We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's Day Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jefferson, Washington DC

Save Saved
You added The Jefferson, Washington DC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Rates This Summer!
Ranked #1 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
manheim
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent staff. Very friendly and welcoming. Room was nicely appointed- very clean
Would return on next visit to DC. The hotel provided driver to local restaurant which is a very nice service. Would have liked to try the spa , perhaps one future visit. The guests are divided into business travelers and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    50
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
86
226
36
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Jefferson is well-situated, about a 4/10 mile walk to either The White House or Dupont Circle. Our deluxe room (booked at an excellent rate via Jetsetter) was nicely furnished with excellent linens and a large bathroom with both tub and shower with terrific water pressure; although the room had a large bay window, there was no view other than of the adjacent building ten feet away. Service at reception and housekeeping was excellent, and the hotel bar was surprisingly lively. We loved the quiet elegance of the lobby and hallways.

While our concerns were not major, they were significant enough to make me rate the Jefferson
as Very Good rather than Excellent: most troubling was the fact that the electronic lock on our
door malfunctioned on the last day of our stay and the hotel engineer spent an hour trying to fix it
before giving up; we were treated very graciously by the manager on duty who proactively called
us to apologize, sent us wine and cheese, and moved us to a beautiful one bedroom suite. While the hotel dealt with this mishap as well as could be hoped for, it should not happen at a 5* hotel, particularly one that prides itself on its reconstructed infrastructure. Other relatively minor nits included the very cold room temperature which did not seem to be affected by our fiddling
with the thermostat; the fact that despite my requesting that my omelet/scrambled eggs be cooked softly/lightly at breakfast, they were overcooked both days; and the annoyance that
despite my having confirmed at check-in that the terms of my Jetsetter deal included breakfast,
my bill at check-out including charges for breakfast that I had to ask to be removed (which they were immediately).

Would we return to The Jefferson? Absolutely, if we could get the same excellent rate again, but I do feel that our stay at The Four Seasons in Georgetown a couple of years ago was free of the (admittedly) minor annoyances that we found at the Jefferson.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonDC, General Manager at The Jefferson, Washington DC, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear undertone,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Jefferson. I was very pleased to hear about the excellent service you received from our Housekeeping and Reception staff. However, I was sorry to hear about the unfortunate challenges you experienced with your bedroom lock and thermostat controls, as well as the issues with your breakfast order and billing. I am disappointed that we did not provide you with the hotel experience that you deservedly expected. Please accept my sincere apologies for these service inefficiencies; we are actively addressing the matters since your stay.
If any future travel brings you back to our city, please do not hesitate to contact me directly; it would be my pleasure to assist you personally.

Robert Jenny
Director of Operations
202.448.3272
rjenny@jeffersondc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed last night on a quick overnight in DC. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was great, although bathroom floor to cold for my wife's feet! Hotel is adjacent to, and convenient to many sites, but National Geographic in particular, next door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything to like about this luxurious hotel. Location with easy access. Staff remarkably pleasant, helpful and accommodating - even before we got there, they went out of their way to help with room selection, spa and restaurant reservations. The place is elegant but not ostentatious and the rooms equally so - ours on the eight floor was quiet with no traffic noise as some have noted in other reviews. Spa services were excellent, very professional staff and dinner at Plume was outstanding. We will return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in early December and couldn't have been more impressed with the hotel and service. Upon walking in, you are not entering a conventiinal, bustling lobby but a cozy atrium of sorts and receptionists seated at desks over to the right bring you to the desks and register you in plush, seated comfort and offer refreshment. Their demeanor is very professional yet warm.

Along the walls hang a few original documents with Jefferson's signature as you walk to the elevators. They have retained some of the original markings of the historic hotel while elevating comfort and convenience during the renovation. The rooms are rather stately in their decor but still very comfortable and the bathrooms are large and have every modern amenity.

Maybe most impressive is the service. My husband took advantage of their free shoe shining and one article of clothing pressed services and both were carried out smoothly. In fact, my husband was waiting for the pressed shirt to return before dinner and realized it was already hanging in closet on a nice wooden hanger! And his shoes were waiting outside our door in the morning, nice and shiny :). They have turn down service which is actually worth something. Every evening we would return to find the room completely cleaned again and robes, slippers and water by both sides of the bed, reading lights on. But we never saw any maids! The hotel was so quiet it was as if we had it all to ourselves, and that invisible elves were cleaning everything. Incredible. The staff we did encounter was always warm and professional, with a ready smile and the doormen dress in top hat and coat tails. Lovely.
We would definitely stay here again if budget allows. A gem!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here on a number of occasions on business trips to DC, and this hotel is really special. It's a far cry from the boring, look-a-like big chain hotels, and not much more expensive. The rooms are spectacular with their period furnishings. The lobby is gorgeous and recalls a far more refined and sophisticated period of travel. The staff is just fantastic, they are incredibly attentive, and they all seem to appreciate that they work in a historical landmark building.

The location is great, just a few blocks north of the White House, and within walking distance of most of downtown DC businesses and restaurants. My wife and I love this place, and my only regret is that now that we live in the DC area we don't visit it as often as we used to. If you are looking for a truly exceptional and unique experience that is as diametrically oppposite as possible to the big chain hotels this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back, away from 16th Street which can get noisy during rush hours in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bound Brook, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My Wife and I spent 3 nights in November at the Jefferson for our Babymoon!! Really loved The Jefferson, very unique, historic building...its a converted appartment building just a few blocks from the White House. Nice location, its not the Hay Adams but very centrally located none the less...less than a 10 min. walk in either direction to the White House and Dupont Circle. The rooms are comfortable...but its the Bathrooms that are really super nice, all white marble and spacious and a neat LCD TV imbedded into the mirror over the wash basins....real cool. The Quill Bar is cozy and the cocktails are authentic and the Mushroom Soup was scrumptious. More than the architecture, the location and the bar...hands down the best part of The Jefferson are the people who work here.Just some of the best service we've experienced anywhere...the front desk, concierge, and the turndown service..no mater how ever late we asked for it...all done with a smile. They also provide a complmentary car service in the morning between 7am and 10 am, and in the evening for a few hours aswell...so we got dropped off in Georgetown or wherever else we needed to go...for free! I would recomend this hotel for its location and style...did I mention the lovely Balck and White checkered marble floor loby...and a lot President Jefferson's inventions, like the Dumb waiter on display thru out the hotel...but most of all I would recomend this hotel if you are looking for a friendly place to stay in DC. Have to say it is on the pricier side, but then again, you are right by the White House!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, 16th street can get quite busy in the morning and you have some tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 95-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jefferson, Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.