We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Madison Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #55 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
World Traveler
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I would stay here again but know an additional charge of $50 per day is added to your room until you check out. Example if you room total on your reservation was 400 for 4 days the hold on your card no matter whether it is CC or Debit is an additional $200 - Total held until check out is $600, but when you check out it is refunded if not used during your stay for incidentals. This was an issue for a few guest who had just saved a bit extra for the hotel stay.

Very Lovely Hotel, large rooms with Tubs. I would stay here again, just blocks away from everything. Thank you to a FABULOUS Hotel staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have Tubs others do not, this may be issue if traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    439
    137
    60
    37
See reviews for
329
364
53
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

There were many elegant touches in this magnificently refurbished hotel: great step-in shower, Kuerig coffee maker, comfy robe and excellent service from bellman to wait staff and accomodating front desk (printed out my boarding pass). The Madison is surrounded by restaurants and coffee shops, the metro stop is down 15th/Vermont several blocks (16 minutes to Reagan National) and the White House is nearby. Every evening there were freshly baked cookies waiting in the reception area

Room Tip: If you prefer a BIG soaking bathtub, rather than a huge step-in shower, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear that you found our staff helpful and enjoyed our central, downtown location. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Washington D.C.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stay at The Madison every time I'm in Washington, DC. The location is excellent, lobby renovations are fantastic and the staff – from the porters to the concierge – is always friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: If you're traveling alone, ask for a large room with a full-size bed or queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Located four blocks north of the White House, near Embassy Row, several blocks north of National Mall Monuments and Smithsonian Museums. Key location. Several eateries nearby. Things close down early in this area of DC. National Geographic Museum is one block away. C.O. Bigelow body products and Keurig Gourmet coffees are available in rooms. Decent wi-fi signal in room. Plush towels and comfortable linens. The hotel and our room had exquisite decor and design...very classy. Standard expensive city parking extra. Lobby bar was a nice place to relax with a drink.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We recently underwent a complete redesign and we greatly appreciate your positive feedback regarding our new look. We’re happy that you enjoyed our Lobby Bar - we hope you were able to sample the Washingtonian, one of our most popular cocktails. We thank you for your review and look forward to having the pleasure of hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at The Madison for 3 nights in September, and it suited me perfectly. The room was attractive, and quiet, the staff were helpful and as I was on my own I certainly felt secure. The location was great too. The Concierge was friendly and efficient sorting theatre tickets for me and offering sightseeing tips. My one meal in the restaurant was most enjoyable with good food and wine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I spent two nights at the Madison in late November, 2012 on a business trip. This was my first stay at this hotel and I was impressed. The room was large and quiet, staff very friendly, and the room service food surprisingly good. It's also near a stop on the Metro Orange Line. I get to DC a few times each year and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel really lives up to expectation. Really spacious and well-decorated lobby. Staff generally helpful and friendly. Room was very clean and looked recently re-done. Bathroom was huge. Very close to many landmarks (around 5 minutes to the subway and a 10-minute walk from the WH). The restaurant also looks legit, judging from the menu, though we didn't eat there since we generally don't like to stay in the hotel too long.

One downside is that there isn't any view to speak of (kinda the neighborhood and also the hotel itself is not very tall), but it's okay if you just want to sleep during the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at either end of the building if you want a view. my friend did and it was decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Our staff strives to provide warm, attentive service so we’re thrilled to hear that you found them helpful. While many of our Deluxe Rooms are interior facing, our Premiere and Executive Terrace Rooms offer views of 15th street and the National Monument and are a good choice for those looking for a city view. We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.