We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jefferson, Washington DC

Save Saved
You added The Jefferson, Washington DC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Rates This Summer!
Ranked #1 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We spent four fabulous days at The Jefferson celebrating our wedding anniversary and we so very happy we chose this wonderful hotel. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted warmly, upgraded to a larger suite (very unexpected) and everything possible was done to make sure our stay was perfect. The premiere suite was beautiful and the bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on, including our own! The concierge was excellent and helped us plan our sight seeing, the housekeeping was great and we really felt pampered by the whole staff. Fabulous hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    50
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
82
220
36
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

Although we've stayed at some of the finest hotels in the world (and some not so great ones), we've never taken the time to post a review until now. But our experience at the Jefferson during the "snow storm of the century" was so extraordinary that we feel compelled to share our comments.

First off, the hotel itself is a jewel as the result of a painstaking gut restoration. No expense was spared or detail overlooked in creating a harmonious blend of grand spaces (like the restaurant Plume) and intimate nooks and crannies, including a wood paneled library and parlors for conversation. We stayed in a spectacular suite that included antiques and modern conveniences like a nespresso machine.

But what really sets the hotel apart is the service. The property manager Franck Arnold went out of his way to make sure our every need was met, sending us goodies like a complementary cheese tray and bottle of wine one night, chocolate covered figs the next. The concierges and reception staff could not have been more helpful, arranging for a driver and SUV to brave the start of the storm to get us safely to and from an event on Friday night. On Saturday, the staff offered to arrange a meeting with the chef (also stuck at the hotel) to plan a special dinner for Saturday night. Chef went over the options with us and sent us a printed menu for approval. The staff set up a private table for 2 in the library room where we dined by candle light before the fireplace among volumes on Jefferson, Franklin and their contemporaries. We loved the meal we had at Plume on Thursday night (and the service, particularly from Michael the sommelier). But the meal on Saturday was one of the best we've ever had, particularly the gateaux of sole with truffles. Michael repeated his excellent wine service, treating us to a glass of 1922 Madeira with our desert. We were able to catch a flight out of Richmond on Sunday (when flights out of all three DC area airports were canceled) only because the staff was again able to arrange for a car to pick us up on 30 minutes notice.

In short, the extraordinary staff at the Jefferson turned getting stuck in Washington during last weekend's storm into one of the best travel experiences of our lives. We could not recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

My husband and I wanted to get away for a special weekend in DC and this was exquisite. The rooms are beautifully decorated--ours has charcoal gray French linens and copper-tone pillows. Big, luxurious bed and bathtub--I watched a movie on a screen in the bathroom mirror while I soaked in the tub. After a busy day, we ate one dinner in the pub, which has a pianist and a very cool amber-colored bar that glows in the dark. Other people played chess and had drinks in front of the fire in the library. The breakfast was delicious, and the staff were attentive without being intrusive--they all knew that we were looking for certain tickets to a museum, for example. We also like the Hay-Adams but since the Jefferson's renovation, it is much more elegant. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Everything about the new Plume restaurant was perfect for us. Elegant but not pretentious, terrific staff who were extremely attentive and great food and wine in the extensive tasting menu. We both did a tasting menu at one of Vienna’s best hotels two weeks before and this beat that hands down. We will certainly be back! Congratulations.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

My wife and I just spent a night at the Jefferson for a quick getaway. We live nearby and were familiar with many of the nicer hotels in Washington, DC. The Jefferson has just re-opened after 2 1/2 years of renovation. We picked this hotel due to it's size. Not small like a boutique hotel, but not as large as the local nice hotels (Hay Adams/Four Seasons etc.) It has 99 rooms. We were upgraded to a deluxe room upon arrival. The room was very tasteful with detailed trim work, a sophisticated shade of gray on the walls and artwork which details the dawning of the American Republic. The bathrooms are well appointed with an in mirror small TV, granite, separate toilet area separated by opaque glass and a walk in shower. The lobby is exquisite with the original domed (half cylndrical) sky light bringing natural light into the breakfast dining area, where a fountain gently flows along the side of the alcove of clean, granite blocks. It really is a spectacular hotel. The staff was attentive and agreeable, and in fact deferential without a hint of snobbery. We will be back, without question the next time we need a quick getaway.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 95-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Preferred Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jefferson, Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.