We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really WANTED to love it ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Jefferson, Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Jefferson, Washington DC to your Saves list
The Jefferson, Washington DC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Suites Mid Week
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I really WANTED to love it ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We originally had reservations at Hay Adams for a portion of my husband's 40th birthday trip to DC, but impulsively changed them to stay at The Jefferson based on it's ranking on TripAdvisor and recommendation by Conde Nast. We were also happy to be able to use our Amex FHR benefits and redeem a complimentary third night as advertised by Amex and on The Jefferson's website.

Some highlights of our stay:
- Valet and bell staff is second to none. Gracious, respectful, accommodating. We did not take advantage of the house car because we simply wanted to be out walking and enjoying the springtime weather, but it was offered.
- The decor in the entire property is splendid. Traditional and historic, but with fresh, modern touches everywhere. The rooms are small and you will be dancing around the doors, furniture, and each other, but we were there to explore the city, not the inside of our room, so it was no matter to us.
- The shower is glorious and the in-mirror tv is whimsical and novel.
- Boone in The Greenhouse is a treasure. He was not once our server but always greeted us by name when we came to the restaurant each morning and he was a pleasure to chat with (wish our actual server - same one each time - could've been as charming and kind but he was very stoic and cold).
- Lovely breakfast food (you will sell your soul for their croissants) in The Greenhouse (miserable, bitter, thin coffee though).

Where it went awry:
- Egregious housekeeping. Empty glass water decanters left on our desk the entire stay. Our used water glasses were removed (and not replaced) but the used water-ringed paper coasters were left on the desk, again the entire stay. We asked for new water and glasses; they were delivered to our room and put on the dresser behind the tv, which we didn't discover until we were packing up to leave two days later. Shower drain remained covered with hair the entire stay, and toiletries were not replenished even though obviously depleted.
- Turn down service did not make it to ours and the neighbor's rooms until 8:45pm each night. Traveling with our son who was already in bed at the time, we did not get to experience this amenity.
- Maintenance/renovation issues. There was a pen mark on the wall underneath the bathroom mirror; my educated guess is this is from marking a stud location when the tv mirror combo was installed. Green wall paint was slopped onto the door casing in the bathroom in two spots. Towel hook was precariously coming out of the wall. Wall paint in the bedroom had been rolled onto the upholstered cornice over the bed. Most of these things would take the engineering staff 5 minutes to fix and we couldn't believe those things have been overlooked all the time.
- Questionable family friendliness. We were traveling with our young son (8) and he was barely spoken to by ANY of the staff during our entire stay. He was not greeted with the red wagon to pick a toy, no robe or cookies and milk as other reviews have spoken of. The only time anyone reached out to him was literally as we were checking out, when the front desk staffer asked if he'd met Monty. We hadn't, so they brought him up and it was a great experience.
- Lastly, our complimentary third night was not honored at check out even though it was clearly stated on our travel agreement and had no exclusions.

Overall it was a pleasant enough stay, but it certainly wasn't the experience we were hoping for. We had to ask for too many things rather than the staff anticipating our basic needs, and the staff runs hot and cold. During the same trip to DC we moved to another luxury hotel in a different neighborhood in town and the service, amenities, and property completely eclipsed our experience at The Jefferson (which reassured us it was not our unreasonable expectations that ultimately let us down).

I did reach out to David Bueno, hotel manager, who replied in kind and remedied our billing situation. I do hope some of these issues can be resolved before to consider staying at The Jefferson in the future.

Room Tip: We were in a 6th floor room facing 16th street; some street noise but not unreasonable; bright with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear curiousaboutgeorge,

Thank you for your feedback; I appreciate you taking the time to post about your recent stay and will be sure to pass along your kind words about Boone. I was glad that we were able to amend your bill and I have been in touch with each department regarding your feedback since we had first corresponded last week.

Again, I apologize that you’re stay did not meet your expectations and do hope we can welcome you and your family back in the future.

Sincerely

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
Dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    58
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
132
297
39
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very elegantly decorated with not over doing it. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The staffs are outstanding and very attentive. It is walkable to many of the attractions. The best tip for the hotel is to book on the hotel's own website. Also be mindful of parking charges per night. The restaurant is a must try in DC.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Eunbee K,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit, and that you found our downtown location convenient for your stay. Additionally, I am glad to hear that our guest rooms and restaurant were to your liking. I do hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Jefferson Hotel was so lovely and I can't say enough good things about it. Just the history made it special, the staff outstanding. The different dining rooms and food was excellent.
We were there to see my grandson and to hit the perfect weekend for the Cherry Blossoms made this trip one of the best trips to DC.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear mjreg ,

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay, and that you admired our historical accents as well as our various dining outlets. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our staff, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent 4 days in DC and stayed at the Jefferson.It was our first trip there and we would highly recommend it to others. The hotel was spotless and extremely well run. Everyone from the front desk to bartenders were eager to please us and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Cliff, one of the concierges was especially good and actually gave us tickets to the Holocaust museum (we were unable to procure tickets,even 2 months in advance) .Bartenders at the Quill were friendly and quick to remember your favorite drinks. We enjoyed visiting with them.
The hotel was busy but quiet at night.
Rooms are not huge but adequate in size. Bathrooms were good size.Liked the tv in the mirror!
Food was pretty good but a bit expensive as all hotels" seem to be. We walked to several restaurants and there are dozens within a mile.
Great location.Only 4 blocks to White House and the metro is near by.
To save money, we prepaid the whole bill. There is a significant saving if you pay in full at least 90 days in advance.
would not hesitate to go back. check out the hotel library while you are there- many authors have stayed there and leave signed copies of some of their books

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear dgrop,

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay, and that you were able to experience some of our common areas such as the Book Room and dining outlets. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our staff, especially to Cliff and the team at Quill. We hope to welcome you back for your next visit.

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at dozens of 5 star hotels and The Jefferson is certainly worthy of praise. We came down from NYC to spend three days to show our six year old son some of the more famous DC sights and The Jefferson was one of the highlights of our visit. From the minute we walked arrived to the second we left, EVERYONE at the hotel was courteous, friendly and helpful. Any questions/request we had they were timely and and accurate in their response. The hotel itself is extremely clean, well appointed and has a very relaxed atmosphere. The hotel is on the smaller side and has a very serene and boutique like feel to it. You will not bump into any of groups or large crowds or encounter any hustle and bustle that is common in DC at the larger hotels. Our room was nicely furnished, very clean,...hard to find anything to complain about. The food was very good, including the more casual pub as well as breakfast in the garden and room service. The gym is nice enough and like the rest of the hotel is extremely clean an in great shape. The spa is also very nice. The location is very central, about 10 minutes by foot from the WH. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear LKLANYC ,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay at The Jefferson. I am so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the hotel, and that you were able to experience some of our dining outlets, our fitness facility and the Petite Spa. Additionally, I am glad that you found our location convenient for your son’s first visit to DC.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the pleasure of staying in this hotel for easter weekend. It is no wonder this hotel is ranked #1.

We came with our 3 year old daughter, and the room was spacious enough for all of us considering our daughter used the roll-away bed. The room was clean and neat, with all the modern amenities but still had a style which showed off the original roots.

Service was outstanding every step of the way, and not at all overbearing which was perfect. Turn-down service in the evening with a little mint was a nice touch. We had breakfast in the hotel. It was tasty, and the service was once again attentive. For our arrival, the hotel staff even put our daughter's name on the shower door with sticker letters which was a really special touch.

The location is perfect to for the National Mall, all Museums, and the White House. It is also central to the restaurants and nightlife.

This is truly the best hotel when visiting DC!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear FFsFromNY,

I am so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your Easter stay, and that your daughter enjoyed her personalized children’s amenities. Your compliments regarding the service you received are truly appreciated, and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future!

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Are we seriously talking about the same Jefferson at the same exact address as this one? Really? Wow, you could've had me fooled. Granted, my wife and I arrived here for a nearby getaway for our 25th anniversary late last summer (sorry the review is so tardy), and it was fantastic for the first 5-10 minutes, as we were warmly greeted by a gentleman of a doorman and entered into what was indeed an elegant and stately lobby area. Alas, things started going downhill from there. We were asked to have a seat and wait until a receptionist would be available to check us in. After about a 15-minute wait, during which we might as well have been invisible to the staff (not even an offer of a glass of water at a 5-star hotel?), a very incapable and ice-cold fashion model look-alike ushered us to her desk and presented us with a bill that far exceeded the quote we were given in advance. Way to go shoving an invoice into guests' hands before anything else! Then, when we were told of other fees that were never revealed at the time of reservation (such as parking, which we informed them of in advance and were told would be included in the quoted price). Not only were some of the fees complete surprises, but apparently they'd have to be paid up-front. Again, way to go processing charges before even showing guests to their room! Thus, about 45 minutes after arriving, we were finally taken to our teeny-tiny shoebox of a room (granted, it was clean and immaculately decorated in the grand federal Jeffersonian style).
Upon returning to the hotel after an evening out of dining and entertainment, we entered our room to find that it was as hot as a sauna. The A/C unit had broken. Close to midnight, two repairmen showed up at our door and for the next 45 minutes, our room essentially became a plumbing workshop in a 5-star hotel room (#!%?), with my wife and I doing our best to keep out of their way in those tight quarters until they were done. Great guys though, making it tolerable for us.
Thankfully, there were some nice touches at the Jefferson, which is why I'm awarding 2 instead of just one star: The bathroom was nice. My wife actually enjoyed watching the news on TV while taking a bath ... but c'mon, is that such an important luxury when so much else is wrong with a hotel? Also, room service breakfast was superior to most hotels, but at an amazingly high cost.
Sadly, we received the same ice-cold reception at checkout that we experienced upon checkin. We asked to speak to a manger so that we could express some of these concerns, and that turned out to be more painful than having teeth pulled. We waited and waited and waited, only to speak to yet another ice sculpture who didn't feel the need to apologize for anything at all, didn't offer to make things right, and dismissed everything we had to say. To this date, I find it incredible that while the doormen, maids, and repair people go out of their way to represent what this hotel should stand for, the higher-up staff (from waiters to receptionists on up to mangers) could care less.
If you still want to come to the Jefferson, then I'd sincerely suggest you request the full invoice (minus the room's minibar and movies, of course) before even setting foot in this place, and then refusing to pay a penny more. Otherwise, don't even think about complaining that you were taken for a ride!

Room Tip: ... Deserves "0" stars for value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ramin D ,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay at The Jefferson late last summer. We've made a number of changes and improvements to the property since you last stayed with us. Please contact me directly if you wish to discuss further. I can be reached at the email address below or by calling the hotel at 202.448.2300.

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#1 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 95-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jefferson, Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.