We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Boutique Hotel!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jefferson, Washington DC

Save Saved
You added The Jefferson, Washington DC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jefferson, Washington DC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Suites Mid Week
Ranked #1 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
South Bound Brook, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Elegant Boutique Hotel!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My Wife and I spent 3 nights in November at the Jefferson for our Babymoon!! Really loved The Jefferson, very unique, historic building...its a converted appartment building just a few blocks from the White House. Nice location, its not the Hay Adams but very centrally located none the less...less than a 10 min. walk in either direction to the White House and Dupont Circle. The rooms are comfortable...but its the Bathrooms that are really super nice, all white marble and spacious and a neat LCD TV imbedded into the mirror over the wash basins....real cool. The Quill Bar is cozy and the cocktails are authentic and the Mushroom Soup was scrumptious. More than the architecture, the location and the bar...hands down the best part of The Jefferson are the people who work here.Just some of the best service we've experienced anywhere...the front desk, concierge, and the turndown service..no mater how ever late we asked for it...all done with a smile. They also provide a complmentary car service in the morning between 7am and 10 am, and in the evening for a few hours aswell...so we got dropped off in Georgetown or wherever else we needed to go...for free! I would recomend this hotel for its location and style...did I mention the lovely Balck and White checkered marble floor loby...and a lot President Jefferson's inventions, like the Dumb waiter on display thru out the hotel...but most of all I would recomend this hotel if you are looking for a friendly place to stay in DC. Have to say it is on the pricier side, but then again, you are right by the White House!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, 16th street can get quite busy in the morning and you have some tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    52
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
103
245
37
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasil
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nice classy hotel, very good attentive service.
The room was on the smaller side, decor is very conservative, but very comfortable.
Nice amenities and free still or sparkling water at your room.
Room service was awesome, as well as the restaurant downstairs.
Definitely recommended, just make sure your room is far from the service rooms/doors as they are quite noisy.

Room Tip: Request a room far away from the service rooms if you care for quiet and calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We went to DC to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We selected The Jefferson based on some of the other reviews and were very glad that we did. The staff members were all very friendly and accommodating. They gave us an upgraded room and a nice surprise upon check-in in honor of our special occasion. It is very different from a large impersonal hotel. There was great attention to detail throughout. The hotel was also located in an excellent location for walking to local attractions and great restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

What A Spectacular Hotel and Experience:

Our 3 day visit to the Jefferson exceeded all of our expectations. This is such an exquisite and personal place that it honestly feels much more like staying in a Private Estate than a hotel. The rooms are detailed with magnificent attention to detail with all the right touches. Jefferson decor and artifacts to appreciate at every turn. The shower was a delight, bath robes very comfortable and the decor is luxuriously comfortable and fascinating.

The book room is a place where you could sit for hours and definitely a spot you do not want to miss. Chris, the Concierge is knowledgeable, extremely helpful, has lived in DC all of his life and makes you feel like an old friend. We had lovely conversations with Depak from Nepal and Dorothy both who delivered room service. And Marcella from housekeeping was terrific.

It is clear to us that Mr. Phillip Wood who manages this property has a team trained to oversee all the details and nuances for making a visit a joy. We had the pleasure of meeting him as well.

I knew there was a reason that current and past Presidents choose this Hotel. Regardless of your political preferences, a decision to stay here is one that we can all agree with.
Congress should take a lesson from Mr Wood on how to get things done and do them right.

Dr.Brian S.

Room Tip: The 2 room suite is magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here and did some DC stuff. Very elegant hotel. It's $$$ but so classy. Has all that DC historic charm with all the right modern updates. You can walk to what you need and enjoy the charm of DC.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at The Jefferson over thanksgiving and were really impressed with this lovely small hotel.
The location is perfect, easy walking distance to everything (monuments, great restos, fab gym) and super close to the metro.
Rooms are very nice, ours had a nice view of 16th street and was very well laid out with a great bed and small details like individual reading lights that i do expect in a hotel of this price but often are overlooked. The bathrooms (at least ours!) was truly incredible, double sinks, big rain shower and a huge tub.
We also both got massages at the spa- my masseuse Darlene was hands down the best massage i have ever had. She really listened to what i wanted. I felt like a new person- highly recommend booking a massage with her. My husband loved his masseuse also, but i dont remember his therapists name.
Drinks and dining was excellent, we had a few lazy room service days and were always very impressed with the quality of the food, especially the freshness of the salads (i am vegan so super picky!)
Finally, what really makes this hotel special is THE STAFF, every single person that works at this hotel delivers attentive, genuine, friendly service that is a breath of fresh air. From the Doormen with their efficient and attentive service, to Lyn the Concierge who was so helpful and made excellent recommendations to In Room Dining Staff to Housekeeping to the Front Desk, literally every member of staff left us feeling so well taken care of.
This will be our hotel of choice for any future DC visits, highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The answer is... probably. It depends on what you're looking for, but the Jefferson offers understated elegance, good service (Lynn, the concierge, was particularly helpful and accurate with his restaurant recommendations: Ted's Bulletin, Estadio and a few others- all excellent!) and a relatively unfussy vibe in an upscale environment. There will always be a dash of fussiness in this kind of hotel- but the Jefferson probably pulls it off better than most.

If you want something more laid-back, or are interested in being overwhelmed by eye-popping luxury however, this is not the hotel for you. But if you want upscale, done tastefully... give it a whirl! The location is good- if you're looking to be near the White House, though there are plenty of other hotels even closer.

Finally, apart from the concierge, what impressed us most was the food. We mostly ate outside the hotel, but when we dined in, the breakfast, coffee, and even a simple soup and pasta we ordered up to the room were all delicious. And at these prices they'd better be!

Last note: There is no pool and the gym is pretty limited (not that you'd come here for the gym.) There's a private club across the street that you can use once the hotel writes you a letter of introduction, though when we tried it out they awkwardly insisted we check in multiple times- not very smooth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jefferson, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson, Washington DC

Address: 1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#1 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Jefferson, Washington DC 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Jefferson, Washington's second most prestigious address. Distinguished, sophisticated and discreet, this 95-room luxury boutique hotel exemplifies all that its namesake, Thomas Jefferson, held dear -intricately thought-out design, twenty elegantly appointed suites, the most modern amenities including a petite spa, culinary excellence and exceptional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Jefferson, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jefferson, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Jefferson Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jefferson, Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.