We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel near The White House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Madison Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #54 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel near The White House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at this lovely small boutique hotel. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to most must see sights or a short walk to the metro station. Wonderful time in DC overall!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We are glad to hear that our staff was welcoming and attentive. Many of our staff members have been a part of The Madison's team for decades -- they are experts at providing superior customer service and know the hotel, our guests and the D.C. area better than anyone we know! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    437
    135
    57
    36
See reviews for
329
361
53
440
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My son and I stayed here for 6 nights. We had a fabulous experience at The Madison. The service was excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful and very professional. There were some minor glitches during our stay but were addressed promptly. We had only intermittent access to the wifi in our room but were moved to another room immediately and given a dinner for 2 in the Postscript restaurant to compensate for the inconvenience. The rooms were beautifully appointed. The staff, in particular Lewis at the front desk, Beth, the manager , and Tony and Innocent the concierges made our stay very enjoyable.The location is great, only a 15 minute walk to Dupont Circle and The White House, and there are many restaurants within walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning there in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your review! While planning your trip for the fall, be sure to look out for our upcoming fall specials & packages, and stop by PostScript to sample Executive Chef Tim Recher's seasonal menu additions. We look forward to welcoming you back in the coming months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

moved rooms a few times as we were here for several days. We were given handicap room..that was uncomfortable. The front desk easily fixed this.. the free wifi and use of the gym is appreciated,,Great customer service. and the location make for an easy stay. Beds a bit stiff, but loved the decor and great air conditioning...any concerns here are easily resolved by a great staff..

Room Tip: Interior courtyard a bit dark..and unsightly..other great rooms avaiable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I am a solo traveler and stayed 3 nights here a couple of weeks ago. The location could not be more perfect - steps from the metro and just a few more from the White House. My room was beautifully decorated, clean, and quiet. My only problem was upon checkout, they charged me twice for my room and it still has not been resolved. That aside, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and decor of The Madison! However, I would like to apologize for the billing problems you experienced. We would like to get this issue cleared up for you as soon as possible. I will be contacting you directly to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

A lovely setting. Very nice staff. Perfect location for touring.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Everything was recently renovated, so its all new and modern.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Quirkily decorated rooms, Fantastically comfortable bed :)
Just a short walk from the whitehouse puts this hotel in a nice location - not far from Metro either to connect with Union Station and Metro Centre.

All staff very professional, polite, friendly and with great recommendations.
Bath deep enough to take an enjoyable one - and the Bath robe for after was a nice touch.
Would mosty definately be staying again.
Cleaning was to an exceptional standard, and down to doorman and maintenance staff I was made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.