble finding a comfortable spot on the chair, so he switched to the banquette. The available newspapers were on a center table. Friday night, after battling beltway and bad weather traffic, we were relieved to just head downstairs to the Federalist restaurant for a hearty meal. We really appreciated both restaurants at The Madison. For our second night's dinner the concierge got us into an Italian restaurant just a few blocks away. Everyone was surreptitiously listening to the Baltimore Ravens game while we listened to the Denver Broncos game. There was a mini party when Baltimore beat Denver.

We knew hotel parking would be expensive, so we thought only one night and then something else. After googling and using parking apps, we learned that the parking fee was "reasonable for the area" and stayed put. We clocked out at noon, checked our bags with the doorman, finished up the National Gallery of Art, cabbed back to the hotel to reclaim our bags and car and then hit the road. Very easy and delightful weekend treat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your thorough review of your stay! We are ecstatic to hear that you chose The Madison and enjoyed our location, staff and facilities. We recently underwent a year long renovation and upgraded all of our guest rooms and public spaces. The toile wallpaper that you noticed was actually inspired by a pattern used in JFK’s private quarters in the White House. We understand the spatial issue you experienced with your desk chair and will take your feedback into consideration as we continue to improve our establishment. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Madison upon your return to Washington D.C.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have nothing but praise for your hotel. Every single member of the staff that we came in contact with was friendly, helpful, service-oriented, efficient, just wonderful. The hotel's location was perfect for us. We walked three blocks to the Metro Station to visit all the sites and two blocks to see the White House. It is located in a nice area, lots of eateries, a CVS, church too. We loved the ambiance, the hotel's restaurant (food was excellent) and room service was quick and beautifully presented. Our room's decor was so attractive, comfortable bed, chairs, great flat screen TV, the Keurig coffee maker was such a treat. Spacious and very clean bathroom and no noise at all. The concierges who helped us were both knowledgeable and helpful. They understood our requests and helped us with a wonderful tour of D.C. at night that was very educational. Whenever we visit D.C. again, we will definitely stay at the Madison. We recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.