We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property and nicer staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Madison Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #58 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersBronze level
Point Richmond, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice property and nicer staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

I found myself at the Madison due to arrangements made (and paid for) by others. With a group rate that I expect was about $150/night, this hotel was a welcome place to hang my hat. Very convenient location, great amenities (keurig coffee maker in the room), spot on housekeeping with newer 100% cotton towels, etc. Every staff member with whom I interacted was tops in attitude and customer service. The bed was decent though I have experienced better (and worse) in other high end hotels. What food I had, including bar burger on late evening arrival and continental breakfast, was not memorable. But, DC is not at a loss for great restaurants within walking distance. If the price is right on a future DC trip, the Madison will be on the list of possible accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    468
    150
    63
    39
See reviews for
351
391
58
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen Township, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Had a wonderful weekend at the Madison. The staff were approachable and friendly and appeared to show a lot of pride in their work. The hotel decor was beautiful; was told by one of the staff members that the hotel was recently renovated. The room we had was amazing! I wish we had a microwave and dvd player though.

I definitely would recommend this hotel to others, and am looking forward to going back to the Madison in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
We are glad you liked the look of our newly restored guest rooms. We do offer DVD players and microwaves by request for a minimal fee which can be coordinated through our front desk (On Demand movies are also available). We hope to accommodate you with these amenities when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay while visiting the memorials in Washington, DC. Although the walk to the Washington Mall was a couple of miles, everything about the hotel made it worth it. This hotel is great in every way, but the number one comment is that the beds are incredibly comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Our new Englander Velvet Touch Mattresses are Ultimate Super Plush and adorned with 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linens - we are glad it made a difference! We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Booked stay via Booking.com and got a fantastic rate of just under £70 per room per night. Arrived at hotel around 12 noon and had no problem checking into room early. Staff on reception and bellhops friendly and helpful. Was absolutely delighted with our room. Spacious, decor was beautiful and everything was spotless. The bathroom was lovely and modern with a shower that you could fit 5 people in! Only downside was that there was no bath. There was no extra charge for WiFi which was a pleasant surprise. Never had breakfast or dinner in hotel but restaurant looked lovely. Location was great - only about 5ish minutes to subway if you didn't want to do much in the way of walking. Would have no hesitation recommending a stay at The Madison (this coming from someone who is quite fussy!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very clean, nicely appointed. The room was a little dark, because it looked out on another office building. I would recommend asking for a room that looks out onto the street. Very comfortable bed. Nice bathroom with a shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out onto the street. My room did not and it was a bit dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
416 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Some how the Kimpton hotels seems to rank ahead of this one and I dont know why. My stay here blew the others out of the water. First of all the bellhops and front desk staff were always helpful, the decor is BEAUTIFUL. I kept thinking to myself how I would love for my house to look this way. The beds were like heaven, my friend and I kept saying how we could stay in those beds for days. The rooms were on the small size, but to be expected in downtown DC. Often you walk around a hotel thinking they are clearly skimping on needed repairs or updates, NOT here they have made sure everything is new, fresh, and well thought out. I would stay here 10 times over.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

The service you receive at The Madison DC is second to none. From the moment we arrived staff were attentive, helpful and friendly. The hotel is spotless and our room was left looking pristine each day. The beds are extremely comfortable- large with ample cushions and pillows. Bathroom was extremely modern and fully equipped with toiletries. Overall our stay was faultless and the location was great for sightseeing on foot and within walking distance of restaurants. A great hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan - A Kimpton Hotel
#42 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#90 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#69 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.