We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, would definitely stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Madison Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit or Pick a Perk
Ranked #51 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, would definitely stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a business trip, and was very impressed. While my room was on the smaller side, it was very nicely furnished, with a plush king-sized bed, comfy armchair, and desk with ergonomic chair. Bathroom only had a shower, but this was not a negative for me. Bathroom amenities were high-quality (and I like that they provided shampoo/conditioner without sulfates, parabens, or phathlates). Everything was very spotless. I appreciated the in-room Keurig as well. Wifi was complimentary and I connected with no problems. The fitness center had the basic machines, and also towels and water (which I don't always find in hotel fitness centers). While it is a central location, it's not that close to any metro stops, and the area is rather quiet at night which is good for sleeping and bad, I suppose, if you want to go out, but that's what cabs are for. I would definitely stay here again, whether it be for business or leisure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    409
    118
    50
    33
See reviews for
313
341
50
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The quality and price of this renovated hotel in an excellent location is worth commenting on.
We were planning a late December weekend in Washington DC. We'd been to Washington several times and had usually stayed at hotels from pricier chains. Typically when we travel outside cities (Amish Country, Williamsburg VA., Lake George, NY) we tend to find decent motels in the range of $150 a night and have a few chains that we gravitate towards but when staying in a city, we prefer something more polished. Of course, we expect the rates to be quite a bit higher for such accomodations. For this trip, we did our online research using a few of those websites that run comparisons of hotel rates or bargain rates. We came across The Madison with rooms at $152 a night (plus tax and parking).
The room was fabulous, well appointed and comfortable, the service friendly and attentive, the amenites were a delight.
The only negative to this choice was that it was a good few blocks to a Metro station. However, the hotel IS downtown in a nice area in walking distance to the White House.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We got better rates by calling the hotel directly instead of booking with the "guaranteed lowes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience at The Madison, Barry. We strive to provide the right mix of attentive service and amenities to make each stay relaxing and invigorating. We thank you for your positive feedback and look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Madison was my first stop upon my business trip to DC. I arrived close to midnight from a delayed flight, and was warmly greeted at the door as well as the front desk. I was promptly checked in and was thrilled when I got to my room. It was the most inexpensive room they offered (Deluxe Room), and it was immaculate and identical to the pictures on their website.

The furnishings were well-maintained, and the room and bathroom were spacious. I liked having the K-cup machine in the room, as well as the no-hassle wifi access. I also enjoyed one of the salads from downstairs. It was overpriced, as all hotel food is, but it was a well-made, quality salad.

My only complaints are the street noise (normal vehicular traffic) and the A/C unit is LOUD. It doesn't rattle, but I woke up whenever it turned on during the night. It's not particularly disruptive, but just louder ambient noise that I was not used to.

I stayed in a similarly-priced hotel down the street during the rest of my stay, and I vote The Madison as vastly superior. This is the first lodging and accommodations I've had where the website is identical to the place when I've arrived.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I thought this hotel was pretty good for the money. Pros and cons:

Pros:
-it is reasonably priced for the area
-always taxis outside
-the rooms were nice and modern
-the rooms were more spacious than I thought they would be!
-complimentary wifi and it had really good signal

Cons:
-it's not very close to a subway. Farragut North (red line) and McPherson Square (blue and orange lines) are the closest, but both are at least 4 or 5 blocks. Coming from the airport via subway I thought would be no big deal but it was not easy once we realized how far the hotel was from the subway and we had our luggage with us, definitely take a taxi!
-Room service is $$$$. We got 2 burgers and 2 sodas for $50!
-a few problems with the staff. We paid for our hotel when we booked it (and we booked it through The Madison, not a third party). When we arrived and gave them our credit card for incidentals the lady at the front desk tried to charge it for incidentals plus the entire stay! We had to explain to her we had prepaid and then she saw it on the screen. They should definitely look for that enforce charging us!
-upon leaving the guy at the front desk this time also tried to charge us for the stay (he actually asked us the price we had been quoted so he could charge us). We told him that we had prepaid and he immediately responded that he saw it. Why are they not looking to this before charging us???
-business center not only charges you for prints, but it also charges you for using the computer! I've never had a hotel charge for that before, and it was a $5 minimum.
-we paid extra for a city view which ended up just being an office building. Definitely don't feel like we got our money's worth there!

Overall our stay was nice, but i wish they would do away with the charges in the business center and train their staff better!

Room Tip: Don't pay more for a city view... It's only a view of an office building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
April, we greatly value your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced after prepaying for your room. Our staff is meticulously trained to deal with prepaid bookings and we have taken note of your experience so we can prevent it from happening in the future. We regret to hear that you felt your view and meal could have provided a better value - we will take this into consideration to further improve our establishment. We are, however, very glad that you enjoyed your complimentary wifi and the decor of our newly renovated guest rooms. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great hotel 3 blocks away from McPherson square metro & 5 blocks from the whitehouse. Friendly staff with great service. Would stay again in a heartbeat. We stayed Xmas break and were upgraded to a suite. The hotel seemed slow during this time. Great firm bed with feather pillows and blanket.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your upgrade! Our staff strives to provide warm, attentive service and we appreicate your positive feedback in this regard. Our beds and blankets were all recently upgraded so it's wonderful to hear that you found them comfortable. We hope to see you again soon the next time you are in D.C.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Visited here for one night in December. Upon arrival we were greeted by "Innocence" (real name?) and he was amazing. Accommodated us arriving early, gave us great recommendation for Lunch and tips to beat the crowds. Five star service.

The room was a tad small but decorated amazing, great bed and bathroom, very comfy space for my wife and I. The location is perfect as you can walk to the White House and pick up a cab to see other destinations. I highly recommend this property and plan to visit again on my future stays to DC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It is well located in what can be considered "downtown DC", about 5 blocks from the McPherson Square Metro Stop which is the metro stop one uses to get to the White House. If you are looking for a place close to the Mall, then this is too far of a walk for that purpose, though the hotel is so handsome and peaceful, we used cabs to get around which were always waiting guests of the hotel. Cabs are so plentiful in D.C. that finding a cab back to the hotel was easy as well. When you considered the low price of the cab against the cost of individual metro cards for each member of the family, a cab was the better choice and this hotel was worth it.

The staff are delightfully attentive without being annoyingly over-attentive. The staff also pay close attention to detail and strive to meet any request with professionalism. This hotel provided much better service than we usually receive at Westin Hotels which are usually our preference. In our case, our son has life threatening allergies to several types of food and the chef and restaurant managers went to great lengths to be sure that there was no cross contamination of the food. This place has great service, handsome recently renovated decor, and good food. We saw several families with younger children check in over the course of our five night stay but we never heard any disruptions. It had a feel of a hotel that would appeal to adults, but children were certainly welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.