We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway in December. Staff was warm and welcoming, room was clean and spacious, hotel was overall - perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 at Iron Chef Eatery
Ranked #32 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway in December. Staff was warm and welcoming, room was clean and spacious, hotel was overall - perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My Title says it all! My husband and I live locally to DC. We like to take weekend trips into the city to eat at wonderful restaurants, visit the museums, shop, and see an occasional show. We have stayed in many DC hotels. The Madison has been one of the best. We will return!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that overlooked the courtyard, no view, but it was quiet, that's what I like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    381
    106
    36
    28
See reviews for
293
315
49
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here with my husband and 3yo daughter while my husband was on a business trip. Overall the hotel staff was very friendly and our room and bathroom were very clean. I booked this hotel through priceline, so I didn't pay the value they advertise on their website. Not sure if I would pay more than what we paid (135/nt). The bed seemed really uncomfortable, as neither my husband no I slept well the 5 nights we stayed.

The location was great for access to the red, orange and blue metro lines. Farragut North and McPherson Square were each only about 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, MI
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was my first stay at the Madison since its overhaul has been completed, and it's great. The decor is fresh and modern but subdued, and I found the room palette restful. I agree with the reviewer who contrasted the Madison favorably to hotels with a "sophomoric hipster vibe" -- the very definition of the nearby Helix Hotel. No throbbing techno beat here, and none welcome. Staff continue with their high degree of professionalism and helpfulness. It's about four blocks to the Metro and walking distance to all of my business meetings, so I love the location. Remains my first choice in Washington (though the Jefferson Hotel is a very close second).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We're glad that you find our central, downtown location convenient and are thrilled to hear that you liked our new decor. Our staff strives to provide our guests with exceptional, attentive service and we appreciate your positive feedback in this regard. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Madison soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We checked in late at 10pm on Dec 9 and were greeted with very warm welcome right from the door to the reception.

Room was nice and clean too. The gentlemen at the door in the late nights and mornings were very friendly and gave very good recommendations on nearby ammenities (some good sandwich bars, freshfood supermart & etc) and clear directions to attractions. They really made our days, especially one of the taller
African Americans doormen (who we will find out his name and send in our compliments later).

Area is very safe too though the walk could be a little far if compared to many other hotels which are nearer to the Lafayette Sq (but then taxi is abt $10 for almost every common attraction). The cookies served at the reception area was a jewel for the kids!

Some minor regrets though ...

1) not enough toilettries (no shower cap nor hair conditional shampoo)
2) all the doormen made one feel at home except for a particular doorman (a spectacled staff, on duty on Dec 11th 515pm). We noticed he is the only one who does not greet nor open the door for us.

Will we be back again? Yes especially if there are special rates. We booked almost 3mths in advance and got pretty good discount (~$200 per nite for a double bed deluxe) I supposed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newberg, OR
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It's so refreshing to stay someplace without the now-ubiquituous blaring techno-pop and sophmoric "hipster" vibe. This is a handsome, sophisticated hotel with all the amenities: free wi-fi, flat-screen, great bedding, Keurig coffeemaker, good task lighting, beautiful decor and a sense of place (lots of art and references to Washington history). Service is efficient and friendly. There are two nice bars, a lovely but pricey restaurant and a nice breakfast area with food and espresso drinks to go. Now for the location: it's in the middle of an office-building forest. Yes, you can walk places but it's a trek. If you are not a dedicated walker or don't want to walk in bad weather, you'll spend a lot on taxis. It's about a third of a mile from the nearest Metro. Still, this is a really nice property. I would stay here for the decor alone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here for business and then my family joined over the weekend. Easy walk from the Metro and near to several great restaurants. The staff was kind and helpful and the room was nice. The air conditioner was a little noisy at night so had to adjust that but otherwise all positive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I've stayed in DC many times at different hotels, but The Madison was by far the best to date. Everything about the place was impressive: friendly and courteous staff, comfortable rooms, outstanding amenities (e.g. plenty of thick bath towels, top shelf toiletries, modern but comfortable furniture, plush beds) two great bars and decent food. And since I got a great deal from Hotwire, it was well worth it. The location is close enough to walk to the Mall (if the weather is decent). Overall, I’m just going to book this hotel from now on.

Room Tip: Try to get a room above the 3rd floor, or one that faces the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
The fact that The Madison is your D.C. hotel of choice is the best compliment we could ask for. We value your positive feedback as we strive to provide our guests with a relaxing, invigorating experience led by an attentive and welcoming staff. We’re glad that you had the chance to visit both of our bars – the Federalist has recently introduced a number of artisanal winter cocktails that we highly recommend! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Madison soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TravelClick, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.