We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“madison hotel dc” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Madison Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 20% Off
Ranked #60 of 137 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
lady lake
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“madison hotel dc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We spent three days at the Madison. Our rooms were exceptionally clean. Nothing showed signs of ware. The linens were spotless and fresh. The hotel staff went out of the way to be helpful and friendly, addressing us by name. No one had a dower look. the room was large and the bathroom was spotless and modern with a large shower. The widow treatments were nicely done and the windows clean. In short there were no signs of the subtle things that most hotels have that make you suspicious that they are not as clean as they first appear to be. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife wanted to spend a weekend in a hotel with a city view, we look around and found this hotel that advertised rooms with a city view. When we got to the hotel the room that was given had no city view and a view of a red office building. We call the front desk and ask about the advertising in their web site and they indicated that that was not accurate because of their location. The hotel is very old and the room did not smell too fresh. I guess if you are in attending a conference or doing work in DC it should be Ok, however if you want a romantic get away I will not recommend this place. We didn't spend the night there and check out the same day. There was no attempt from their management to make any accommodations or provide a refund.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaytavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

After much travel, we arrived at The Madison. The attention we received was phenomenol. The attention to detail wonderful. On our return, after having been there previously, we were treated extremely well. The location is great. Close to car rental and "The Center" of things.

Room Tip: Be certain to make reservations with the property and not one of the on-line services to make certai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very sharp Hotel. Conveniently located. Quiet and very nicely appointed rooms. Only fault of the room was the depth of the safe. Someone didn't account for the thickness of the closet doors, making it impossible to open the closet door and hang clothes. Our friends had another room with the same problem. This should be corrected. Plenty of doormen, but it seemed that most of the time I had to open the door myself. Parking overnight was obscene. Max rate at that garage is $16. But the garage 'closes' at 2AM. For the privilege of leaving your car beyond that, requires $47.50 (including tax), a bargain available to guests of the Madison. After a certain hour, on-street parking is tough to find. Most garages really do close, so they have you. Relatively, parking an SUV in Manhattan is a bargain. I'd definitely be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeyWesterDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Madison for about 1 week back in Sept. 2012. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay there. Found the room very comfortable, plush, and tastefully decorated. The bathroom (though on the smallside) had high end toilettries and was luxuriously appointed, which was a bonus for my girlfriend. Hotel has that "boutique" feel overall with nice colonial furnishings throughout. Staff were all very friendly, polite, and courteous. Room service prompt. Ate at both restaurants there and found the food good overall, particularly The Federalist, which included traditional regional food with a twist.
I used the gym on 2 occasions and found it well appointed as far as smaller hotels go; they had chilled bottled water and fresh towels there to use during my workout..
Location was good and close to all the major sites and a few blocks from The White House; also, the neighborhood felt very safe to walk around at night and was a cabride away from some nice restaurants.
We both agreed we would certainly stay at this hotel again when visiting DC.
I think President Madison would be proud to have this hotel named after him!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Having recently completed a year long renovation, we appreciate your positive feedback on our guest rooms! We're very glad that you had the chance to dine at the Federalist. Chef McClure’s seasonal menu features some of the freshest locally sourced ingredients. We’re honored that you think our namesake would be proud and we look forward to having you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

First trip to DC and decided to do a spot unique to the area (rather than somewhere familiar) and central to what we wanted. Based on reviews and photos and a "sense", became excited about our Madison stay.

Some aspects lived up to expectations. Rooms and lobby are smart, clean, and have a feeling of luxury (seemingly recently renovated). Location is central to walking, transportation, and key areas.

Some areas, though, fell short. Service ranged from good to a bit indifferent. This was a getaway to feel like we were in good hands with service anticipating some of what we'd need or like; that didn't really happen. We were seemingly turned-down for turn down service (on request) one our nights after requesting it but coming to a room not turned down [definitely, not the end of the world, but it's the details, right?]. The rooms were clean, clean, clean but one day coffee wasn't replenished. Check in wasn't a super welcoming experience and check out, too... similar. Even coming and going, pleasantries could fall a bit flat... turns out this is something I only notice when it's not there.

We did have some great interactions with concierge with questions of what to do, and getting sent off on our way at the end of the stay... it just felt that more self-advocating for a stay was necessary than I'd have guessed or wanted.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Madison is indeed a beautiful hotel - elegance throughout. We visited The Madison between Nov. 14 - 18 with Fall colours in full swing. The room was very clean and the beds comfy. Rates ranged from $169 - $250 per night for the same space...so really check your prices here. I used Splendia and got the room for $169/night - a great deal for this well located hotel. The area is safe with a few restaurants and coffee shops in the vicinity. Two Metro stations are within 300m walk and a Capital bike station (bike rental) are located a block away. USE THE BIKES - its a great way to see DC. The service at the hotel could improve in two areas: 1) Have soem flexibility on check out - even an hour is a great gesture. 2) Turn down service was provided 2 out fo the 3 nights we requested it...this hotel should have a 3/3 score! The doorman was excellent in his service - bags were ready at the exact time requested and a taxi outside for our departure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to use Capital Bikeshare - we love the convenience they provide! We do offer late check-out based upon availability. However, while we do our best to accommodate the needs of our guests, often our capacity does not allow us to guarantee early check-in or late check-out. We apologize that you did not receive turn down service all three nights – we have taken note of this as to minimize these oversights in the future. We thank you for your review and hope that you will return to The Madison again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,654 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 137 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
U Street Corridor
The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel
#35 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#84 of 137 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing