We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Elégant and Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jefferson, Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Jefferson, Washington DC to your Saves list
The Jefferson, Washington DC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Suites Mid Week
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Larchmont, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, Elégant and Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nicely furnished room, sparkle clean, the most comfortable bed and beautiful convenient bathroom. Lovely touches were the relaxing room music, the large screen TV, and the no fuss / easy to use wifi. Our service was superb from registration to housekeeping, topped with pampering bathrobes, slippers and good chocolate. I would love to stay again!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    55
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
120
285
39
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We have stayed at the Jefferson to a point that my wife and I look forward to our annual visit and as usual they did not disappoint. The rooms are not super large but so well appointed. Very comfortable bedding and bath.
The bar is such a great place to relax after a long day. They have a piano lounge that is the best in town. If you want to have a big time DC power meeting just try the restaurant. Service is 5 star. We are already looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When we arrived, the service was wonderful. We had a tea party,and they brought a lovely assortment of small sandwiches with the tea of your choice. After the sandwiches were finished, some hot scones and pastries were served. The pricing was very reasonable. The Jefferson is also very pretty and elegant, we felt like we were royalty. I recommend The Jefferson.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The rooms are small but nice. Te distance between the TV and bed is less than 2'. The bathroom is large but not the best design. I don't blame the hotel for this but the designer. I am an architect and the design is not functional to the space. The door gets in the way and really should have had a hinge that folds more to 180 degrees. There is only one robe hook. Where do you hang your nice bath towels? No towel bar? We ended up hanging the other one on the mirror. The rooms come with a Bose radio which is a nice touch. Tuned too classical music which was nice.

The staff is great. We had an incident which I will not go into details about but they resolved it and also gave a great bottle of wine.

I got to know a few of the bartenders at Quill. Rachel, Mike and Terrance all were great and personable. Makes you want to come back. The great thing is they all said they loved working at the hotel. A true reflection of a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I visited the Jefferson over Valentine's Day weekend in February. While the weather in Washington was FRIGID, our welcome could not have been warmer. Smiling faces greeted us and whisked our luggage to our room while we had a sumptuous breakfast at the Greenhouse. This hotel is steeped in history and the decor reflects that colonial feel. Our room was quiet and supremely comfortable with a very spacious bathroom. Note that the remote control in the bathroom activates a television that appears in the MIRROR! The property is fun to explore with a wine room, a book room, and a fitness center. Additionally, I cannot say enough positive words about the staff. From the door men, front desk staff, housekeepers, and the servers at the restaurants, we were made to feel like VIPs. The location is convenient to most attractions. We would have walked more if the weather had been warmer. I have stayed in many nice hotels, but I would say the Jefferson is superb. I would stay here again in a minute. Highly recommended. You will LOVE staying here!

Room Tip: If the other rooms are similar to the one we had, you cannot find a better one. I would be willing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The perfect choice for a special night. You'll pay top dollar but in return get exactly what you'd expect from arguably one of the world's best properties. Splurge (you're already going to feel a sharp pain in your wallet so why hold back) on a corner suite and indulge in room service (they whisked up a piping hot and inexplicably free western omelette at 2AM). Perfectly located within steps of the White House this destination property will not disappoint. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a brief, but fabulous stay in a enclave of fine decor, service and libations. We enjoyed drinks and a light dinner at The Quill piano bar. It's a lively spot - every table was filled. Cocktails were fresh and a glass of wine included a generous pour. DH ordered steak and potatoes and I had a traditional caesar which they topped with mini crab cakes for me. The staff is clearly trained very well in hospitality, friendliness (or maybe that's natural) and perfect service. The bar offers every patron a dish of mixed nuts, green olives and pickled carrots and asparagus and serves it with tiny plates and napkins. Well done!

Room 300: was smallish, but designed well to make it feel comfortable. Writing desk and armchair are nicely placed. Bathroom is comparatively large with separate WC and large shower. Bath sheet towels are wonderful and the bed sheets are heavenly bliss. I did hear a bit of traffic noise since our room overlooked 16th Street, but it's a quiet area of DC. We enjoyed room service breakfast: oatmeal with apples and smoked salmon with a bagel. The plate was beautifully presented, and the salmon was very high quality. Coffee was also superb. I noticed that the hotel uses glass carafes in the restaurants and in the rooms to serve purified, still water, which is a thoughtful touch.

I used the small fitness center, which has 2 treadmills, 1 bike and 2 elliptical machines. There are 2 weight benches and a full rack of hand weights and one multi-use weight machine. Headphones available, and the room is stocked with bottled water and apples.

I would like to move in here, but since that's not an option, I'll settle for another stay in the near future!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 95-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jefferson, Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.