We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jefferson is a jewel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jefferson, Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Jefferson, Washington DC to your Saves list
The Jefferson, Washington DC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Suites Mid Week
Ranked #1 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Jefferson is a jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Jefferson is the most elegant, cozy hotel in DC. It has wonderful nooks and crannies to explore and beautiful artwork. Sitting in the Quill bar was a joy to have great food, people watching with a piano bar. It is a great getaway, very private and sumptuous, with excellent staff and minutes from everything in DC.

Room Tip: The double queen room is huge and the suites are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    58
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
132
297
39
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A true gem, fantastic location near major atractions , delicate and polite service, elegant room . Definitely a boutique hotel, in every single item, intimate library and the best wine room I've ever been in.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in the Deluxe King room of the Jefferson over the weekend. Unfortunately, due to the White House Correspondents' Dinner there were no rooms available in our favourite hotel so the Jefferson seemed like a good second choice, given its central location and good reviews.
Arrival and the check-in process were extremely smooth. Our car and bags were taken care off immediately, we were taken up to the room, shown where everything was and there was a personalised greeting note on the desk. The lobby itself is gorgeous, replete with antique furniture and fresh flowers, and the reception area lacks the cold impersonal feeling many modern hotels have. It's feels almost like arriving to someone's house for a weekend, rather than checking into the hotel.
The description on the website said that this room type has either skyline or city view, which is a bit misleading, because the windows were actually facing the alley between two buildings, but due to the late hour and the fact that the hotel was at full capacity no other room was available, so we did not mind.
The room itself was large, well arranged and beautifully furnished, with a large closet, a lounge chair, a well-stocked writing desk, a BOSE system on the nightstand (along with a rechargeable handheld nightlight) and a very large modern marble bathroom with new fixtures. The shower had excellent water pressure. There is a TV embedded into the mirror, so one can catch up on all the news while getting ready. Hotel provides a lot of amenities, such as a sewing kit and a vanity kit. During the turndown service on our second night the housekeeping even left behind some make-up remover packets, which I forgot to include into my makeup bag. I found that to be a thoughtful and lovely touch. There were several water bottles left in the room and chocolates left on the nightstand.
There was an issue with the thermostat during our first night, which resulted in the room being extremely cold, but when I called the front desk in the morning they immediately sent up the engineers who fixed the unit within a few minutes.
We've also ordered room service on a few occasions, which was quite good. I highly recommend the lemon ricotta pancakes, they were both light and filling, and very unusual.
Hotel itself is a mixture of old world decorations and modern amenities. There is a library/book room for hotel guests use only, which seemed like a wonderful place to relax in the afternoon. Everyone was extremely accommodating. We made dinner reservations at the Plume, which was an outstanding experience.
Hotel itself is close to the metro and an easy walk both to Dupont Circle and to the Mall.
All in all I'd be hard-pressed to think of anything omitted or overlooked. This is a lovely hotel with excellent service and a great location, and I would not mind staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

From the moment you cross the heavy wrought iron portal area of the entrance onto the marble tiled interior floor, you feel the designs reflecting a somewhat updated President Jefferson. Clearly this hotel is a former majestic home or property that's been changed to create an intimate, charming hotel. Service is outstanding and gracious. Complimentary coffee and fresh mini muffins are worth the trip downstairs after you bring in your newspaper hanging outside your door in the morning. The Quill bar is a great place to meet friends and sitting outside on the terrace overlooking 16th Street is lovely when the weather allows. Rooms are spacious with period decor, a four poster bed that was extremely comfortable with excellent lighting both for the room and for individual reading at night. The bathroom is exceptional. Ours had a large glassed in shower and a separate, huge bathtub, great for soaking with the bath salts stored in a corner box next to the tub. Large counter space and lighted makeup mirror provide everything you need. It's a hotel with an older vibe to it, not a place I'd recommend taking small children. But for adults or families with older kids, particularly those who appreciate history, all will appreciate the setting, the service and the location. Walk to the White House directly down the street a couple blocks away. It never gets old.

Room Tip: There aren't any particular views to request. Higher floors might provide a slightly quieter exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Jefferson for business and I must say this is one if the best hotels in the city! Great service and beautiful rooms/decor, sound proof rooms for light sleepers and comfy beds. 5 stars all the way

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent but one night at The Jefferson and do plan to return for more. The occasion was a small family get together. The hotel is an elegant, serene sanctuary in a big city, conveniently located. Service was flawless. Rooms were extremely comfortable. We ate in two of the restaurants and the combination of food, service, and atmosphere is unbeatable. Considering what you get, the prices are quite reasonable. We definitely will make this one of our regulars.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Jefferson ticks all of the boxes. Excellent location, rooms and staff. Hard to find a fault. Special mention to Lynn and Chris at the concierge desk. They could not have been more helpful, they provided great assistance in organising sightseeing trips and booking restaurants. Their input made our trip to D.C. memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#1 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 95-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jefferson, Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.