We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel despite picketers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Madison Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Madison Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #55 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Woodbury, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel despite picketers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I recently stayed at The Madison with my husband and children (8 and 13 years). I made a reservation through SniqueAway to receive a reduced rate. When I made the reservation, I was not told of the labor dispute taking place at the hotel. They did not inform me about this afterwards either. This was the fault of SniqueAway, not The Madison.

When I called the night before check-in to confirm the reservation, I was told by a very nice employee (Adam) about the picketers. He let me know what we would be encountering upon arrival. This was very helpful, as we were able to prepare our children. It was a little disturbing to be heckled as we checked in, but the employees of the hotel more than make up for any inconveniences. Adam also told us that he would put us in a room at the back of the hotel so we would not hear the picketers.

The employee who checked us in was VERY helpful. (I think his name was Bill?) He not only let us check in early, he made sure we were in a room away from the street. He also let me know that the picketers circle the building when they arrive at 7 a.m. I was awakened each morning by the bullhorns and shouting, but they only stayed on the backside of the building for about 10 minutes. After that I was able to go back to sleep. Fortunately my children were able to sleep through this unscheduled wake-up call!

Also, important to know: there is a second entrance to the hotel through the office building next door. There are no picketers at this door. We chose to enter and exit through this door, so we only had to cross the line when we checked in and checked out.

The room we stayed in was nice size for a big city hotel room. It had 2 queen beds, a high-def tv and fairly large bathroom. The room was very clean and only showed slight signs of age. The gentleman who showed us to our room told me that I was able to use the mini-bar to store our personal food items. It was nice to be able to throw a bottle of water in the fridge and store a bottle of jelly for pb&j's. I was happy for the permission to use the fridge.

The Madison is in a great location. The metro station is just a few blocks down the street. There is a Caribou Coffee across the street and a Corner Bakery a couple of blocks away.

Despite the picketers, we had a wonderful stay at The Madison. The employees are going out of their way to be welcoming and helpful to the guests. I hope the labor dispute ends soon, so this lovely hotel can return to the peaceful oasis I am sure it was before the change in management.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    439
    137
    60
    37
See reviews for
329
364
53
448
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

The picket line out front is annoying, but hotel staff are very accommodating in response. At arrival (by cab), doormen quickly shielded us and got us in the hotel very comfortably. Staff were very nice and cheerfully and rapidly helped with small requests. I was up and out before the 7 AM wake-up calls. Facilities are very nice. The strike might offer an opportunity for bargain hunters.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Employees have been protesting outside the entrance using megaphones and drums 7-7 every day for a month. There is a union dispute and there is no clear end to the conflict. The remaining staff are bending over backwards to compensate for their disruption. Use you discretion. Call to ask before booking your stay.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

The hotel was nice, and the staff was very accommodating. The issue I had was the picket line that was VERY loud and annoying in front of the hotel. The members of the picket line heckled us as we got out of our rental car, making me feel a bit uncomfortable as I was about to check in. Came to find out they had been doing this for 5 weeks... I'd recommend staying at another hotel rather than put up with their continued loud chants.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

went presidents week with the kids. Not knowing you cant change a reservation from priceline, but thats another story. We pricelined this hotel for a cheap price, finding out the place is on strike. We figured how bad could it be? Well not that bad. Except for the strike outside, the hotel was clean , the location was great, and the staff was very acomadating.All inn all it wasnt that bad.Could of been worse.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Labor dispute has picket lines greeting you outside front door and bullhorns announcements aimed at guests carries to 8th floor.

Apparently the new management who took over from Loews doesn't want to negotiate with labor union.

If the union was the reason management couldn't deliver exceptional and consistent service over the last two years including half a dozen visits, then I support management.

Front desk staff couldn't explain the picket line upon check-in. Raises concerns that new management may not be able deliver the experience worthy of the rates.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

There are protesters greeting you at the door currently at the hotel. New management laid people off and they are outside 12hrs/daily screaming at hotel guests. It is very unpleasant.
Go across the street to the Sofitel.
I have stayed here in the past and have LOVED it. A horrific situation...not only for guests but for folks who have lost their jobs in this awful economy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Address: 1177 Fifteenth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Madison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.