We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a world class of its own!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jefferson, Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Jefferson, Washington DC to your Saves list
The Jefferson, Washington DC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off This Summer!
Ranked #1 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In a world class of its own!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have just spent another truly excellent night at one of my favorite hotels in the world - The Jefferson Hotel in Washington DC....discreet, warm, consistent, impeccably and tastefully luxurious and absolutely peaceful. The staff are warmly welcoming and highly professional without ever being intrusive. Breakfasts are always perfectly delicious and the restaurant Plume delivers a brilliant taste experience. Have been staying at The Jefferson for years and will continue to do just that. My only regret is that I don't get to DC as often as I would like to in order to enjoy The Jefferson more often. Sincere kudo's to Philip Wood and his brilliant team!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear 021Andre212,

I was so pleased to read that your stays at The Jefferson have consistently exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to pass along your kind words about our staff as well as your experience in Plume to the rest of the team and to Mr. Wood.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home in Washington, DC the next time you are in town!

Sincerely,

David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    69
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
146
337
43
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherman Oaks, CA., U.S.A.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is the extra-special hotel experience discerning people have in mind when they seek lodgings that offer luxury, comfort, privacy, elegance and an attentive staff. You can't do better when you stay in D.C. than The Jefferson. Everything -- and I mean everything -- was what you hope your home away from home could be could be when you travel. From the moment we arrived at The Jefferson after a long cross-country flight to D.C., my wife and I were treated like royalty during our entire stay. It doesn't get much better than that. We so much enjoyed our stay that my wife and I regretted having to leave when it was time for our check-out date. Now, how often do you hear those comments about an hotel experience? Hands down, this is our preferred hotel when we next travel to D.C.

Room Tip: We never heard any exterior sounds in our 5th floor room at the far end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear ralph s,

On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for your extremely kind words about your recent stay at The Jefferson. I am so happy that you and your wife received the level of service that we strive for and most importantly that you felt at home while on property.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you find yourself on the East coast.

Sincerely,
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We recently stayed at The Jefferson and have only the best things to say about it. From check-in to check-out, we loved everything about this hotel. The best staff ever! We had a late lunch on Saturday afternoon and the bartenders couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful in assisting us on what to do or where to eat next. They all talk about how wonderful it is to work there, so management must be doing something right! It shows in how well they treat their guests. Our room, while small, was extremely comfortable -- and the turn down service at night was awesome. We had breakfast while we were there and that was outstanding. Unfortunately we didn't have dinner at Plume; we'll have to save that for the next time. We enjoyed the food at the bar, and the drinks were top notch as well. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear LILady11,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay at The Jefferson. I was pleased to read that the staff was friendly and provided you with assistance on DC activities and dining. I will be sure to pass along your kind words about our Quill staff and we’ll save a seat for you in Plume for when you return!

Sincerely,
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

From the very first moment of driving up to the front door to the time the car was loaded with our luggage, it was an absolute wonderful experience. The staff, room, food and service was a five star experience. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

From the moment you arrive to the moment that you depart, every personal contact and every detail of our stay was superb. The depth of attention and thought needed to make the guest experience an extraordinary one has rarely been experienced by us at other five star hotels. To add to the delightful experience dine at Plume which well deserves it's critical acclaim.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear alsal,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay at The Jefferson. I’m glad that you had the opportunity to dine in Plume and that both our guest rooms and your dining experience exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I've been running events at the Jefferson for several years now but this was my first overnight stay. I was happy to find that the same level of comfort, elegance and efficiency was the standard for lodging.
There seemed to be an issue with my thermostat however and although it read as if the heat was working- it was not. It kept blowing air conditioning all night. In all fairness I must say that I did not being this to their attention. I had settled in and was not looking forward to the prospect of having to change rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meredith g, Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear 52USTravelerinEU,

I am so glad that after running events at The Jefferson, you finally had the chance to spend the night with us. I was happy to read that your enjoyed your stay but wish that you had informed us of the issue that you had with your HVAC. Please know that our engineering staff would have exhausted all avenues before a room change was recommended.

On behalf of the staff, thank you for your continued support of The Jefferson and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
David Bueno
Hotel Manager
dbueno@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was my first stay at The Jefferson and it completely lived up to its reputation. The hotel is beautiful and welcoming. The staff is incredible, our room was lovely, the bar is cozy, and the little reading room off the lobby is a delight. We had a deluxe room, which I thought was worth the extra price for the additional space.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,455 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#1 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 95-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Amex, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jefferson, Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.